HAPPY LABOR DAY

Standard

KIDLABORDAY

LABOR DAY here finds SIS working ,my niece, my friends all
working too.  Economy being what it is, some work two jobs and have little
time off, so many today are working in one kind of job or
another. A day of remembrance for the workers of this country.. only some
don’t get the day off at all. McDonald’s workers are striking across the nation for
better wages this weekend. Good luck to them. 
Labor Day is well over 100 years old. This “day off for working citizens” was born in 1882
and adopted by the Central Labor Union of New York City. Two years later, it became a federal holiday.
In the very beginning, it was a day to recognize the strength of labor organizations.
Unions. But in the early 1900s, it evolved to focus more on the economic and civil significance.
 Hope on this Labor Day you don’t have to labor much at all.  
I purchased some corn on the cob, made potato salad, and have some watermelon for dessert.
Yesterday the gas station seemed to be the place to be as the price of a gallon here way lower than last year
this time at $3.74 but wait a minute and it will rise probably into the 90′s before the weekend is over.
Hot and humid here, a very typical August weekend, but Monday is supposed to be cooler and that will be 
welcomed by me. Not a fan of the humidity at all. 
A very dear neighbor of ours passed away the other day. She was 89. A strong woman who had many talents and 
I and my sister learned a lot from her.  She was in our old neighborhood when my folks moved into our old place back in the 50′s. They were  close friends. They all are having a real great reunion in heaven now. She will be missed by so many people. 
Labor day weekend has always been a hard time for me, so many terrible things have happened over that weekend.
Do you remember Hurricane Katrina? That plus others, too numerous to count.  I hope this year we can avoid any
actions in Syria and pray for our nation’s leaders to keep us out of another conflict.
labor_day_
About CAROL

I have been a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

4 responses »

  1. Have a happy and unvibing Labor Day weekend! Worry not about us—we’re at home this year and not on the road much. Enjoy the warm weather—fall is just around the corner!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

