SEPTEMBER ALREADY??

Standard

Where the heck did the summer go to? I mean it went to darn fast for me. We have such long winters here in Michigan that I would like to see warmer weather. NOT the humidity, mind you,  just warmth. I heard recently that we might get a bad winter season here with lots of snow. I hope that’s WRONG. Cold okay, not so much snow..my back twinged just a little thinking about that dreaded shovel. What happened to the Labor Day telethon? I didn’t see it at all this year. It wasn’t even advertised like it used to be. That is just tragic for those who depended on monies from the weekend. I guess taking Jerry Lewis’s name off it hurt them a lot. I know he is getting up there in age now, I will always wonder if that was the reason. 

DSCN8873

Over the weekend I went to a funeral of a dear neighbor. We will miss her a lot and all of us from the neighborhood talked about  changes over the years and relived memories from our past there. Progress moves on, small towns dwindle down and become even smaller. The young folks move away seeking jobs and better schools. So many towns in this country like that I guess. 

DSCN6139

The fall season is creeping closer and the days shorter. I already miss the daylight at 9PM. This year I filed for retirement benefits. I never thought I would be that old person doing that. Age is just a number, it’s all how you feel. I don’t feel old really. The lady on the phone told me that more people should file for it as soon as they turn 62. I asked WHY and she really didn’t give me a specific answer. She really emphasized it though. I wondered what she knew and I didn’t. “It’s your money she said…YOU earned it and YOU should HAVE it.” I always thought it best to wait, but her statement was so certain that I guessed I had made the right decision. It will help me a lot, so that’s all that counts. AND SO IT GOES ON and On and On.

 

About CAROL

I have been a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

6 responses »

  1. It does seem that we’re approaching fall very quickly. It’s gotten quite hot here for so late in the month of September but i know it can’t last. Like you I dread the cold and snow but I never know if the predictions for a ‘light’ or ‘bitter’ winter will come true…one way to find out I guess, only time will tell. Age is a funny thing…before you know it there it is. Have a blessed day my friend.

  2. I know how you feel. I just hate the thought of winter. I really hope it’s not going to be as bad as they say. Cold, snow and ice are not to my liking at all. Getting darker earlier and ealier make you feel like you should be in bed.

  3. I don’t mind winter nearly as much as I dread the snow. This has been a funny summer with cold periods and then periods of extreme heat.
    Lovely photos Sis!! xoxo

  4. Good for you, filing for retirement! I need to wait until I’m 66, my full retirement age, and it cannot come soon enough! We are finally getting some rain in Seattle, although it’s still warmer than normal here–70s-80s. Great photo! And congrats again on retirement!

  5. I’m filing next year when I turn 62! Glad you did it now—you actually can be collecting quite a bit, even at a lower rate than if you wait until 65 or 66. Might as well enjoy something now. I’ll still work, but will have to work less when I can collect something. Enjoy the Fall! It’s my favorite time of year with the crisp mornings and warm days!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

