2014!!

Standard

JUNE 24th 2005  that is the day I began blogging. I am in my 9th year. I have had 2800 posts with almost 15,000 comments and 74,000 views over those 9 years.  I can hardly believe it!! It was at MSN that blogging started.  Something new I could do while learning more about a computer. Boy did it take off. I had an old used computer loaned from a friend and I named it RUPERT after Rupert Bonham  who was a player on Survivor, one of my favorite shows. I started from scratch on dial-up and very slowly learned how to use it and made friends in the cyber world. I made daily trips to the library to learn all I could about how computers work. There the computers were so much faster. I soaked it all in like a sponge. Blogging is not like it used to be, a close intimate community of caring people. Our own little family. As the years have passed I have blogged about events in the world and my life and its up and downs. A way to express my thoughts and goals in life. I am so grateful to have this way of communicating with others. I have had three desktop computers, two laptops and now the tablet. Times are changing and I post a lot less than I used to. It seems life is quicker with Facebook. I will try to post more this new year. Share whatever is on my mind. 

divider2

Today the ice from 1/2 inch of rain over the snow is keeping me from getting out and about. Yesterday our satellite dish went out because of the snow piled on it. The rep on the phone said..” we can send someone out to check it for a fee” ..ahh NO thanks.. the drifts of snow are up to your hind parts and the dish is on the ROOF.  Hard getting to the roof to get it off..the rain helped melt it off though.. just what we needed.  One wonders if it will freeze over and then no more tv for awhile. Life goes on. Went to the mailbox, hadn’t had mail in four days..it was covered by the snow plows throwing snow. They won’t deliver mail if they cannot get to it. The neighbors box  was thrown off, ours survived. Sis shoveled it out took almost an hour. Snow was about two feet deep. WHEW..winter is wild and scary this year. I thank God for our snow thrower. It worked like a charm and we have saved many back aches. I have drunk more hot chocolate, tea and hot soup than any other winter I can remember. I guess along with getting older we seek the things that comfort us don’t we!!

dividerI start 2014 and hope for goals to be conquered and life to get better. I hope you all have luck with all your dreams for the new year too. 

About CAROL

I have been a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

3 responses »

  1. I remember long ago predicting the virtual demise of blogging…people did not like that post but it’s mostly come true. Now I predict a similar decline in Facebook. Really you can see it’s decline already. I don’t know how you could get less committed unless you went to Twitter which I frankly despise. The brights side is I’ve found focus with both blogging and FB and I’ve made my peace with its demise. Spring looks good about now. We hit nearly 60 degrees today after all the snow and cold…i think it’s teasing us!

  2. Hmmm, something looks different here. My blog still has the same look as it did when I started, which I want to say was about seven years ago.

    We need a spring thaw. The parking spaces in our parking lot are disappearing here at work. The snowpiles are starting to cover our windows. And they’re predicting more! Ridiculous. On the plus side, the missus and I have put together five puzzles huddled against the elements in our home. Maybe if your satellite dish continues to be on the fritz, you could put together a few jigsaw puzzles yourself.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

