CHRISTMAS TRADITION

Standard
Do you and your family have a special holiday ritual or tradition?
I try to take my picture with the Christmas tree every year.
Don’t care if the whole tree is in the picture or not. The
background is what is so nice to to look at. I try differnt poses
until I get one I like. Digital cameras make this so much
easier. Instantly seeing what you look like saves you a lot
of guess work too. Mom used to make us sit near the tree
and have our pictures taken so I guess that is where I got
the idea from. Kids in our family always
have that one shot that is special. 
 
Dad got the tree with us kids helping pick it out. He always
set it up, and Mom decorated it
by herself, while dad was at work.I always loved the smell of pine
in the house. Mom always had an
angel on the top and we still have one there.. only this one is
smaller now. Mom hung Christmas cards all over the french doors
that led to our kitchen. Now people seldom send cards anymore..
they call or send an e mail. I think we got less
than 10 last year. Traditions have sure changed over
the years, and I am sure they will keep changing. I hope the
Christmas tree will live on forever in one way or another.
I hope traditions keep getting passed on for a long time too.
#############################################################
HOPE YOU ALL……..


glitter-graphics.com

 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

11 responses »

  1. I still send out $46.00 (in postage) worth of cards each year. I’d be happy to add you to the list. Our family’s tradition is we buy each other a new Christmas ornament each year.Love ya,Al

  2. Photos are important to me as well and Christmas is the perfect time to get photos of all the family. I always make sure to get a photo of my Mom with all the grandchildren and greatgrandchildren and then makes copies for them all so they will always remember her. Also, when it is time to open presents, we go one by one so everyone call see what each other got…fun stuff!

  3. When our parents were alive we always tried to get pics of them with all the grandkids as well. We still do that with Bill’s mom. Now because of digital cameras and tripod’s we all stand in front of the tree, set the timer and smile. And also like Rhonda we open gifts one by one too.Have a great day dear.HugsSherry

  4. We take photos of the entire family, gathered around the Christmas tree! It’s fun to go back and look at those! We also go one by one when opening presents – that’s especially for the children. They used to tear into their gifts and when it was all said and done, they had no idea who gave them what. When opening their gifts now they have to tell who it’s from and thank them! Have a warm day. Hugs to you and your mom!

  5. When my children were small we always let them choose what we would have to eat on Christmas Eve, They always wanted the same things, pizza and onion rings and the punch made with 7UP and sherbert. What a combination which usually had me in the bottle of Maa*** before the evening was done. Since I have no grandkids, tradition has kind of gone by the wayside but I always want photos!

  6. I think family traditions at the holidays should be a must! Kids need those kinds of positive memories—they are so safe and comforting in later years. I always buy the boys a new ornament for the tree every year. That way, when they get to be S’s age (24), they’ll have plenty of ornaments of their own and memories of all those youthful years of Christmas at home.

  7. Good Morning Sis!!! Cold here too but you have us beat by a country mile. I love Christmas or any holiday tradition. As Sue said, it’s safe and comforting then and later on when you’re looking back on it..it will make you smile.

  8. Good evening to you. We’ve warmed up a bit but will be back below freezing before too long. You brought back some nice remembrances about family traditions. I just recently looked at pictures of my husband’s family pictures with the children sitting in front of a tree, through the years, and some…with my own children doing the same. Our tradition has been to read the Nativity story from the Gospels, on Christmas eve, each one of us holding a lit candle, and the tree being lit in the background. We would discuss the events, each one reflecting a thought about what Christmas really means and what gift we can give of ourselves to the ‘Saviour’, in the coming year, reflecting our gratitude. Then we would blow out the candles and have a prayer. My husband and I still do our own version…but it was so special to have the children home and involved. Christmas morning was a time for the children, the smell of my homemade cinnamon rolls permeating the air, with the excitement of childhood and Christmas day.

  9. About the only tradition I can think of were the school and church pageants. Being up on the stage singing in the chorus or playing my cornet in the band. That’s the one thing that always happened every Christmas. Music is my favorite Christmas tradition…that and cookies! There was usually coffee, punch and cookies after the performances. I really wish my parents would’ve taken more pictures.

  10. When I was a little girl I remember ALL the family got together Grandparents Aunts and Uncles and all us cousins and lots of great memories…but times have changed families are split up, moved away so we have lost our family Christmases…Boy hope I am not getting anyone down but that’s how life goes for some of us…But I still enjoy Christmas even if it is so small. But this year my son from MN may get to come home and bring the grand kids that would be so wonderful…keeping my fingers crossed…

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

