FREEZING RAIN AND LET’S BAKE!!

Standard

glitter-graphics.com

I sure am glad I don’t have to be any where or go out in this crazy
stuff we are getting right now. Roads are so slippery..more to come
overnight and into tomorrow. Winter is messing with our heads. It could
even rain!! I am certain there will be a lot of happy school children
today who don’t have to report. Michigan changed some of it’s  routine
for clearning away snow this year. Salt prices were high when they signed
the contract so now that they are down some it doesn’t matter..they still have
to pay the high price. All secondary roads now come maybe third to be plowed 
out so schoool buses will not run on them unplowed. On top of that,  because there
are fewer children going to school here, routes were changed and blended.
Things just are not the way they were in the old days.
You have probably heard the story from your folks, your grandfathers and mothers…
"We walked to school in a blizzard over our shoe tops..driving rain, nothing
stopped us." It just is not that way anymore.
I predict that all the kids will be on the park hill where the snow is tomorrow
to sled. School will be closed, but they will walk to that hill even though it is
slippery. They will drag their sleds and have a ball. They will not worry over
the cold and if they will get sick or not. They will just have a grand time.
OH TO BE YOUNG AND CAREFREE AGAIN….Smile
#######################################################################
Monday was another baking day. I got a request for mom’s molasses cookies.
The recipe that was passed down from many good bakers in our family.
I have mom to thank for keeping the recipe with us. She does not remember
the many hours she would sit and make the dough and then roll them and
cut them. Sad indeed that this wonderful memory that I have she has
now lost. The flavor is still there, the smell in the house wonderful. So I make
the dough and decide that maybe I will just roll them up and press them
and bake the cookies that way. They came out just as good and a lot quicker
to finish. The recipe makes a lot so I was glad that I would be giving so many
of them to my sister.
 
HERE IS MOM"S RECIPE..
1 stick of butter or margarine
1/2 c. crisco
1 cup sugar
3 eggs
1 cup molasses
1/2 c. buttermilk
3 tsps. baking soda  (I used one by mistake the cookies were still good)
1/4 tsp salt
4 1/2 c. flour
1 tsp cinnamon
Beat the butter and crisco with the sugar and molasses,
add the eggs, buttermilk and stir well.
Add the dry ingredients and mix until it forms a solid dough. If the dough seems too
sticky add a little more flour but not too much.
Let it sit in the fridge for at least 1 hour, over night is fine. It will harden up some
as it cools.
Roll the dough onto a floured surface to about
1/4 inch thick. Cut into cookie shapes.
Bake these for not more than 10 minutes on greased sheet at 375 degrees.
Can sprinkle these with colored sugar or plain if you like. Makes 50 cookies
about 2 to 3 inches across.
ENJOY!!
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

8 responses »

  1. We’re having a snowy day here and all the schools are closed. You’re so right about the kids being able to walk to the sledding hill, but not to school. Something’s wrong here…very wrong! Thanks for the fudge recipe. I plan on making some this week. Today I’m making Spritz cookies. I’ll trade you a couple for some of the molasses cookies, OK? LOL!!! Have a good one.

  2. These sound really good!!Raining here today and the alley is a mess of rain slicke ice. YUCK. Back to bake with you in a few minutes.

  3. We had severe thunder boomers this morning and are now under a tornado watch – temp is mis 60s! I never had a ride to school and even if it snowed, which was rare, the schools didn’t close! I guess they didn’t close because our district had no buses! None of my grandkids have ever walked to school. They’ve often commented that they would like to be "walkers" which is what they call those who do walk!Save me a molasses cookie. I can’t remember the last time I had one. They are soooooo good! Have a wonderful day. Stay in and stay warm.

  4. hubby loves these cookies… has asked that I make them for him. I’m nervous, but not as much now… Thanks for the recipe!!Take care….ttfn

  5. I have fond memories of Grama baking for hours at Christmas time. The recipe sound like they take a long time but worth it. Enjoy cookiesWendy

  6. Winter has set in for sure here…it was minus 12 overnight. Those cookies sound wonderful; I’m not finding any time to bake with a 2 year old running around so send some my way!!!Hugs

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

