DAY AFTER CHRISTMAS

Standard
WELL..we survived our holiday madness and came out smelling
like scented candles and sugar cookies. It seems we go through this every year..can’t wait until it gets here and then, wham… it’s over in what seems like five minutes. All that work cleaning and cooking and wrapping and planning– all over in a fog of garbage bags full of empty boxes, bags, bows and tissue paper. 
 
 NO one was disappointed thanks to those cute little things called gift cards. No one complained because the size was too small,too big or the wrong color. It was bright happy faces at just anything they received this year. You see, we feed lunch here before we open the gifts, that way they are in a stupor of full bellies and contentment…works everytime!!  Times right now are tough. Reports on the news about deep discounts up to 70% in some stores show us that times are bad for them and for us. They nicknamed it BLACK FRIDAY 2, and some stores are opening at 6 and 6:30 AM for the early bird shoppers to get those bargains. I think that even with these discounts it maybe too hard for some stores to make up
.
(SKIPPY got his Chistmas cookie!)
 
the losses. Time will tell I guess. I know the gift card will
be used and soon finding some bargain or another.
 
The weather is still
bad in so many parts of the country, it makes it hard
to even think about shopping. It will be RAINING here
on and off for the next few days..icy conditions could
be a big factor in what happens. Gas remained low
at 1.55, so we could be glad about that.
WE come to the task of deciding when to take the tree down..ours is after Jan 1st..so that way I get to look at it longer. Sometimes Mom has other ideas and takes it down earlier though, depends on the mood she is in at the time.
In Ca., when I lived there, we used to make a New Years tree..we would make some small balloons and place them and some streamers on the tree and make it festive for the new year. Take a small piece of paper that you can roll up and write some resolution or wish for the new year there and then roll it up and tie it with some wrapping twine and hang it on the tree. You can make as many as you like. My aunt started this at her office and it was a big hit. When the party is over or the tree is taken down, the wishes are taken off the tree and put in a ceremonial burning dish or pan or bucket. In our house there it was the fireplace!! We would burn the wishes or resolutions and hope for them to come true. The kids would have fun popping the balloons!    
 
( SANTA really did come to my house!!!)
 
MY Aunt passed away in 1995, I often wonder if they still do that tradition in the office where she used to work. Well it was a fun way to bring in the new year that was for sure. I tried to keep it alive when I lived there, but who knows if they still do it or not.
I hope all of you have some new year traditions that you keep going in your families.
 
It seems like Monday, but I know it is FRIDAY.. will take a few days to get it together in
my mind. I am busy adding things to Miracle and learning the ways of VISTA.. Thinking
Wonder if I will get it all someday.. 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT FRIDAY !!
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

12 responses »

  1. Not yet Friday for me…that’s a whole fifty minutes away actually. The day did pass quickly, I can hardly believe it either…now onto the New Year. God bless you as we move onto the next year my friend.

  2. Well it’s still Christmas evening here, Skippy scored big time I see,but I will say just simply Happy Holidays to you Carol Dee!and Hugs from Alaska

  3. How wonderful you are back! Yes, there truly are miracles — and I agree. The Spaces family we all have is the best!A New Year’s Tree – that is a wonderful idea! A great way to bring in the new year!Have fun with "Miracle" today — Deb

  4. Good Morning Carol! Yes, after all the work of getting things ready it’s over in a flash. It’s kind of sad in a way. I love the idea of a new year’s tree. I’m not sure how long I’ll keep mine up. Some years i’ve waited until after new years and other’s I’ve taken it down a few days after Christmas. It sure is good to have you back! I don’t think I’ll be doing any shopping today either, we are suppose to get what you’re getting. Might even reach 40 today and have thunder storms. Weird weather huh.Well dear, I hope you and mom have a great Friday too.HugsSherry

  5. Hi Carol: Sounds like you had quite a day of it and I do agree with you after all the work, it seems sad that it is over so soon. I get to do it all over again as my daughter is coming from out of town so I will be doing the dinner but not turkey but sweet and sour chicken and ham with rice and veggies. I usually leave my tree up until after New Years also, it is kind of tradition. A New Years tree, now that is a novel idea, I like it.I see Miracle is taking up a lot of your time, ahh, I am sure you will be surfing in no time. You and Mom, take care and all the best in the New Year. God bless……………….Rusty ((HUGS))You know, I hear ice pellets hitting the awning now and there is rain to follow so I am hoping my daughter has a safe drive here. Say a little prayer okay. Thank you.

  6. Your Christmas sounds like you had fun. My little tree will be put away after my kids have come and gone tomorrow.So glad you are enjoying your ‘miracle.’Hugs, Beth

  7. Our tree may stay up this year until my older son, S, gets here. He’s due to arrive from San Diego on New Year’s Eve day. It will be fun to have him home on New Years! We had a fine Christmas here: M got his PSP game system and a real antique sword, hubby got all the clothes and tools he needs plus some great books, and I got a neato Tom-Tom to help me find my way to all those out-of-tune pianos! Still working to figure it out and will put it to the test today!

  8. That lucky Skippy! So how many times did Santa stop at your house? Love the picture. I was afraid your new PC would have Vista on it. You can learn all about it and then when we have to switch, you’ll be able to help us out. hee hee…

  9. So glad you had a great Christmas and I just loved the picture of Skippy with his cookie…lol. Wishing you and your Mum a great New Year too.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

