WINTER MEMORIES

Standard
BOY is it foggy out!
The temp is supposed to get up to near 60 today here.
It is DECEMBER..maybe time for a thaw??? COLD
then not. Snow then rain, sure is weird… we could
have thunderstorms today!
#################################################
 
MY 20 years spent in Caifornia I used to dream of the cold, wind, snow  and over all Christmas feeling that one got in Michigan that time of the year.
It was dark and gloomy,rainy and foggy most of the time in the valley, where I lived, and we might go days without the sunshine at all. I would love it when we had a cold morning and there would be hard frost on the ground.
The crunch of it and the cold air made me feel more in the mood for the holidays. Oh there were lights and elaborate trees but nothing set the mood like that crisp air and smell of fireplace wood being burnt.
 
WHEN I returned to Michigan in the fall of 1996. I got a big shock.
I froze..my teeth would chatter at 40 degrees. I would bundle up with leg warmers and high boots and gloves and scarves..I could hardly move.
My blood had "thinned" was the word the doctor used…I would have to gradually get used to the harshness of the winter. Well, I can say after all these years here again, that I finally have gotten my blood to be "thickened"..I now will shovel with a sweatshirt on..no gloves and no boots..sometimes no hat either. STUPID..Yeah..but I do it. I don’t even think twice about it. I guess I am now accustomed to being home here in Michigan where I was born and raised. Funny, how it took so long for my body to get back to what it had known all those years past.
 
 
I could not stop taking pictures of the snow and the bright blue skies and the wonder of it all. Yes, I had been back to Michigan several times but not like this ..I was staying this time..it was special…In 1997 we had an ice storm and it was fascinating to me. I could not ever remember having been in one in my whole life. My mother told me I had, but I could not recall this at all. I guess I had just learned to appreciate the wonders that Mother Nature had brought. I took so many pictures I wore my old faithful camera out and had to buy a new one.
I went digital and have never looked back. If the camera went out tomorrow I would go out and buy a new one right away.
Having the freedom to take pictures of nature and whatever I please has been a real joy.
 
HAVE A GREAT DAY!!!
 


glitter-graphics.com

 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

10 responses »

  1. Lovely photos. I get weird looks from people because I drive with the window open year round. I’m not sure I have any blood left to thin or thickeen.Love ya,Al

  2. We are having weird weather here too. RIght now it is warm and raining and due to be in the 40’s and 50’s this week.I took some snow pictures also. I couldn’t stop snapping them of Eric enjoying the snow and wonder of wonders – Nikki shoveling. I don’t think I"ve ever seen that girls with a shovel before. The boys or Kevin always shoveled or snowblowed. Have a great Saturday!Deb

  3. Having thick blood is what makes those 50 degree days in the spring feel so good. I hate to complain about the weather all the time, but come on…can’t we have a couple decent days in a row? Yesterday and today…40’s but heavy fog. Last week, cold and snow…who knows what next week will bring!

  4. I have cousins who were born and raised here in Wis. and moved to Florida about 20 years ago. Now when they come home they freeze their tails off. Even in the summer if they come and the temp dips below 60 they freeze. One year we went there for a Packer game and that morning the temp was 57 and they all put coats hat.s gloves etc on and we were in shorts and shirts lol. The same with by brother who lives in Ca,. They would move here if it wasn’t for the snow.It’s raining here today too and was foggy last night and still is today. The weather sure has strange.Hugssherry

  5. It’s true that there’s something special about snow on Christmas. It’s weird that for living here in our state where cold and snow is no stranger to us we had not had snow on Christmas itself in eight years, we broke that nearly decade long trend in style this year which was nice. I personally don’t mind snow up to Christmas but after taht don’t lke it much…sadly winter never leaves like a lamb here! I spent more than one Christmas in the tropics and fully understand losing tolerance for it. Anyway, I sure enjoyed the pictures and I’m glad you’re having a great time.

  6. My blood has thinned out for sure, having moved here in Northern CA from Montana almost 9 years ago! I do miss the snow at Christmas but not at any other time. I guess as you get older, the snow becomes more of a pain and less fun—especially when you have to drive in it. One good trip driving in a blizzard and you look at snow differently. But I’d like to get some NOW…at least while I’m home to enjoy it!!!

  7. I brought one of my previous dogs to Petco and while standing at the checkout he stole and ate numerous treats, wrapper and all!! I had no idea how many so I gave the clerk $20 and slinked out!!Leftovers??? Are you kidding??? HAH!!! I was chewing on the bones last nitght! That was a 7.5lb roast and we almost killed it the first night. Sounds as if you has a SPECIAL and White Christmas!! I hope that 2009 treats you well. Take Care Carole!!XO, Bob~

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

