CHORE DAY

Standard
I don’t know about you and your family, but here we hate
to have a messy house and dirty clothes for the start
of a new year. Monday was a day for cleanup and
making the place tidy for the coming year. It is just
something we do. Clean sheets,clean floors, clean
clothes etc. Mom started that tradition a long time
ago and I have followed it for years. Monday
went pretty fast being busy. The sun shone brightly,
and the day warmed up past 35.. to us that is pretty
exciting.Smile Wind was tough though and the chill
level as bearable only for a while. I pulled in
my poor porch flag which after two days of hard
high winds was whipped pretty good. Guess I will hold
off putting one out there for awhile. I thought the pole
was a goner with winds of 60 mph.. but no it made it
fine.
####################################################
While taking a break I heard some of Oprah show about the
guy who( linkhere>) SHOT nearly 80 dogs in a puppy mill or some
kind of a kennel that he had. I WAS APPALLED that he
was NOT arrested for it. NOPE  not against the law in the
state of Pennsylvania. Boy, that just burns me.. it should be against
the law everywhere in the USA. Baring teeth They are pushing for
stricter laws and that I hope will pass in 2009.
#####################################################
I saw this background image at glitterimages and it was
so appropriate.. we all will be seeing some real changes in
2009. I pray they are for the better for all of us.
#####################################################
WORD about HELL HOUSE coming soon as I can confirm
something ..stay tuned… Thinking 
CELEBRATION, REFLECTION, RENEWAL & CHANGE
FOR US ALL.
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

17 responses »

  1. I don’t like a messy house either but I never thought too much about making it ready for the new year. I might just start a new tradition here as I think that’s a great idea. A fresh start all the way around.Oh boy, what’s going on at hell house now lol. I stay tuned.Hugs and happy new year.Sherry

  2. Hi Carol: I saw part of that show on Oprah too and it was sad that someone can get away with something so inhumane. Lets hope that 2009 will bring some changes. There was some good parts in the show too that I really enjoyed like the ones doing their tricks. That little pomeranian at the end was just too cute, it has the sweetest little face. I’m a sucker for animals. Have a good day tomorrow hun. Take care……………Rusty ((HUGS))

  3. I’ve never thought of doing that (starting the new year with a clean house). Looking around, there ain’t no way my house will be CLEAN come Thursday but I guess it’s worth a try. I haven’t made new year resolutions for several years now after reading an article, I began "starting" my year when school starts. That seemed logical–new clothes, new school schedules, and all. I didn’t do that this September so I guess I should make some goals for 2009. LOL

  4. The clean house thing… yup us too. My grandma was from Jennings Louisiana where they call sheets "linens" and I remember Mom saying "everyone strip the beds we have to have clean linens before the new year" and the rest of the house got cleaned too. I had forgotten that until now and was wondering why I was doing just that this week. Methodically from one room to the next. HA! Hell house… I’ve got to know.

  5. The Oprah show you saw was originally aired in September. At the end, on over-voice reported that since then, the stricter laws have been passed in Pennsylvania. Best,Nan

  6. Sounds like a great tradition – my household could sure use a good pick-up, there is still Christmas litter everywhere!!Have a Happy New Year!!!

  7. Oh shoot, now I guess I have to change the bedding tomorrow so it will be clean for the new year. ;-)It will be interesting to see if Oprah follows through with her diet when the new shows start in a couple of weeks. Have a good day, you and mom and a hug for you both!

  8. We usually deep clean before Christmas. I always teased my mom (as I got older) that she must think Santa is gonna spend the night! Tee hee!I’m all about 2009!! HAPPY CHANGES!! Hope you have a great and happy New year!

  9. Darn and I thought this was the time to relax, lol. How sad about the dogs. Your right, there should be laws against this sort of thing. Have Happy New Year!

  10. Clean the house??!!! And with no company coming? Are you crazy? Actually we ARE having a houseguest soon as S, my oldest, is coming home on New Year’s Eve day. But he sleeps out in the little trailer we call The Library (as we have all our books stored there–it’s our mini-library) so we only really need to neaten the house and clean the johns. It’s starting out foggy this morning and I think I heard it raining earlier. Going over the hill to the Napa Valley today for some work, but the roads should be OK. Take time to relax and I hope you and your Mom have a nice New Year’s holiday.

  11. I am a HUG animal activist! As a greyhound owner, I see the direct results of animal abuse every day. It chaps my behind that he’s "allowed" to do that because there are no laws against it. These types of people would murder if it were perfectly legal and see nothing wrong in the lack of humanity.I need to do that kind of cleaning. Tonight is gift wrapping (i ran out and didn’t get them done) and then laundry. But for now, I am taking a nap. 😀

  12. House cleaning is a good thing, I’m the most obsessed with it in our house believe it or not. We’ve had wind that just howls like a thing tortured here…I don’t like it at all but at least it’s relatively calm today. Last night our neighbor’s trampoline looked like it got crumpled up by a giant hand and thrown into the field behind our house…I’m glad it didn’t damage anyone else’s property! I agree with you about that guy who would kill puppies…that’s an abomination that such a thing would be winked at by the law…shame! The way you treat animals says a lot about you…if you can’t treat them well then I dare say you’re a rotten person! Ugh! On the bright side I wish you a wonderful new year, may you truly know the blessings of God in a greater measure than ever before!

  13. My antenna shot up as soon as you mentioned Hell House. Guess i will have to wait. I am not much of an animal activitst but 80 dogs! I guess it is leagl lmost anywhere unless it is in city limits. Still it should be outlawed.

  14. I love my street!! Always something! I have the flu, as usual around Christmas (what’s with that??) but I did manage to get my chores done! I’m alot like Joe (Morbid Angel)! That ‘dog shooting’ sounds alot like the Michael Vick thing!! He is paying!!!!!!I hope you have a Happy and Healthy 2009!!! Take care sweetie!!!!

  15. hello to you finally , like they say better late then never LOL after being sick for quite some time i am finally feeling very good and not so tired. I hope you enjoyed your holiday and that the new year brings much joy to you and your mom !!! I will be back for your update on the house next door. Never a dull moment is there !!! Keep warm and enjoy your evening !!Beth

  16. Hi sweet Carol, I hope you had a good Christmas, I missed so much being away, but I had a good time. I heard about your miracle so happy for you. I hope 2009 will be great for you and yours. Hugs, Pat

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

