SELF HEATING COCOA

Standard
While shopping in the BIG W store Friday, I ran across these cans
of coffee and cocoa that HEAT THEMSELVES. Light bulb Now this might
be okay when you are away from home and not near a
microwave or stove, but for the price and what you get and
what you risk.. I don’t think it is worth it. Some people pay more
for the fancy coffee drinks though.
I bought a can just to see for $2.00. That was a price I would
not pay again.( My curiosity gets me into trouble Embarrassed) I just
HAD to know if and how they work.
The company name I won’t mention here. The price gets you
9.5 oz which is a little over a cup full. The can is a lot larger than
what you really get, so that is misleading. It also feels heavy so
naturally you think that you are getting a whole can full. YOU
AREN’T!
The instructions are well  Thinking
pretty elaborate and down right scary if you read all the warnings.
Yes I said WARNINGS.. If something heats itself inside a can, then
there is a small RISK that something could go terribly wrong. I still
just HAD to know.. my picture is blurry for a reason. I didn’t want the
label to show. The display was in the center aisle where many many
people pass but not many had been purchased.( I bought cocoa.)
Well I finally decided to try this self heating can out..
I followed the instructions written and it worked just fine.
The can heated itself up and the longer it sat, the warmer it got.
It said not to pour it out of the can, but after I had had my taste I
did to see just what it looked like. Yep I had to know.. I can tell you
it looked, smelled and tasted just fine. AS soon as the liquid part was
out of the can, the can cooled off. The empty can is still heavy
without the contents.
It did not explode, or leak or get extremely hot.  It was fine. It could have
though that is just the point. The what if’s are too great.
As for me.. I dont think I would buy another can. I think I would
invest in a good insulated tumbler for the car and make my
drink at home. So much for that experiment. Confused
###############################################################
Gas came down here to 1.82, but rumor has it, it will keep going up
next week. In other cities close by it is 1.69. Pays to shop out of town
right now while the prices are low. Weather reports were right..
roads were ice covered and very slippery Sunday morning and
it got to almost 40 here. A nice change. Sun We have more snow
to look for on Tuesday into Wednesday. Sad
##############################################################
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

22 responses »

  1. You know that’s my problem too, I am curious about stuff. Japan the last place I visited that had truly unique stuff like that…it was a kick to tyr stuff. I’m still amazed at the price of gas being so different there…we’re at 1.37 here and no word of the price rising. It’s very much winter here too…well, I guess this is what helps us appreciate spring right?

  2. I have not seen those yet but nice to know you have already tested it out! Gas is about the same here…may they please please please keep dropping!Hugs

  3. Hi Carol: You and that curiosity is going to get you into trouble one of these days. LOL Couldn’t resist saying that you know. I don’t think I would fancy one of those drinks, I like making my own much better from scratch. Gas is 70.8 cents here today and that is like $2.80 US or very close to it. It’s rediculous but a lot better then it was so I’m not complaining, not at all. Thank you so much for your vote at SHOF dear, it was very much appreciated. Have great week. Take care and God bless…………….Rusty ((HUGS))http://i247.photobucket.com/albums/gg155/dusty-rusty909/Thankyouforyourvoteloverusty.gif

  4. How interesting. I love innovative new ideas, it doesn’t mean I’m tempted to buy it, although if I hadn’t read your blog I might be like you and have to at least try it. I just like the idea of weird stuff out there for sale. I’m always pleased while at Wally world and I see the "AS SEEN ON TV"

  5. Crap I wasn’t done typing.. anyway I like the TV promoted items, they’re always weird and new. I bought the lighted tweezers with the built in magnifying glass, it was a good deal cuz they’re handy and work good. I love rummaging through that stuff. Cans that heat themselves. I want to buy one and take it apart to see how it does it..

  6. I haven’t seen this stuff, but from your description, I wonder if the heat part of it could be that material that’s used in those disposable hand warmers. As soon as the packets are opened, they start warming up…only a guess. Thanks for trying it and saving us 2 bucks!Many streets and sidewalks around here are still glazed from Saturday night’s freezing drizzle. Jim finally put sand/salt down on our driveway. I hate that, because then it gets tracked into the house all winter long, but he had to do something.Gas here just went up to $1.80something. Still better than last summer!

  7. Hi Sis, I’m like you..I would rather buy the cocoa and make it myself. Good though that they had all the mea culpas, warnings and etc, very plainly written. I imagine this will flop. It would be too heavy to take on a cmaping trip where you hike. And too expensive for just every day. The novelty will wear off quickly. Hmmm. Oh well.

  8. Very interesting. I think I will stick to a cup of tea. lol The heavy part has got to be what causes the cocoa to warm. That is a bonus for the mfg because they make you think you are really getting a bargain.Have a great week, you and mom.

  9. I’m glad you tried it. My curiosity would have relegated me to that chore eventually and now I don’t have to. So Thanks. I love your picture up top and I will be anxious to see how well things are going for you with the computer. I’m using vista now and have anew camera I need to use more. I’m doing a picture a day thing with my daughter, Tracy. Have a beautiful week!Hugs,Linda

  10. I too found the self heating cans some time ago. In my store it only held coffee. If you remember i love coffee and i thought that would be great but only wanted a pick me up during the day. I tried it but it did not like the i wanted. A great idea that it comes in cocoa. Happy new year.

  11. Sure glad you did the checking out for us. Now I won’t feel the need to try one. Thanks. Cold and icy here. yuk. Have a good day.Hugs, Terry

  12. Those cans might come in handy if you are without power and heat—at least you could hold one to help stay warm. My hubby uses those instant hand warmers at work. Hope he took one today–it’s raining and not so cold, but that dampness sure makes one ache. I don’t envy him outside all day in this. Hope most of the snow misses you all. Stay warm and off the roads if you can.

  13. Hi Carol, Hot chocolate is yummy but I don’t think I’ll be trying that brand. Thanks for sharing this! I hope you have a wonderful day and stay warm. Hugs, Deb xx

  14. Well I read all the comments and looks like you and I are the only ones that saw this and bought it..I have the coffee and the cocoa BUT I haven’t tried it…Thought it would be nice to have in the truck on a road trip…So sweety I am glad you tried it first but I will have to try it too just saw it and was curious how and if it worked..tee hee Not sure what gas is right now but I am sure it is higher than what you have always is high in town.. Again thanks for the heads up on this product

  15. well they say you have to try it to believe it…or hate it i guess…♥~♥ :oD because you shared a smile…someone’s day got brighter… :oD ♥~♥

  16. Well, you tried it I would have to just to see what all the excitment was about!! LOL. Its suppose to get cold here too. I’m working today, then off rest of the week until business picks up . Give me more time to clean out more closets Ugh! Stay warm, Hugs, Pat

  17. I heard they were ok, but I never tried one. How did you like the green bags? I think I missed your post on if they worked or not.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

