DIAMOND HEAD

Standard

DIAMOND HEAD is one of the most famous places on the island of Oahu.

Here is our own SHERRY from Burrwood on the beach. Diamond Head in the 
background. 
   
ANYONE who grew up in the 60’s knows this theme song..
once you hear it, it gets stuck in your head. CBS had a gold mine in
this series HAWAII FIVE-O. Many other movies and tv shows
were made or are being made there. The first was DIAMOND HEAD
movie in 1963..then this tv series and then a movie that is a
favorite of mine DIAMOND HEAD with Charlton Heston in 1975.
LOST the current ABC tv series, that is coming back soon, is still
being shot there very near the DIAMOND HEAD volcano on the
island of Oahu.  There is rumor that CBS might bring this series back
focusing on the son of the main character Steve Mcgarrett. His most
famous line in the TV series was  "BOOK’EM DANNO" referring to his
partner played by James Mac Arthur.  I loved watching this show.
It took me away from cold cold Michigan in the wintertime. I saw every
episode.
 
Another came
along later called MAGNUM P.I. Tom Selleck was a big hit
in that series which started in 1980. I loved watching Tom run around
the islands in the red Corvett convertible he "borrowed from
the man who you never saw in the series". DID you know that the
famous ORSON WELLES played the unseen ROBIN MASTERS??
Good MEMORIES and all based on the Hawaiian Islands.
Diamond Head Crater is a national landmark in Hawaii. This Link
will get you more info on such a wonderful place to visit.
 
Well I am tired and going back to rest after a long day visiting
Diamond Head. Those of you who love the sunsets here on the
 
island of Oahu are in for a treat.  Hope you had a fun day!
 
PS the weather back home is still frightful…but the warm breezes here
are delightful. despite some brief showers. Wink
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

15 responses »

  1. After spending a week in Mexico I have decided to become a snowbird…of course, I haven’t figured out how I’m going to live that life yet LOL. I finally was allowed to watch Oprah (she’s doing a week long Best Life Series so I’ve set the DVR to record; don’t usually watch Oprah but this sounded like a good learning experience).

  2. I remember both of those series. Tom Selleck is excellent eye candy! Where’s the shot of Sherry in her bikini? The islands are wonderful and I’m enjoying every minute.

  3. Tom Selleck is THE singlemost handsome man in the world. Book him, Danno and leave him in a luxurious room for a cell. I;’ll be there to um…question him..yes, that’s it, question him soon.

  4. Hi Carol – nice to enjoy your cyber visit to Diamond Head today. When I lived in the north, even though I’m not a golfer, I watched golf every weekend on TV so that I would see some sunshine! LOLBest,Nan

  5. Yup, that brings back all those great series that were stationed on the Islands. Especially Tom Selleck and his Magnum PI! Love it all. Charlton Heston actually made TWO movies on the Islands. One was "Diamond Head" and the other? Well, come to my space to see the answer to that!

  6. Oh that sun feels good and the best part…NO SNOW! I’m so glad to be back again.I loved Hawaii Five O. Thanks for the memories.HugsSherry

  7. Magnum was/is so hot! Hubba hubba! Will he be showing up this week while we’re in Hawaii? That would be so cool! I gotta say, I’m enjoying the scenery, beach and nice warm tempertures. This is Paradise with a capital P!

  8. My mom always liked Magnum P.I…..me? I just love the beaches and the tropics! Those are some wondeful pictures and it sure makes me long for better weather which is still months away I figure…sigh.

  9. That picture of Tom Selleck sure did make my day…I wish I could find the Picture of Jerry when he was much younger..I use to call him Tom because he looked like him and aways wore a Detroit hat…Man no wonder I married him lol lol I love Magnum tooThis vacation has been so good for me thanks..Going now to Join Sherry and Beth on the beach.See you later for one of those fancy drinks….

  10. I’m having such a wonderful time. I’m glad you invited us all to come on the trip with you. Sun and sandy beaches sure beat the heck out of the snow and ice at home. Thanks for taking us with you.Hugs, Terry

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

