DOLE PLANTATION, TOUR OF OAHU

Standard
WELL HERE WE ARE…..
Today we visit the DOLE Plantation and get a
neat island tour.  I have always loved pineapple.
In the can or fresh it is all good to me. Visiting the
plantation where they grow and process them would be a real
treat for us all. The link above will take you to their website.
I keep forgetting that Hawaii is 5 hours different from home
in Michigan. It seems like another world in the islands, far from the
cold winds at home.
Over a million people visit this plantation a year. It is one the most
popular attractions on Oahu and is only 40 minutes from Waikiki.
Admission to the grounds of the plantation is free, the train ride will
cost you 7.75 but well worth seeing the entire plantation and all it does.
Later in the day we are off to take a four hour tour of 
Diamond Head, The rain Forest and the scenic shores of
OAHU. At the end of this day we are ready to settle down to a large
feast or Luau on the beach complete with dancers and music by
the sea at sunset.
  
Back home the news is that gas is on the
rise back up again. In many locations
it was 1.99 today. Here on the Islands the price
per gallon was 2.41 a big difference from last
week. It rose at least 10 cents in one day. Hope you had fun in Oahu today..
 
Tomorrow who knows what we will be doing, all in the fun of the
adventure together.
ALOHA can mean many things but now it means until tomorrow my friends!
 

 
 
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

15 responses »

  1. Sounds great! I visited a plantation in the Philippines and it was facinating! I could handle that! Our gas dropped to 1.33. I hope there’s not a big rise in the near future for us.

  2. I’m looking forward to the luau! Hope they have some of that fresh pineapple – I love it! Mahalo nui loa for this wonderful trip!Our gas hasn’t starated going up – yet! It was 1.34 this morning.

  3. That was so much fun. I was hoping for a sample and boy was it delicious. Nothing like pineapple straight from the plantation. I meant to find out if I can grow one of those pineapples as a house plant, but that cute tour guide got me so distracted I forgot to ask! hee heeOur gas is around $1.89 today. Still under $2, so I’m not complaining.

  4. This is so much fun…yummy fresh pineapple and then sunset with the cool ocean breezes…with free entertainment. A wonderful day…can’t wait until tomorrow!Hugs

  5. I love fresh pineapple it is so nice to just go out in the field and pick one…Did I tell you I was having a wonderful time??? What are we doing tomorrow….

  6. When we were there we were amazed at how big the plantation’s are. The luau’s are so much fun and yes they really do cook the pig in the ground. It’s served buffet style and the food was all so good. The entertainment is awesome. The hula dancers and the fire dances, just amazing. They even gave us hula lessons and anyone who wants to can get up on stage and try to learn the hula. I tried buy my hips had other ideas lol. Every thing you do there they take a picture of you for your too purchase if you want it. The prices really aren’t too bad. Ten dollars on a average.The rain forest is something to see. So dense and thick. They have trees there that are called rainbow trees. That’s because they have colors running through the trunks. I think I have a picture of them and will send it if I find it. Bamboo trees are plentiful there. Our tour guide told us a story about two young men that thought they were marijuana plants lol.Mahalo means thank you in Hawaiian and Hana means family.This is so much fun Carol. HugsSherry

  7. I got my invite but didn’t get a chance to tell you I would go too. So I’ll see you tomorrow. I love pineapple, my young co-worker and I had some fresh pineapple on Monday for lunch. It was so sweet and juciy. Gas is the same here as where you are. How can they do that??? Can’t wait to join you tomorrow. Hugs, Pat

  8. Oh my I lost my train of thought on the last picture, the song "Hunka Hunka burnin’ love" came in my head so I don’t even know what you said in your blog. Ok now I’m going to make that picture my backdrop. Oh my…

  9. Hi Carol: Oh wasn’t that so much fun. Those guys in the skirts–hubba dubba–I sure love watching them move. LOL Beautiful pics hun. You make a geat tour guide. I was telling Sherry that I even saw Richard Gere on the beach and even had a swim with him. How cool is that? LOL Hey I can dream can’t I? Looking forward to seeing where today takes us. Take care hun…………..Rusty ((HUGS))

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

