THIS AND THAT…

Standard
Yesterday we all pitched in a helped each other out. The snow was deep
and the streets were unplowed. It snowed almost all day long. That very fine
light snow that doesn’t seem to look like anything, until you notice it
measuring in inches.  I wanted to wait until it stopped to get rid of
it, but that would not work becasue it just was relentless in it’s mission
to cover us up like a blanket. I did dread going for the third day and
taking the street and driveway to task. The neighbor was having a hard
time getting her car out under all that snow. I decided to make an offer
to use my blower, if she would do my driveway too. Mind you, my driveway is
long and wide. Wider than any other one in the neighborhood. She said yes!!
So away she went and like a trooper my drive and my sidewalks got done and
I did not have to do them. Open-mouthedMade my day!
 
It sure looks cloudy in these pictures but it really wasn’t that dark..just snowing
lightly. I decided that I would give her an extra treat so today I am making choc chip cookies
in case she has to do it again! Yes I said again, because as soon as she got done…the
snow started falling hard and today you cannot even see what she did.
I also took advantage of the deep fresh snow and made a batch of SNOW CREAM
Snow+ sweetened condensed milk + vanilla = snow cream
 
Why shouldn’t we get something from nature?
Speaking of nature…. the birds and the squirrels around here are
tucked in tight. I have not seen SKIPPY in three days.
Guess it doesn’t help that it is only 9 here today and
going lower. I keep food out for them when I can..I know
it must be tough to get something to eat in a foot of snow!
#########################################################
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!
P.S. Last night the moon was beautiful
I tried to zoom in on it with my camera but it
just wasn’t powerful enough. I hope you all
get a chance to check it out tonight. It is the closest
to Earth right now than it will be all year.
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

8 responses »

  1. We made snow ice cream a lot when I was a kid. Just be careful it isn’t yellow is what my mom would say. LOLGreat idea with the snowblower.Hugs, Beth

  2. The rare times it snowed in the south my mom would make snow cream! Yep, I think the neighbor would love chocolate chip cookies…..good neighbors and good cookies…..can’t beat’em! Have a wonderful day and stay warm. Hugs

  3. Looks like winter again there! Gee, I would have done that snowblowing for you if I’d been there. I sure do miss the snow. But it was only 28 here this morning when we got up. I don’t EVER remember it being so cold for so long as it’s been this year. It should get up inthe 60’s today, though. Enjoy the winter snows—from the inside looking out—and do try to bake and such to keep it warm. Jack will be on tonight and he’s probably going to warm things up!!!

  4. That is amazing how what would normally seem to be a slight skiff of snow can really bury everything if it keeps on going. We have had weather in the forties and fifty which has pretty much destroyed the snow here except the stubborn drifts that have melted and thawed to hard drifts that will likely be here ’till spring. Snow cream sounds amazing! LOL! Never heard of that before but it sounds like a great thing to do! The moon has been really bright and amazingly beautiful hasn’t it? I should have gotten a picture to. I’ve tried before with mixed results but it’s worth another try. God bless you my friend.

  5. Never heard of snow cream! Guess Pittsburgh area doesn’t get as much snow as you do. Sounds yummy. Bet you could use diffferent flavors besides vanilla. :)Best,Nan

  6. Chocolate Cip Cookies, I’ll be right over to do your driveway. I’ll even camp in your front yard so I can be right there if it snows again. This depends of course on the amount of cookies supplied. LOL!!Love ya,Al

  7. Snow cream? And how do you eat it? Scoop it into a cone? I saw the moon last night and it was huge! Very bright too.That was a great idea with the neighbor blowing your and her driveway. Gave you a rest. Cookies will be good for sure!

  8. I hope I do. It was raining to beat the band and of cpourse all the clouds. Maybe it will clear enough tonight to see.Snow cream. It’s been a long long time for me. Since I was 6. Shoot for those cookies and a dish of snow cream, *I* will do your driveway, Sis.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

