ADVENTURES ON THE ROAD

Standard

ONE thing I always loved is an adventure. Sue and I used to
take off on one ever so often and just not know where the heck
we were going to land. It was the spontaneity of the thing. Back in those days
the gas was 59 cents a gallon and you could go a long long way even with
a car that had 8 cyclinders.  I started thinking about how cool it would be
to just take off and go west again, as I have three times before in my life.
WHAT kinds of things have changed and what things I haven’t seen, I would
love to see.  What Spaces family I could stop in on and visit and
see in person? This country is so large, you just can’t believe it until
you get out there on the road and see it for yourself. A trip like that,
(if you have never done one) is well worth it. Learning about your own
country is really better by car driving across the land.
###########################################################

I heard by way of the SPACES 
grapevine that so many of us are taking a little cyber adventure trip
to the west coast to visit with one of our spaces friends RUSERIOUS BOB!!
He has nice hot weather and oranges on the trees!  We are stuck
in IOWA and can’t seem to get going along very well. I don’t know
who’s turn it was to drive, but they locked the dang keys in the van and
now we are all standing around waiting for AAA to come open it up,
so we can get on our way.  We are picking people up along the way,
so it is getting crowded in there. Many bags are piled on top of the
van and NOW it is threatening to snow.. RATS!!!  We might have to
stop and rent a BUS!!  Miss Catt is not happy
with her sleeping arrangements, she misses her nice cozy bed
at home. Molly is happy just to be away from home and out
sniffing all the neat smells around the rest stops along the way.
 
We are determined to get there
before BOB’S big SUPERBOWL party.. That is NOT TO BE MISSED!
His neighbor just got his patio all nice and re- done and so
BOB and he will have plenty of room for all of us to have one
heck of a smack down superbowl feed. OH. I
can feel that warmth from the west coast in every mile we get closer.Sun
Mom called my cell phone and wants to know if I will be back
by SPRING THAW??   NOT LIKELY!!  Wink STAY TUNED!!!
#################################################################
 HAVE A GREAT SATURDAY!! 
AS I write this it says -10 on my weather bug.. (sigh) Disappointed

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

18 responses »

  1. You women are all freaks but I LOVE you!! We can work out sleeping arrangements when you get here. We have a guest bedroom, two couches, a recliner and a bean bag! And a Motel 6 two blocks away!! We will work it out. Lots to do here!! We will work that out too!! As for food? No problem!!Nite Sweetie!!!

  2. The best vacation my hubby and I ever had was spontaneous! We always said we’d do it again but never did! I’ve been waiting patiently to be picked up and now ya tell me somebody locked the keys in the van! This is the first I’ve heard about the Superbowl party! Hurry, I certainly don’t want to miss that!

  3. Is it too late to sign up to go? I’m probably too far out of the way so I will just read about your adventure. Hope AAA gets there soon. Drive safely. Hugs, Pat in freezing WV. -4 this morning. ugh!

  4. I have warned Bob again to watch his backside. When we get through with him he will never brag about his warm temps again. LOL Just teasing Bob. we all love him.

  5. Well, if you are taking the southern route, you’ll miss me entirely. But it’s sure to be a warmer way. Boy, won’t BOB be surprised when we pull into his driveway!

  6. Thank goodness we finally got out of Iowa and are back on the road. Everyone seems to be having a good time, even Molly and Miss Catt. I can’t wait to kick back. see Bob’s patio and enjoy a fresh picked orange. Maybe Bob could make us some fresh squeezed oj for screwdrivers. Get ready Bob…we’re almost there!

  7. Have a nice trip hun! It’s 52F here in the valley of the sun right now, please stop and see the sights here too, ok? Hugs, Deb xx

  8. Hey I want to go too! I’m in No. Idaho let me know if I can swing down sideways or wherever so I can go too!! I’m thinking if we contact the police regarding Bob’s crazy neighbor we can get a locate on his place! See ya soon Bob!

  9. Carol -I’m all for a good road trip but not knowing where we are going drives me nutzy. I think I’m just being anal about it (control issues) and don’t want to admit it. Then again, with gas being so cheap like it WAS – there wouldn’t be much worry as far as expense!!! :)Warmly -Stephen

  10. OK, Wait!! You left Iowa 3 days ago and are only in Nebraska?? Is Ms cat and Molly pushing that thing?? AAA is only a phone call away! Sounds like you need to trade that van in for a bus!! The front yard is perfect, the backyard is iffy and the house?? We have three dogs!! Do the math! We have food (Becky is a GREAT cook), places to sleep and nice weather!! 80F tomorrow! Disneyland and the beach are both 15 minutes away! Tell Ms Cat to pick it up!!See you, I think, soon!

  11. I loved the days when you just got in the car and drove , not knowing where you would end up.HOpe you find your way out of Iowa HEHE Beth

  12. I’d get lost for sure if I just headed out with no plans! I find all sorts of neat side roads on an afternoons outing (not in winter of course!) One ended up a dead end in a cabbage (or turnip) field. It’s best to follow the narrow unpaved roads for an adventure, but I make sure to take a map or I’d never get out of all the side roads and find my way back home!Temperatures warming up by tomorrow above freezing here…such a long cold deep freeze we all had is finally breaking up.Hugs, Faye

  13. Wondered where you all went. If you get a wild hair, come on down south to Texas. Don’t forget our show tonight too. Hugs,Linda

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

