LIVE WRITER? GOOD OR BAD??

Standard
I attemped to load the live writer. It took
almost an hour to get to 47% loaded. I keep thinking to myself
is this a good idea or not? I mean so many had problems with
this thing in the beginning. I don’t know if anyone has troubles
now. PLEASE let me know what you think of the L Writer and how
it works for you….especially if you have dial up!! After one more hour I
gave up. It was only at 76%, it was nearly 2 AM. Sleepy Surely cannot do this
download stuff in the daytime it ties up the line,  and
I could not just leave the machine on line all night
because……………………………….
 
 "Miracle" has
 sleep issues.. If it goes to sleep Sleepy or hibernate,
there is no WAY it will wakeup the monitor and continue
to work on whatever you were doing. I contacted HP about this
issue and got so many things to do to fix it. I tried them and they
don’t work. This is the old monitor from my XP. I sure don’t want
to buy a new more compatible one, so I will just make sure
I don’t let it go into deep sleep. Only fix for that is to unplug it..
I hate that!!
I am still waiting on another reply from HP to make sure I have
done everything possible. Terrible when old technology won’t speak to
the new. I still work on the problem and see what can be done.
###########################################################
 
The sub-zero temps
are gone for a while now and we can enjoy a heat wave of maybe
25Sun or 30 the next few days. It will be so welcome. Never thought
I would see the day when people would get excited over 30 degrees!!
Gas is up to 1.94 here now and Milk is from 3.79 to 3.05 depending on where
you shop.
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT SUNDAY!!
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

14 responses »

  1. I have live writer and I like it a lot. I don’t have dial up tho so I can’t help you there. I haven’t had any problems with it all. I thought I did the other day when I changed my password but I figured that out and it’s good now.I’m one of those who got excited to see above zero temps. We haven’t gotten up to 30 yet and it’s not in the forecast over the next few days but I’m hoping lol.Hope you’re having a good weekend.HugsSherry

  2. I have live writer as Sherry put me on to it. Trouble is, old peoples syndrome, I forgot about it so haven’t used it yet. Silly me. I use to leave my old computer on all the time but not this one. I think that is what wore it out. We’re above zero here, hooray. Have a good day.Hugs

  3. I have high speed so I don’t have a problem with downloading anything. I loved live writer until I downloaded beta messenger. It quick working then and I was neither able to delete either the msgr or the lw and try them again. My advice to you would be to not download anything beta. Go ahead and try the lw, I think you will like it.It is 20 degrees here now. I just came in the house from shoveling my walks where the wind blew the snow over them again.

  4. The higher temps will happily affect the inauguration, also. Who wants to stand around for so many hours in any cold weather, let alone weather this cold!

  5. I use Live Writer and it is worth the download. The newer version has lots of new features I find useful. When you get it downloaded and have any questions, email me. Happy to help out if needed. 🙂

  6. Carol, I need to run a couple of errands in a bit, so may not be here to answer you then. So . . . . I’m going to guess you are still using XP operating system. Even if you are using Vista, although worded slightly different, you should be able to do the same thing I’m about to tell you. This is how to make the change that should keep your monitor and hard disk from shutting down prematurely:1) Before opening anything up, put your pointer on somewhere in the middle of your screen, and right click.2) From the menu that pops up, left click on "Properties".3) This should open a "Display Properties" page. Left click on "Screensaver".4) Left click on "Power Options"5) From the menu displayed, go to where it says ‘turn off monitor’ , and to the right of that will be a ‘drop down’ where you can set for however long you think it takes to download WLR or whatever.6) Then on the next line where it says "Turn off Hard Drive" , I would select ‘Never" from the ‘drop down’ menu.7) on the next line is "System Standby". I would change that time to whatever you put in line 5.Then, if you are not going to download any large files for a while, I would change these settings back to whatever you feel comfortible with.Again, if you have Vista, the wording is slightly different but does the same thing. Hope this helps you download without it shutting off.As for WLW itself, I use it sometimes, and sometimes I work within my blog. My one disappointment in it is that I can’t change the font size (you know, my old eyes aren’t what they used to be! LOL). As with Rosebay Florida, I have discovered that WLW can also be used in other social websites (like Blogspot) also. And you will always have a backup, or draft in WLW.Good luckL e e

  7. Hope you get an answer about the PC wish I could help…I have live writer and like it just fine not that I use it much since it is easy to add pix to blogs.So good luck..Yes warmer here too but for how long??? who knows…lol lol this has been a wild winter…

  8. I love Windows Live Writer, I use it at work for a blog I have there for day to day stuff. I say work with it and be paitent because it’s worth it. I love posting and working with photo’s in live writer, is just so much easier. But, I’m on high speed, not dial up. Papa and I don’t go out much so we feel that we can splurge for the TV and the internet, these are the things that entertain us most. But I know, we’re lucky that we’re able to split house expenses like we are. He on a fixed income that’s not bad and I on my work income.Try to enjoy that warm 30. It was warm enough for me to sit out side and read this afternoon in the sun. But that’s winter in Texas. Well… south east texas….

  9. Hi … hey, I haven’t tried the live writer but am certainly enjoying the new computer.. I have actually been able to leave comments for three people already without the computer freezing up… Hip Hip hooray… Yes, dear, I am being good.. My foot is up on Mr. G.’s chair… hugs, lottemae

  10. here I am again, isn’t there an old country western song by Dolly Parton that starts out that way? Beth would know… anyway, I hope your monitor stays working. Is there a way to go in and take it off of sleep mode? I dunno, just askin… hugs, lottemae

  11. I had a blog and in the meantime got the new messenger and the blog is hidden or wiped out, unhappy about that. Hope you get it fixed the way you want it. Lee’s instructions are good about a sleepy puter. My son did mine. hugs, AnnieD

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

