WHITE OUT!!

Standard
Tried to make a emergency run to the big city to pay a bill
that was overlooked and is due MONDAY. Started out and
about five miles down the I-94 we detoured and came back
home. Could not see over about 4 cars in front of you. Snowing
so hard it looked like a blizzard. Sis wanted to go on, I said NO
turn around and go back. Snowy and icy roads I really dislike
so I was kind of reluctant to go in the first place.
 
We started back home and it got
even harder. The roads had not been plowed and now the
passing lane was getting very very slippery. One lane of
traffic and we saw one in the median with it’s lights flashing. We
went about 45 miles an hour and the worst part was getting
onto the on ramp. YIKES… Five cars got off with us
at the exit and each one swerving to stay on the road.
We crept over the bridge going about 15 miles an hour.
Roads in town were not plowed either, it was Sunday. We have
not heard a plow since FRIDAY. Sad
As soon as we got home I went out to snow-blow the driveway.
The snow had let up some and I thought maybe it would stop.
FAT CHANCE… It kept getting worse and I finally stopped.
WE have nearly 4 inches of new snow!
We were not in any watch, advisory or warning area. It just
came out of nowhere.  Guess Monday is supposed to be a better
day than Sunday so maybe just maybe the crews will be cleaning
off the freeway. This business of not plowing the highways on a
SUNDAY unless it is urgent is ridiculous… the lady in the car
aside the road will tell you!
 
 In this kind of winter weather I sure would
not want to be in a crowd of millions in the cold.. I heard today
that Obama’s speech will be 17 minutes long. Nice that he is taking
into consideration the temps and the many hours that people will
be standing waiting for the big event. I will be watching as I know
it will be most memorable.
 
HAVE A GREAT MONDAY!!


glitter-graphics.com

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

17 responses »

  1. I know this sounds crazy, but I really wish we could get some of that snow. We’ve only received 5 inches maybe so far this winter. I find stuff all over with the help of the Stumble Upon toolbar. If I’m watching TV and just killing a bit of time, I’ll press the Stumble button and it will take me someplace. I know readers don’t always have time to check out every link posted, yet I really thought those photos were beautiful enough to share.

  2. We have 3 feet from yesterday…more scheduled for the next five days…it is soooooo cold. Be safe and stay warm. Kat…check out my blog about the snow and see if you still want some of it…LOL!

  3. I would be totally bonkers by now if we had the winter you’ve had. I’m glad you didn’t slip and slide into anybody while you were out! Stay in and stay warm.

  4. How horrible. I have been in snow like that many times and grateful that we don’t seem to be getting much at all in the past 10 years or so. Thank goodness you turned back. I know that it was important to get the bill mailed/paid but..that was horrible conditions. Not worth it for a day’s difference Sis,and you knew that,

  5. I am glad you went back home, no bill is worth what could have happened.stay safe and warm and i would just forget about going anywhere.i have watched the news lately with the snow and nasty conditions up thatway and its just horrible. sit and relax with a cup of coffee and enjoy each otherspring will be here before ya know it.Beth

  6. I am glad you are safe. I am waiting for this miserable winter to ease up some. I just want a sunny 70 degree day with bare ground.

  7. So glad you knew enough to turn around! Goodness! That’s quite the photo. Hope you can work it out with the bill people. Hopefully they’re real people, and not just a computer.

  8. I’m glad you decided to turn around and go back home too. It’s scary driving when it’s like that. We didn’t get that here and I’m happy about that. Hope today is better and they get out and clear those roads. That’s crazy they don’t go out on Sunday’s HugsSherry

  9. Glad to hear you made it back home safely. No plowing on Sunday? We would be buried up to our ears if they did that here. Expcially with all the snow we’ve had this year. Hugs

  10. That’s just plain silly not to plow on Sundays! If all the emergency people decided to take Sundays off, we’d really be in a pickle. Hope you stay IN for a while until the snow stops at least. Know it’s hard — cabin fever and all…

  11. Egads! A lot of ours is melted down, not gone of course but the back uncovered porch is cleared of snow and our trees but the yards are still sparkling white. It’s only about 20 F today, we’re hoping those high 30’s low 40’s come back that has been nice. Thank goodness you made it back from that slippery stuff safe! I too will be watching the inaugaration, it’s very exciting!

  12. Crazy snow! We had most of our melt and a high of sixty-one degrees today…did you suck the cold and misery right out of our winter?

  13. Glad you got home safe…look at us got hit during a snow storm like the one you described and we were in front of my house…Best to just stay home I will glued to my TV tomorrow and glad to hear the speech is short. I don’t think I would want to be in a crowd like that not this small town girl..no sir not me.

  14. Well, that sounded like a trip from hell! Hate it when the weather people really miss something like that. Like you’d go out on the interstate if you knew there were white out conditions. Glad you got home safe and sound.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

