A NEW DAY…

Standard
A NEW BEGINNING. I just feel like it is a new day.. so much hope
for what is to come. The sun is shining through the clouds
of the past and shows a promise of a better tomorrow.
 
It is cold here 10  below again, for the 7th out of 8 days.
I grow weary of this cold and snow. When will it ever
end? It is a break after so many days to see the sun
shine. You would think the air would be warmer,
but with the wind chill makes it so much colder.
I went about breaking up the icicles on my roof
today. Those which I could reach. I saw that in two
places the gutters are full of ice.
I went about checking out methods of melting it on
the roof. I KNEW I should have bought that thing I saw in
Wa^%$#T that you throw on the roof and it melts it.
NO mess! I heard there are round large salt tablets the
size of hockey pucks that you throw on the roof. Now
THAT sounds like a cool idea.  They come in a tub
of about 60 tablets and cost $23… Maybe I will do the
alternative.. A nylon hose filled with rock salt and just
fling it up there. I bought some really GOOD salt
that works WONDERFUL  I mean it.. I tell everyone I see
about it.. this stuff melts better than the small pellet or
rock salt I got before. It has the consistency of sand
but spreads wonderful and melts to 15 below. It is not harmful
to concrete,plants, or anything.
I got mine
at K***T for $5 a large bag.. Best money I spent so far this winter.
Guess I will be hunting up some old panty hose
tomorrow for the gutters.
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A WONDERFUL WEDNESDAY!!
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

13 responses »

  1. What a cloud photo!!! Just awe inspiring!!Yes…. SEE’S candies!! 2lb box of dark chocolate with cream centers!! MEH!! You wouldn’t like them!! lol! Keep telling yourself that! And let me know when your birthday is!!! You just might get a surprise!!Take care sweetie and have a Great Wednesday too!!

  2. The photo is beautiful. It does make us hope for better days ahead. We don’t have K***ts here anymore as they have all closed. I would like to get some of that stuff though.I hope you have a great day!!Hugs, Beth

  3. Morning Carol! I’m surprised you’re still having such cold temps over there. Yesterday it felt quite nice. It was sunny and in the mid 20’s. We’ll get one more day of mild temps and then down in the deep freeze again. We’re coming home on Thursday so we’ll avoid being here while it’s so cold. I’ve never seen or heard of that vaporizer stuff. It sounds perfect. Salt can really ruin cement and so many other things, but ya gotta have use it. Have a good day my friend!

  4. I don’t know about the salt on your roof. I’d ask a roofer about that. Salt erodes car finishes, so maybe it’s not so good for roofs either. Here in CA, all they use is sand in the winter. Those near the ocean have salt water to contend with year around—and they have to repaint nearly every year to keep their houses from deteriorating. Sorry it’s so cold there all the time. I got some warmth in the mail yesterday—your card came!

  5. Beautiful photo Beth. Maybe our 20 and 30 temps will reach you tomorrow. I hope so, it is depressing when it’s that cold for so many days. Well hang in there, spring is just around the corner….I hope. Ground hog day is coming up and I hope he doesn’t see his shadow. Or is it the other way around lol.Have a good day.HugsSherry

  6. Hi Carol: That salt sounds like the answer to my prayers. I am going to check the hardware stores over here and see if I can get me some of that. I woke up to a cold house this morning so hubby put the electric heater in the computer room here for me and he is in the basement with the fireplace going. I had a hair appointment and when I got home the furnace guy was here. Come to find out it is the thermostat that is not working so he is trying to sort that out. The temp in the house is 59, I find that very cold but at least better then outside and I can always put more clothes on. I am glad there is no wind today at least. Oh well things could always be worse.I hope you have a wonderful Wednesday too hun. Take care and God bless………Rusty ((HUGS))

  7. They closed the K store in out town but there is still one just north of here. May to check on that. Great picture. Come on Spring!Hugs

  8. Shelly is right..we’ll be sweating out heiney’s off before we can say BOO!Sure is depressing tho to have to face bitter cold temps day in and day out.

  9. Hey sweating sounds good to me about now! We’ve been blessed with temperatures near sixty…not bad but there’s a fifty degree drop in temperatures coming with snow through the weekend. The up and down stuff about kills me as much as the relentless cold. A brighter (and warmer) time is ahead and I can’t complain about that one bit!

  10. I don’t care what Fizz says! I think that Country Music is the only true American music. Rain coming here and that’s GOOD!! I was warching a juggler on Discover Channel. First 3 balls, then 6, then 8 basaball bats and then three running chain saws!! They say that juggling increases your brain power so that guy mustbe a genius!!I hope it warms up for you SOON!!!! Take care and stay warm Carol!!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

