SLEDDING SUNDAY

Standard
COLD day here in the mitten state.. not a day you would
like to get out and "stay out" in but so many did. All the snow
we have had, made for ideal conditions for the yearly
cardboard sled races. No fee just come and enter your
sled made ONLY from cardboard. Design is up to the
age and size of the person who is riding it.
There were many more than last year, when here wasn’t much
snow at all. The only drawback was the COLD. It was about 12-13
degrees and boy I sure didn’t stay out in that for long.
I did manage to get these shots..( JUST FOR SUE!! ) Wink
the lower past of the hill where people were lined up
is the children’s hill. Rarely does a sled get all the way from
the top to the bottom of that hill. If you do, you have made one
heck of a sled.
  
The overall winners of the day were the two fellas in the smaller
sled in front. They both had carharts on and I bet they sure needed
them. You had to stay the whole 3-4 hours to get to the final race.
I did notice that there were two ambulances and a fire truck there
this year besides the semi tow truck in case someone got frostbite or
stuck in the deep snow. Everyone had a great time, but I went late and
when the announcer called the last race..people left in a hurry I can’t blame
them at all. I was frozen just standing taking pictures.  Funny the cold doesn’t seem
to bother kids when they are having fun at all.. OH to be young again!!!
###################################################################
I came home and had hot chocolate and dreamed of warmer climates.
Was able to download the PICASA onto Miracle after several tries..
Miracle does not like unauthorized sites.. SHE has to be careful ya know!! Open-mouthed
I am dying to try everything out there.. Hope I find time soon.
####################################################################
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT MONDAY!!
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

15 responses »

  1. Hi Carol: Oh those kids look like they are having a blast. When you are having fun, you don’t seem to feel the cold, your adrenelin is pumping. Great pictures dear and to think you braved the cold to get them. Thanks for sharing and I’m sure Sue will love them and it will remind her of when she used to do it. Good luck with Miracle. Take care and God bless………….Rusty ((HUGS))http://imagequeen22.spaces.live.com

  2. I loved reading about and seeing your pictures of the cardboard races. Simple fun is the most fun! Yes, when my daughter, then 2-1/2, and I began ice skating I was never as cold as before. Enjoyment of the climate is the key!

  3. I don’t remember the cold ever bothering me when I was younger. Of course, we never had the cold that you’re experiencing! Great photos. Thanks for trekking out in the snow to take the pictures. Have a great day. Stay in and stay warm. Have another cuppa hot chocolate! Hugs

  4. Oh Carol, someday it will be warm and I will not complain. I said that last year when it got into the upper 90s.The pictures are great!!

  5. Shame on you for recommending PICASA! I couldn’t let go of it and spent WAY too much time enjoying it! Will be a great help in organizing my hundreds of photos and faster than Photoshop. Mucho thanks! Wish I could have been with you to see the cardboard races down our favorite hill!

  6. Now that you mention it, I don’t remember getting cold as a kid. We’d be out sledding all afternoon and I never remember being cold. That was really lots of fun and good exercise too.

  7. Picasa is my go to software for anything photo, photo editing or photo sharing. I love it. Seriously. I’ve turned on several colleagues onto it, too and they also love it. Anyway, enjoy!

  8. Sledding!!! Oh Yeah!!!!! Back in my hometown in NJ we had two great places!! One really steep street that the police would block off and a place in the woods we names ‘Suicide Hill’, among other things!! HAH!! It ran about a half mile and was always covered in ice. What fun!! And no one died!! LOL!As for the dinner, we both made up the menu. Becky did the chopping and I cooked. It turned out very well. We waited for you as long as we could!!Have a Great week!

  9. I added Picasa on my laptop. Problem is, all of my photos are on my desktop which died this weekend!! GRRRR! But I will get it fixed soon! Looks like a fun program!!!!

  10. Might as well make the best of the cold right? It’s been cold here too but hopefully will start to warm up as of tomorrow..at least it’s not cloudy here today. It was sure fun to look at your pictures!

  11. Thanks for sharing your pictures. Pictures of sledging take me back at a few years, it looks like great fun, and everrybody always knows the best hill in town.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

