FACEBOOK TROUBLE & MORE

Standard
FOR those of you who have a facebook acct. I have deactivated
my account there. I have had a whole lot of trouble getting into
my account despite the security and recently changed a lot
of the settings. Either the account was hacked or something I don’t know
but I decided to close my account there. I did not use it much
anyway and could not keep up with all the stuff that
was going on there. As for the spaces group that was set up
I hope it remains there but cannot be certain.
I closed my MYSPACE awhile back too for similar
reasons I just did not trust the site and all the things that
were going on there. I prefer to stay with MSN SPACES and
use my WORDPRESS account.
################################################################
#
All day long yesterday I had a sore throat and was hoarse.
I thought it was from screaming at the tv during the Superbowl.
Now I am not too sure.Thinking I have been trying to keep away from
germs as much as I possibly can this winter. So far I have done a
great job. So I am using every resource I have to try to fend off
anything that might come with this throat thing.
Geez mom mentioned I should boil the onions and water and
sugar into syrup and then take tablespoons of it to sooth
my throat. Yeeeeeeeccchh  Sick I am not a real onion fan
to begin with. Raw ones turn me off! She said her grandmother used
to use horehound candy or rock candy in whiskey. LOL
ROCK CANDY IN WHISKEY I googled it.. More like  hot toddy
to me. Wonder if it works?? Well with all that booze I guess
you eally don’t care if it does or not.Open-mouthed I love horehound candy
it tastes like rootbeer. Haven’t seen any lately though.
I saw this link at one page I was on.. the people swear by
CAYENNE PEPPER.. hmm might give that a go if it gets
worse. RIght now there are no streaks of white or red,
in my throat,,so maybe I am lucky!!
 
ANY ONE else got a strange cure for a cold or sore throat??
Keeping my fingers crossed.  Smile
 
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

14 responses »

  1. I just recentlyopened a facebook acct. to keep in touch with family who are spread out all across the U. S. I decided not to open it to friends as it gets a tad overwhelming with all the info.

  2. I too have a facebook to keep up with my family but I like it here better. Years ago when my daughter Darla was in high school she got a real bad cold with matting eyes and everything. As she was the second baseman on the softball team her coach (who knew the family well) told her to go have her grandmother make her a hot toddy and go to bed. He needed her bad the next day. She did, grandma did, she played and they won. Hot toddies work.

  3. I think a lot of that stuff in facebook is rediculous anyway. I have one too because all of my family have one but spaces is my fav. I just read that ome facebook memebers are in fact being hacked so I changed my password there again.I don’t have any cures for you but I do hope you feel better soon.HugsSherry

  4. I have Facebook but am hardly ever there, I love Spaces Live so much better and you can get a chance to be more creative, I mostly keep it to keep in touch with family and a couple old school friends. There are so many out there if you wanted to try out all of them, I have three Spaces and Facebook and that is enough for me. I have one that is just dedicated to the veterans and those that didn’t make it back and that is my pride and joy but I am not there a lot, mostly on Remembrance Day each year on November 11th. It is http://imagequeen23.spaces.live.com/ if you would like to check it out.Well dear I must run as the nurse will be here any minute, she comes once a month to change my husbands catheter as he has a Suprapubic Catheter. Going on five years now.

  5. I have a FB account and for the reason all others state – family. I rarely go there. I like it here! Hope your throat is better today. My mother was the best at home remedies. She had a cure for everything. I never stepped foor in a doctor’s office until I was married. Have a great day, Carol. Hugs to you and mom.

  6. I have avoided the FB site since I follwed the crowed with MySpace and that never worked out either…I’m pretty much done following the trends. This is where my home is and I’m glad you’re here too! I’ve had a miserable sore throat too but I don’t think it had one thing to do with the SuperBowl since that means nothing to me…I think it’s the up and down weather we have right now..for now it’s warmer and I’m going to enjoy it not matter how stubborn this cold may be! Blessings to you my friend.

  7. When M complained more than two days of a sore throat and his appetite lessened, I took him to the doctor and it was strep. So, watch that throat. I have not had a sore throat just recently, but my cough keeps me awake. Hot herbal tea (with some kind of mint in it) seems to calm it better than anything and let me sleep. Steve swears by cayenne pepper for everything….

  8. Hot tea with a big spoon of honey in it works for me. Gargle with warm salt water and don’t forget to put vicks on the bottom of your feet, then a pair of socks on before you go to bed. I try all things when I have a sore throat. As a last resort I go to see the doctor. Take care of yourself!Hugs,Beth

  9. I guess the only sore throat thing I know of is salt water in warm water. Hope yours hasn’t gotten worse today. For me a sore throat always leads to a cold. yech!I think I still have a facebook page, but I don’t even remember my password. I never got into that. Seemed like all I was doing was downloading this or that. I’ll have to check out wordpress. Hope you and Mom are staying warm…only a few more days of this crap and then we’ll have some pre-spring like weather. woo hoo!

  10. I gargle lis*teri*ne and take zicam right now as that is when it is most effective. Good luck and I hope you feel better. Oh and about that FB thing… OMG I never knew there was so much to it. Geesh! I just found out the other day when someone asked if I ever got the thing they sent me? I was checking my usps mail box and finally concerned I sent her a note… yeah, I’m dumb it’s a little fun thing that I don’t really care to do. When I checked it I had like 45 different things people had sent me. I just like to communicate and see photos that’s about it. Keep your cooties in your county please. tee hee ha ha ttfn

  11. I am on Day 11 of The Crud and still coughing. I sound like a 14 year old boy varying between high and squeeky and deep bass. I use a Neti Pot to clear out the nasal passages which helps a lot. Be sure to treat yourself to THE BEST hot toddie: a cup of hot water, jigger of tequila, and a tablespoon of honey and lemon juice. Good luck! Husband is 5 1/2 weeks into his Crud.

  12. Zicam has worked for me… The spray type… I hope you get to feeling better soon. Sore throats are yucky.. hugs, lottemae

  13. i havent used the facebook in forever. Have you tried changing your password, sherry and i have had trouble with msn spaces and changing the password worked to fix ithope the sore throat is gone

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

