WINTER VIEWS

Standard
I set out to see if all the river was completely frozen over.
I found out that some parts were and some weren’t. I guess
the current keeps it open in some areas. It seemed to be
pretty strong.
      
First  pic is completly frozen. Below is the pond we used to skate on years
ago. It never freezes over hard enough to use anymore for ice skating.. Notices are
posted not to go out on it.
  
The foot bridge was built so that both parts of the park could be joined together. The log cabin
building by the pond is where we used to sit by the fireplace and warm up after
skating. Many a wonderful time was spent in that building. The covered ice pond is right
in front of it. { Sue.. this was the building they were thinking of tearing down.
Not sure if they still are or not. I think the city officials have something to do with that.}
The sky was a glorious clear blue Wednesday despite the cold cold temps.
As I post this it is 8 below zero! I feel for those in Florida who are worried about
their crops freezing overnight. Temps in the 20’s are just not right for Florida
in winter. This old world is messed up that is for sure.
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A WONDERFUL THURSDAY!!
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

10 responses »

  1. Beautiful pictures! Keep warm my friend. The earth is changing like it always does but this global warming must be doing something.

  2. I’m liking the pictures but longing for spring LOL! We made it to sixty degrees today…maybe we’re the ones with global warming…well, when we’re not below zero and covered with snow like everyone else!

  3. Hi Carol: The pictures are beautiful and you did a good job taking them. I especially like the last one with the foot bridge, I bet it is so pretty there with flowers, in the spring and summer. Hope you have a wonderful day sweety.Ccccold here this morning.Take care and God bless…………..Rusty ((HUGS))

  4. Yes, it may be the current that keeps the water moving. These days it may also be chemicals in the water that keep it from freezing.Beautiful pics. I love that you get out most every day for these little excursions and picture opportunities. Good for you!

  5. Great pictures Carol!! I love a clear blue sky. I think there is a country song that starts out like that and now I can’t think of the singer. Oh well, it will come to me in the middle of the night. lolHugs to you and mom!

  6. No! They can’t tear down that cabin! There are too many great memories attached to it! All the great hot chocolate we used to sip after skating right up to the door. I’ll bet the floor is still covered with skate marks from kids walking across it to get to the fire to warm themselves. What great fun we had there. It was our whole social life when I was the age M is now! It’s a shame they don’t use it anymore…

  7. you know it’s like looking out my window…only those pictures have beauty to them…i can’t wait for sunny weather…♥~♥ :oD because you shared a smile…someone’s day got brighter… :oD ♥~♥

  8. Nice pictures. It sure looks like a bright sunny day. It’s taking it’s time warming up…but better slow than never. Have a good one.

  9. Thanks for taking me on such a peaceful winter walk with you and sharing your pictures. hugs to you and mom, lottemae

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

