MEMORY LANE

Standard

So many here in spaces are relating stories from their past
and childhood.. so here is one of mine…
 
Long ago… when I was back in grade school, I used to love
Valentines day and making those little envelopes to keep
the valentines in from all the kids in the class. My 2nd grade teacher
decided that each one of us would pick a name out of a
bowl and we would get that person a special little surprise.
I picked the name of a person I didn’t like that much, but I had
to go along with the class. Some kids were trading names
back and forth so they could get their favorites. I asked to
trade with someone, but no one wanted to.

 
I remember going to our then 5&10 cent store and looking
for just the right thing for a surprise. it had to be small and inexpensive.
I decided on Silly Putty because the package it came in
was red and it was small. I wrapped it up in some old
tissue paper my mom had and placed it in the envelope when I got
to school. We could not hardly wait to have the party and open those
envelopes up. Some added candy to theirs and some had more
expensive things than others. I thought maybe mine would not
be all that great, but when I opened up my envelope that had
my valentines in it.. LOW AND BEHOLD  someone had bought
ME silly putty too!! I just laughed over that. I watched the kid’s face
when they opened their envelope.. there was a big smile on that
face so I knew it was okay. Smile  Funny how we remember those times
in our lives as the best and they were the most simple ones.

 

 
I wish we all could go back to the simple times in life, maybe we would
all be a lot better off.
Supposed to be in the high 40’s here again today and I am sure going
to enjoy every minute of it.
 
HOPE  YOU ALL HAVE A WONDERFUL DAY TOO!

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

