SHORT NOTE

Standard

Well after seeing mom and her condition today I called and got
her right in. She is lucky I did not call the paramedics the night
before. I slept with one ear open all night long. Her breathing was
somewhat labored and her color was off. She was very weak but still
fiesty. The doctor diagnosed pneumonia and had them take an x-ray
of her lungs. She is on high powered antibiotics and will go back
on Friday. When my mother won’t eat anything or want to drink
coffee..or eat sweets…. well .. we KNOW she is sick or something is very wrong.
The doctor visit took nearly 3 hours. It was cold and raining and
mom was exhausted. I was right behind her in that category.
So that was pretty much my whole day today. The wind is fierce
tonight and we have flood warnings. I am just glad it is not
snow! I hope we don’t lose power, I sure would not like that
scenerio with a sick person in the house.  Sad
 
I got this picture in my e mail and had to laugh at how long it must
have taken them to make them..
 
Thousands attend global warming summit in Michigan!
Soon they will be all gone!!    Thanks for the laugh Anita!
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

5 responses »

  1. Sorry to hear about your Mom and hoping the heavy duty antibiotics (levaquin?) kick in soon! I cracked 2 ribs in my mid 20’s from coughing so hard when I had pneumonia. It’s painful.

    • Elaine.. sorry it took me so long to find this comment.. Mom had been given that three dose Zithro? that works for 10 days.. and that worked good..( for her pneumonia)… then he wanted to follow up with some doxycycline and that promptly made her really sick no matter how she took it. He said it was just a precaution and it was okay she stop it. NOW she is still having trouble breathing and using an inhaler at least 2-3 times a day .. I fear it is congestive heart failure problems, as she has been diagnosed with that. Seems two things together make it realllllllly hard to get a handle on them. Next appt is due march 9 but I am thinking she needs to go in sooner.
      SHE IS NOT coughing much at all… nothing coming up much either and when it does it is pretty clear..
      This is sure hard to deal with.. she is so stubborn and of course ” I know nothing.. I am just the daughter.” 20 plus years of in home care of the elderly… very frustrating when it is your family involved.
      Thanks for your comment.. Carol

  2. Best wishes for your Momma’s complete recovery. Hugs to you. Take care of yourself so you don’t end up in a bed beside her, OK??

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

