SPACES NEWS

Standard
 
 
Recently I learned that many people now are making their
space private. Perhaps this is because we are getting so many
invitations to join Spaces that are not really spaces.Sad They are just
set up to get "invited to a friends list ".  Odd names and very many
not so nice private messages. I like the private messages,  I just
don’t like getting them from people who are proposing all sorts of
strange and sometimes lewd things. The past few days I have blocked
at least 50-60 of them.  Seems someone is trying to make this
wonderful place called SPACES into a "facebook" type place.
NOT A GOOD IDEA at all in my opinion. I deleted my facebook account
because I didn’t like the way it was going there. WHY OH WHY
they have to change things and make them WORSE instead
BETTER is beyond me.  Did they ask people if they wanted it?
NOPE.. it’s called "keeping up" with other networks and their
trends. Sad
 
I want to keep my space public as long as possible. I have many
people who read my space who DO NOT have a hotmail address.
They won’t comment, but they come to read or catch up with family
news. If I make this a private space… anyone trying to access
will HAVE TO HAVE a hotmail or MSN address. If I am mistaken
about this .. please, please let me know.  I always said that if
I had trouble I could not handle here I would click the button
and go private. IF this should happen I will let you know
with a much notice as I can. 
The way things are going now,
who knows what changes are in store for us all. It may not be pretty!
##############################################################
ANYWAY.. I HOPE YOU ALL
 


glitter-graphics.com

 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

16 responses »

  1. I believe that you can have friends without a hotmail or MSN account. IMing may be a problem, but spaces does not seem to be. Now that I have written that, consider the source as I remain computer challanged. (LOL)

  2. I’ve just started to get quite a few invites from boys in other countries who I do no know. I ignore them. I have quite a few friends on spaces I maynot get to all the time but love em. I try to get to your space most everyday my friend. Have a great tomorrow! Hope your Mom is improving more.

  3. I have had some from guys and some that say they are women..not nice messages. Ugh. I just leave them unopened and mark them as phishing scams for Hotmail so that they are marked and stopped.Missed seeing you and I sure am glad to be home. 🙂

  4. I have been getting those too Carol and I just delete them. I have to leave my space public for my sister and brother and my cousins in Michigan.

  5. I’ve had a few nothing compared to you however. I hope you don’t have to go Private as your space is a fountain of information. However if you do I understand and I just want to be allowed back to send happy thoughts to you and Mom. I heard Chelsea on DOOL is leaving too… UGH! I just started to like the witch. tee hee ha ha Take care and I’m sending lots of get well wishes mom’s way! ttfn

  6. I’ve been getting them, but nothing like what you’ve received. Don’t ya just love it when there’s not even a picture of the person? Those are easy to delete.

  7. I hardly get any comments in my blog but I do in private. I don’t like this facebook attitude they are trying to go to. If people want facebook then use it. Why change a good thing. Its so annoying! I think I will mark the comments as phishing scams for Hotmail from now on to..It seems if we do and the get tons of them they have to do something.Sunny but chilly here..Have a good day.

  8. I was thinking it was getting more like "MySpace" in lewdness, myself. I have the same problem, which is why I don’t make it private. My family likes to read what I write and will frequently come and visit, tho not comment. I’m not really thrilled with the changes to Spaces. They’re making the whole business way too complicated, it’s gone from Spaces to MSN Live… I liked just being a Space on Spaces.Hugs to you… keep the faith!

  9. I’m now getting 3 of 4 invites a day from froeign men. I block and go on from there. Hope your mom is doing better. Have a great day.

  10. HI Carol, Boy it seems like spaces is being invaded. I went private and you can add people who don’t have a hotmail etc. all you have to do is add their email address. There’s a place at the bottom of the page to add them. That’s what I did when I went private.

  11. Carol, I am glad to know that I am not the only one dissatisfied with the "New Live Spaces". Progress is a wonderful thing, but with it come all the unwanted invasions of others, especially in cyberspace. I like you do not like Facebook or for that matter My Space. I liked the old Spaces and the fact that we were able to invite who we wished to our friends list without being solicited by unwanted invitations or people showing up on our friends list without our permission. It is also said that we are now in networks where anyone can enter and where we have to invite oldtime friends to join our network…. I have reset my permissions which seemed to be set for public which they were not before all of these changes. I want WHO I WANTon my friends list and visiting my space. i hope that Live Spaces is finished messing with everything. Spaces was a good place before they decided to make all of these changes and I have a feeling that they will be losing alot of people from Spaces just as they have in the past. If it ain’t broke don’t fix it!!!!!!!!! God bless you sweet friend and I have a feeling I will be sending you an invitation soon to join my network, even though you are a longtime friend.~Hugs~Marilyn~

  12. I deleted my facebook page too. I haven’t had that problem yet, but don’t want it either. Have a good day and give mom a hug from us. lottemae and Mr. Guppe

  13. As long as you add someone to your network they can access your Space without a hotmail or MSN account. My Space here has been private for years and I have had no real problems keeping up with everyone.Love ya,Al

  14. I’m here!! You are so right!! I mean, put something on you space before you send an invite. Oh, and I think Spaces is trying to keep up with Facebook, My Space and other sites. I’ll post today! I keep my space public because I just don’t care!! I just delete the strangers! MSN needs to ‘smarten up!’Any songs you want?? I’ll be happy to send!! Cold annd rainy here!Take care Carol and hug your Mom for me…!

  15. I hear you about "keeping up with the jonses". I wish that it wouldn’t be that way but it seems that’s what some people want. I get tons of invites and such too but will not add people I don’t know who don’t have a space and don’t even really seem to know why they’re adding me…no thanks, not now, not ever. I have a public space and will keep it that way the best I can. I have some friends that you can’t comment or post notes or do much of anyhing…how can a person keep connected like that? Ah well, hopefully things will settle down to a dull roar.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

