LET’S BARTER !!

Standard
Here it is Wednesday already. Where has the week gone? The
weather is changing and getting WARMER so I am thrilled
to say it is easier to get outside and not freeze. Makes those
errands and such so much more enjoyable. Yesterday’s photo
fooled everyone. It was taken by SHERRY!!  
I have no idea where she took it but I bet it might have
something to do with HAWAII maybe since she loved
visiting there. I am sure she will let us know sooner or later.
######################################################
I have been bartering this past winter with the snowblowing
and the shoveling around here. Now I hear on TV on TODAY
that more and more people are doing this to "GET BY" in these
bad economic times. I got to thinking about what else I could
barter for. What kinds of things I could do to help someone
else out and ME TOO!  Yesterday I was offered an opportunity to
bake something and help someone else out at the same time.
I would be equally helped in some way too. I thought .. HEY,
this may just work out.  I know SUE barter’s for computer work
with her piano tuning services, that seems to be working for her.
 
Remember when you used to be able to go into a grocery store
and check out the ads posted there? Some wanted things like
jobs, others wanted to sell things.  I don’t see those as often
anymore around here. Coupon boxes that used to be free to anyone who
needed a coupon? I hope that places bring those back. A perfect
place to find someone willing to barter for their specialty.
I did a search for sites on line and got so many I could not
ever go there. HERE seems to be a good one though.
 
DO YOU BARTER?? IS IT WORKING OUT FOR YOU???
Hope you all …

 

 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

11 responses »

  1. Never would have guessed the photo belonged to Sherry! Bartering sounds like a good thing. The Sunday paper used to have a couple of coupon inserts but no longer – at least not down this way. Hope your mom is better today. Hugs to you both.

  2. Ah Carol, that wasn’t my picture. I sent you the waterfall one and the one of lobster’s . I don’ t know who sent you that one. My feet are fat little stubby ones lol. Bartering is an excellant idea.It’s a beautiful sunny day here, I hope it is there too.

  3. I have bartered a little. I have done paperwork at work for those who feel they are not particularly good with mandatory reviews, other paperwork as well..some of it a real pain. The guys didn’t feel as though they had the computer skills or language so they came to me. I wrung some around the house work from them in return..like..caulk my tub area for me..or..can you get up there and change the bulbs in that high place for me..help me haul stuff out of the closet to the dump. etc.

  4. I have to say we will see all too soon that considering our neighbor in these times isn’t just a nice concept but a means to survive. I know that it’s written that it’s more blessed to give than receive and you show the wisdom of that in your actions. I am so blessed at the testimonies of heard of you and others that do something for someone else when they themselves are knowing difficulty. Thank you my friend.

  5. I can’t say I’ve done any bartering, but it’s a great way to do things. The store I shop at still has both the coupon box and the bulletin board for posting ads, etc. Hope it stays.

  6. Yes, I DO barter with people who have pianos that need tuning. I’ve bartered for cheese, meat, computer services. I am about to barter with a lady who does excellent oil portraits for my hubby’s birthday or father’s day. M is only 13 for a short time and a portrait captures that forever!

  7. One creative lady that goes to our local food store had her "Avon" brochures available there…next to the real estate magazines. Most of the adds on the wall have to do with people selling something.We’ve bartered services a few times through the years…but most of our helping out was just the way our church family all help one another out where a need arises and had nothing to do with keeping track or exchanging a service for service. I do think it is a great way of dealing and helping one another out, though. One friend with serious health issues had horrendous health bills and her husband often bartered his trade services with others to keep down expenses and it worked quite well.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

