THE DOVES ARE BACK

Standard
This morning I heard the doves calling. First far away
and then closer. My LOUD cardinal is back too.
Yesterday The ROBIN made it’s appearance here
and I feel some hope for the first time
that Spring is just around the corner. (Click to enlarge these)
 
They do look pretty skinny, so I will make sure to
leave out something for them to snack on. My trip to
the river was interesting. Seems parts are higher
than I thought. NO FLOODING like last year though
so far. WHEW I know some are really relieved over that.
This odd pair came right up to me so I know they are used to people.
The kids have been feeding them popcorn as their "trash" that I
had to pick up was evident. This little park is two blocks from my house.
That little deck is used in the summer for musicians to play jazz.
.   
It is surrounded by a nice stone wall. You can see how green the grass is there
already.  Our town has so many bridges in it. I count at least 9 and there are
probably more. Most of them small.   Here is one that is close to my house, it has been
rebuilt and made wider and taller than before. Funny when we were kids it was low
enough to lean over. No one worried about it and no one fell over it.
  
This is near the apts by the downtown parking lot SUE.
Looks so strange to have it there. It is nearly as high as
my head. No way a small person can fall OVER IT.
But look what is near it… not 15 feet away..
 
That has been that way forever. No barriers and no signs.
A person can walk right up to it. The water is high and very
powerful there.  You fall in and you are moving pretty fast down the river.
Floodgates are closed right now.. This one was used last year when
the river got so high. You can barely see it on the left side there.
I ventured farther to the major park and saw NO wild geese anywhere.
      
Only one place where sandbagging was evident. It sure looked
high just about everywhere.   Today more of the same clear sunny day
but warmer. I can deal with that!! 
Mom has had several good days in a row. We are watching everything
that she eats and she still hasn’t got much appetite to speak of.
Her breathing is some better and she must be perking up
some because she asked me yesterday
" HAS CANDY GOT MUCH SALT IN IT"???  LOL
It cracked me up!! 
 
HOPE  YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT SUNDAY!!
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

14 responses »

  1. Loved the pictures, It looks a lot like our little town, right down the the park where musicians play in the summer. I just took a ride around the block here and the river is high, all the piers are under water. I didn’t like seeing that but it’s still in it’s banks and hope it stays there.Glad mom has had good days lately and hope it continues that way. That was cute her asking if candy has salt in it. I think that was a hint don’t you lol.You guys have a great day.HugsSherry

  2. Really great photos. Glad to hear your mom is getting her sense of humor back. I will continue to pray for you both.Love ya,Al

  3. Enjoy the photos thanks for sharing them. Mom must be getting her appetite back!! Glad she is doing better. Enjoy your Sunday. Hugs, Pat

  4. what a great tour and how much like Spring these are Sis. Loving the pictures. Glad you had time to get out there and enjoy yourself.

  5. I enjoyed the visit to your part of town The pictures are great! I am glad mom is feeling a bit better. Nah, candy doesn’e have much salt, only lots of sugar. Let he have a tiny piece if you can.Hugs to you and mom.

  6. Oh…yes…LOL…it does sound like your mum is perking up. My mother’s appetite is increasing and it is a blessing to see. I hope she gains weight by the next doctor visit, and that both of our mums continue to improve. I love our spunky ladies.The pictures are great, Carol… and I enjoyed touring your area through them…and getting more tastes of Spring.Love and hugs,Beth

  7. Good to hear that your Mom is feeling better. I know just the smell of the thawing ground is exciting. Spring is coming!

  8. So nice to see your pictures and hear that your mom has had some good days. When a person has been ill the good days are really something to treasure. I always want spring to be not just a renewal for nature but for me…I’m really believing for that this year…God knows after a long cold winter I could use it!

  9. Great pics and yes, I do recognize some of them. For those of you who don’t know, CarolDee and I grew up together in this small town. Always good to see parts of it again. Glad your Mom is doing better.

  10. sooo glad to hear that Mom is feeling a bit more spunky. WHEW!Love your photos of the town. Thanks for sharing! ttfn

  11. Those pictures of Michigan right??? My only trip abroad was many years ago to Canada and Michigan……..lovely pictures…….

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

