UP OR DOWN??

Standard
DUMB QUESTION OF THE DAY!!
Is there a rule for UP OR DOWN? Today mom and I got into
a disagreement on a stupid thing like the utensils in the
dish drainer. All the things going on in the world,  we
have to "DISCUSS" whether the spoons, knives and forks
should face up or down in the dish drainer holder. Thinking
Good Grief.. who the heck cares? Mom has the old
habit of putting them in there with the spoon side down.
My way is handle down.  I can see her point though,
If you pick them up then you are getting them dirty
by placing your hands on them. I know I place the knives with the sharp
blades down though, learned that lesson the hard way.Embarrassed
I guess this is one of those "ASK MARTHA" questions. Wink
 
I have seen people not even
use that draining cup at all. I have seen them lay the whole
bunch on a dish towel to dry. Mom says they did that in the
old days. Those were the days BEFORE a drainer was invented.
 
I find it is the little things now that
make us crazed because we are creatures of habit. We do things
the way WE DO THEM.. and it’s hard to re learn a new way.
We always
always leave night lights on in the house. Makes it easier to
maneuver around without your glasses on at night. I am
blind without my glasses, so this helps. When I lived in my
apartment or house I HAD to have it dark. The only light was
the digital clock I had. When I moved to Michigan I got
really blasted by my sister that I was a "FAST" driver. I didn’t think
I was, but coming from a large town to a really small one, I had to re-learn
a more laid back way of getting around. I did laundry on the weekends,
people who work a lot do the laundry on their days off, mainly the weekend.
Here it was anytime you wanted to. NO special day. Took some getting
used to. We adapt as we go I guess.
MOM is now adapting to a whole new routine. Since she has been ill,
she doesn’t get around as easily and things in her life have changed.
I mentioned several things that might help her out and she was surprised
that it did make life easier. I wasn’t shocked because after all I had been
helping people out for years and KNEW what WORKED and what didn’t.
I say you are never too old to learn a new thing.. your mind should always
be open to new ideas. It does keep us young. Smile
Well enough of my rambling for the day. 
 
 I will wrap this up by saying
that the news of a young vital woman dying from a bump on the head has
shocked us all. Life is short and we should all take and learn a lesson from
this untimely death. WEAR A HELMET.. IT CAN SAVE YOUR LIFE!!
My thoughts and prayers go out to the entire family.
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT THURSDAY!!
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

10 responses »

  1. Yes, I understand, as my mother and I have been adapting to one another’s ways as well. She has always been very regimented and has days to do certain things down to an art. I did some of that for my home life raising my children, and in teaching, but not so strictly speaking. Maybe some of that is generational? As you know, from taking care of others, getting older also makes one more set in their ways because of the necessity of have order and structure to help over the humps of aging. Health issues can exacerbate that. Whether the need for system regularity, or taking certain medicines, or hours you function better…all need to be considered. If I didn’t have my own issues I would be more flexible… but do my best to take the burden off my mum where I can. When she was so sick that I had to fix all her meals, and take them to her in bed, I tried to do it all "her way" and was so exhausted and frustrated I had to tell her lovingly that I could not do that. It was more my expection of myself, I think, but I soon saw how unrealistic it was.It was one reason we had separate kitchens…so to speak…with her having a kitchenette. We realized how differently we did things and how independent we both were about that, and made that decision before we moved in together. Anyway, now we are on a role. If I fix her something I prepare it my way but look for ways that I know she likes things and incorporate that, like eggs over easy more often than not at breakfast when I was doing them all. I give her a few choices with drinks for meals and always try to make it well balanced in a way that will appeal to her. How I wash the dishes, or lay them, will be my way in my kitchen, and she respects that. If I am downstairs and do things for her, I try to do that as she would like without being too minute about it unless she specifically request it, I know it, or feel inclined to ask. We communicate and we work with each other. I don’t think any of us can ask more than that. I find it helps my mother to understand when I explain why I can or can’t do something or why I think it best and I hear her out on why she thinks its best…just as you do. For the most part…neither of us change…lol. Btw…I face them down…but that is because I like them all facing one way, (same with dollar bills) and had that same problem with poking myself with a knife before when I had it up. I did think of the hand prints but it didn’t prevent me from putting them up till the knife incident. Wishing you and your mother a very blessed Thursday. You know I am praying.

  2. It is not easy being a caregiver. You get tested to the limit and sometimes it is hard to hold it all in. I know. You are doing an excellent job taking care of your mother and you are to be commended for that.As far as the silverware, I put it in handle side down, always have, always will. lolHugs to you and mom.

  3. They – whoever that is – say that using the dishwasher keeps us healthier than hand drying. That, to me, is the ultimate answer to up or down, etc. You have a great day! One day until Spring!

  4. Good morning, Sis. I have never in my life had a dishwasher. There have been a few times when I wish I did have one..holidays and when the children are here. other than that, it seemed a waste of space. I can afford one and actually did NOT have the space until the kitchen was remodeled. But the place they reserved in the cabinetry for the dishwasher at the time, I felt would be put to better use as storage. So, I still don’t have one.

  5. That’a debate that goes on forever. I used to put them up and hubby wanted them down. Watched at school as they ran them through the dishwasher and the put them down in there containers. You and you mom are doing quite well together it seems. It’s a tough thing taking care of someone but you are doing great. Hugs

  6. Funny you two discussing that…….. I don’t use a drainer so mine are all laid out… unless we use the dishwasher and then it’s all mixed up. Take care! ttfn

  7. I don’t know about yours, but my dish drainer cup can get pretty grungy fast, so I NEVER put the silverware with the tines down. I do, like you, put sharp knives that way, but mostly just lay them flat in the drainer. If you put the handles down, you can still grab them by the handles to take them out if you’re careful. My hubby puts them in every which way, which drives me nuts.

  8. Hmm, I think we usually put them up but I can’t really say why. I think our reasoning has been that if they are all down they tend to get tangled up and hard to take out again but that’s not my gospel according to dishwashers LOL!

  9. I put silverware in with the handle down. It makes it so much easier when it comes to putting it away. Never thought about it until you brought it up. Now I’ll always think of you when I empty the dishwasher. LOLSounded like a very freak accident to me. Feel so bad for her family.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

