THURSDAY HAPPENINGS..

Standard
I thought I woke up to THUNDER. It sounded like it.
More rumbling and then voices. I knew that was
not the weather but trouble somehow. It was not even
daylight yet. I laid there and wondered if I should get
up and see or just let it pass me by and go back to sleep.
    
MORE NOISE  WHAT THE ??? One truck after another arrives.
Phone ringing that early in the morning.. This cannot
be good..
Neighbors have NO WATER.. Do we?? YES.. we do..
better start saving it.. it could get complicated
and be a very long day. So I gather water in everything
I have handy.  One guy
knows everything.. some guys know nothing.. they just drive the
truck. What I found strange out of the whole thing was that it took 8 men
over 5 hours straight to finish this project, ONLY about 3 really worked.
I kept watch occasionally of the progress.  I can see one supervisor, but
many many of the guys just stood around and watched. One even laid on the
ground and rested a bit. Most of the workers were NOT young, four had gray
hair. They jackhammered a hole and then..low and behold…
UH OH… they had to start over and make another one.. only larger.  
Pretty soon the whole section was a watery mess. It reminded me of the
cartoon of the man in the hole and many men around it watching him.
ALL OF THEM getting paid for one guy working.  Hmmmmm I just wonder…Thinking
ANYWAY.. it was a distraction in my day and it was a beautiful day at that.
High 60’s and sunny can’t ask for more than that!!! Sun The air smelled so good.
The birds loved the birdbath. Squirrels scampered around all over. Kids
were playing catch in the vacant lot.
A wonderful SPRING DAY…  Hope your day was a good one too..
 
HOPE YOU ALL WILL HAVE  A GREAT FRIDAY!!!!
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

13 responses »

  1. Our neighbor had some mess and guess what? They had to trash half his driveway over a couple days and we had to go without water for a half day…the left and the neighbor’s driveway still isn’t fixed…yikes, I’d hate to be that guy! We have another winter storm advisory with snow possible…sigh, I hope when everyone else has summer we won’t still be making snowmen!

  2. Not the kind of noise you want to wake up to but glad it wasnt something worse then what it was.Hope its all fixed and the mess cleaned up.enjoy your weekend

  3. I have always been amazed at the waste the city creates by hiring too many people or not putting the ones they have to better use. Sending a crew of however many and most of them standing around while the one or two men do the work is a waste of city money.

  4. It is the same way here. In the summer the city hires the kids (boys) of the city workers to do summer work. This keeps it all in the family. Then they have an adult supervisor and they all stand around and watch him do all of the work. They drink one can of pop after another.Hugs to you and mom.

  5. WOW! I don’t think it was very nice of them to wake you up so early. Don’t they know that you need rest? I’m glad that you got some water stored before they shut you down. Did they shut you down? Of course no body knew what was going on…You didn’t see a woman on their crew did ya? tee hee ha ha I’m so loving this weather even the rain this morning, you could hear the robins singing for their breakfast. I hope you have a fabulous day! xoxo

  6. No fun waking to all that noise, except that it wasn’t about your water, but someone else’s. <whew> Enjoy your Friday.

  7. At least YOU still have water. I wonder if it had something to do with the entire sewer??!! You know how OLD that system must be. The city never gets around to replacing old stuff…until it breaks. Oh well, as long as you have water and plumbing. Those guys should just be grateful they still have jobs…

  8. Over the years, we had 7 water main breaks in front of our house. Finally when they redid our street, they replaced the old pipe and this winter was the first in years that there wasn’t a break. This may become an annual event for you. Sunny today, but they’re still talking S for this weekend…and I don’t mean sun or spring!

  9. Glad you have water…..I used to supervise over 100 folks and if they are not supervised they would also be laying on the ground and watching one worker. What happened to us…..Well I have work to do but maybe I’ll go lay down instead..LOL

  10. Hey! You never said if all that water collecting was a necessity or not? As far as workers, that’s the way of it, what youve described. Papa used to be the head of trucking at an Agregate company. He said you could send out all the dump trucks 5 minutes apart and they’d all come back together…

  11. Your blog says beautifully what I tease K about all the time! That would be…men standing around talking. THEY talk about women always talking? Whenever there is an accident, or construction projects, what do men do? They do just as you said…they get in groups and talk about it while a hand full do the work. It doesn’t matter if it’s the police in traffic jams, and accidents, or workmen as in your picture. LOL I won’t get started on the government waste.. and cringe thinking about it on a federal level…as they give themselves more power and job security.Thanks for your visit and suggestion on the chair. I have to check out the site you mentioned, as its not in my network. Carol…I completely understand about not having the time to comment regularly and marvel at how much you are able to accomplish.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

