SEA PORK and BEANS!!

Standard
(googlephoto)
WELL some of us are going beachcombing to see what we can
find. Many of us are really pretty expert at it.  I am not! Sue has much experience
on the west coast, but I think she might get some surprises hunting
on the beaches of Florida.  I love sea glass and how it looks but in
 my research I came across something called  SEA PORK..
HOW ODD Thinking Another called SEA BEANS… (thus the PORK & BEANS title)
Here is the SEA PORK…
"Sea pork is a kind of tunicate, named because it resembles salted pork,
more or less. It comes in all colors and is unmistakable when found on the
beach. In their adult form (which is the way we find them), tunicates are
simple marine animals that essentially take water in, filter it and discharge it."
Sounds like what a KIDNEY does to me.!!  Wink
HERE IS A SEA BEAN photo www.seabean.com
Sea beans, also called “drift seeds” are seeds or fruits, many from tropical
 rain forests, that have found their way into the sea and have washed up on the beach,
 often after drifting at sea for many years and traveling thousands of miles.
 Beachcombers who search the beaches for sea beans often refer
to themselves as “drifters.” Sea beans are special because they have hard shells
 that resist the penetration of salt water and they contain air, which allows them
 to float. Some are able to take root in their new environment.
Because there are so many different kinds of seed, fruits and other plant
parts that wash up on the beach, identifying them can be a challenge.
One of the most easily recognized sea bean is the coconut."
READ MORE about all these beachcombing treasures  HERE.. 
########################################################################
RIGHT now I am laughing out loud as the national weather is telling of snow
falling in Michigan at a pretty heavy pace in my county. Sure is nice here
in FLORIDA!!! 
Where’s my darn hat?? I can’t go out without my hat!  Best get going the day is
wasting away… 
###########################################################################


glitter-graphics.com

 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

15 responses »

  1. It’s supposed to get better here but not Florida better! Some very interesting stuff there on the beach don’t you think? Never thought I’d see sea pork and beans!

  2. Wow that is some beautiful stuff! I wish I was there, I would have to have a miner’s hat the one’s with the lights, cuz it would be hard for me to stop hunting. I could stay there all day and night!

  3. Yeah, well, whole you guys were out beach combing I caught lunch. I blogged it. I’d eat that Sea Pork if it had beans, LOL!Love ya!!

  4. Enjoyed the article and the beachcombing. The sea-beans were new to me and it made the walk, with such great company, even nicer… along with finding something new, sea beans! I think I’m ready to sit back in my lounge chair, having a cold drink to sip in the shade, a good book in my hand, (you know the one), and a bit of fruit to nibble on.

  5. I am having so much fun. The weather I left at home is yucky. There is snow on the ground and some poor soul is going to have to shovel my walks while I am gone.

  6. Ah… beach combing… I’ll be doin’ that, too, come two weeks from now. Tho where I’m at doesn’t have many shells and washed up stuff. If there is, they clean it off really early in the morning…That stuff does look gross… yeck!

  7. This definitely the time to visit FL. Hard to believe it can change so drastically with hurricanes at other times of the year. Enjoying the warm sun and sounds and smells of the ocean. If you ain’t here, you ARE square!

  8. I’m with Sherry! I decided not to make the trip because we had such perfect spring weather. It’s now cold and very windy so I’m outta here. Meet ya on the beach to look for sea beans!

  9. How cool is that? I never heard of either one, but that may be because I’m not exactly close to any "sea". I’m going out there with a bucket and see how much I can find. hee hee

  10. The snow they predicted for here failed to materialize. Thank you God. But I could use some of that warnth. I have to get to Sherry’s before she leaves without me. Interesting finds on the beach. Learn something new all the time.

  11. yeah I’m glad we are all in Fl. too. It’s supposed to snow there in my town tonight. Ha ha! Can’t get me! Me and her are in Florida!!!

  12. Finally made it here, whew got a lot of catching up to do and I left just in time to miss the cold and that dreaded four letter word SNOW!!! ugh. Now i’m going to look for some pork n beans. Love Ya and thanks for inviting me. Hugs, Pat

  13. Well, I don’t think it was fair to have to fly home to work. Have to stay on the boss’s good side ya know. At least I no longer look white, my co-workers were so jealous of my tan!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

