ROAD TRIP!!

Standard
READY FOR A ROAD TRIP??!!
 
FOR years I have heard of the hurricanes coming into Florida
and causing so much devastation. The words "Evacuating the KEYS"
comes to mind. I often thought it would be neat to actually SEE
what the KEYS are all about. Yes, there are other tourist attractions
such as Disney World and EPCOT and such.. but I always wondered
about the KEYS…
 
The Florida Keys got their name from the Spanish word cayo, or island.
Ponce de Leon discovered the Keys in 1513, but it was not settled for
 hundreds of years. The islands were left to pirates. The native tribes of
Calusa Indians died out in the 1800s as Spanish settlers came to the area
with agricultural business; Key limes, pineapples and other tropical fruits
were the first exports.  KEY INFO..
 
I found out there are many "keys" there such as KEY LARGO, KEY BISCAYNE,
and of course KEY WEST.. the southernmost KEY. More Keys  than I ever imagined…
I counted 62!! I guess you could
call them cities or towns or KEYS! Key West is known for it’s Naval Air Station,
being a seaport for cruise ships and it’s historical link to writers Ernest Hemingway and
Tennessee WIlliams.  The Keys run only 126 miles long but take a long long
time to drive through sometimes taking up to four hours. Surprised
 
Here is a dessert that is famous for this area of FLORIDA  (click the link)
just look how high that meringue is!!
 
This view of the 7 mile Bridge which was closed in 2008 to only walking and
biking looks typical of a sunset in the KEYS.
Now I don’t mind visiting the KEYS but living there..
I don’t think so.. too close to things such as snakes and
alligators etc for my taste. IN Key Largo there is a neat
lodge that is UNDERWATER.,.YEP click that link and you
won’t believe it..It’s an underwater habitat.. but you can
stay there…you better know how to swim though.. before
you can stay in it.
Well the whole day will be eventful.. I sure know I will
be seeing things I never thought I would see. Time is flying
our spring break will soon be over.. we must get busy.
Now if I
can only find that extra set of memory cards I bought so
I can take tons of pictures I will be all set!! Camera  Wink
###########################################################
 
 
 
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

10 responses »

  1. Hi Carol: Very interesting info there about the Keys of Florida, I never knew there was so many. And the Key Lime Pie is one of my hubby’s favorites and I have made it before. matter of fact I have all the ingredients to make him one soon.That underwater resort is something else but I think I will stay on dry land. I love the water but to go down that far would be a little scary.Take care hun and be sure to wear your sunscreen……………Rusty ((HUGS))

  2. Good eats and tremendous beauty…nice! I’ve been to Florida but it’s been a long time and I never visited the Keys. We had things warm up nicely today but not like that! Thanks for the tour!

  3. That was a fabulous road trip! I enjoyed walking on the bridge, and visiting the underwater lodge, but would not want to spend the night there. I’m too claustrophobic. Now it is time to sit down and have a piece of that Key Lime Pie!I am loving the links and information! Beautiful job, Carol.

  4. Nice to visit but like you I don’t want to live here. I lived through hurricanes when I lived on the east coast and it’s SCARY to say the least especially if it lands shore at night time and the howling winds Ugh. So lets eat the key lime pie and take a few pictures and leave. Thanks for the links you provided.

  5. I really enjoyed the trip with you Carol. I am ready for a piece of that key lime pie. It really looks temping.Hugs for you and your mom.

  6. Have fun on your "road trip" Cant wait to see your photos. I’m not sure about the underwater lodge. I have enough trouble doing the tunnel from Canada to the US. SPOOKY. I would like a piece of pie however. :-)Have a great day and enjoy the sun!!

  7. I’ll go on the road trip, have a piece of the key lime pie, but no way will I stay at the underwater lodge. No Way! Too claustrophobic !

  8. Our family went to Key West many times—what a cool place! We even spent Christmas there once. Loved the old architecture and jungle atmosphere. The beaches were great too! I’d live on the keys, except during hurricane season—I think they often get the brunt of the storms that miss the rest of FL.

  9. It sounds like you’re having a GREAT time! I love hearing about new places and haven’t been to Florida ever. NOW I want to go, especially for the beach combing! I’ve got to get me some of those sea beans!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

