GOING GREEN –SAVING THE EARTH..

Standard
If you were lucky enough to see the OPRAH show on
Wednesday then you will know what I am about to
talk about. If not go  HERE…  READ IT.
I was shocked
and amazed. In a way a whole sea full of trash made
some kind of sense. They have seen this garbage floating
in the ocean and investigated it. Ever wonder what happens
after a hurricane? Where does all that go in the ocean?
It has to be somewhere. The way they talk there are patches
of this sea "garbage" floating in lots of places.
This poor turtle literally "grew" around a plastic band that encased him
when he was young.  Sad
NO WONDER
our oceans are changing. The animals survival is totally
threatened, but not the way in which we thought.  After seeing this piece,
I felt completely guilty
and embarassed that I used anything plastic and anything
that I don’t recycle, and anything that chemically can cause harm.
 I wish they could show this to every single
school child in the whole USA and then some. I mean if we
start when they are young, teaching our children about what is going on
on the planet…maybe just maybe there will be survival for them
and their ancestors. The cutting open of dead sea animals
and seeing what they ingest.. well that was totally sickening.Sick
I sure learned a whole lot in that 60 min. show. I will be readng labels
and looking or alternatives from now on to help our environment
any way I can. I am only one person but maybe others saw
that show and we can all help best we can.
MORE CAN BE FOUND HERE.
HOPE YOU GO OUT AND ENJOY YOUR DAY
and MAKE IT A GREEN ONE.
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

8 responses »

  1. Our day today was so totally beautiful however it gets much much colder as of tomorrow on…ah well, enjoy each day as it comes. Have a great night my friend.

  2. Cut plastic can and bottle holders even if you’re recycling them. I actually put several sheets of paper in plastic bags to stiffen them up so I can run them through the paper shredder. A lot less damage occurs to animals with plastic shreds than a whole bag. The sad thing is there just really isn’t any real way to safely dispose of any plastic material, and unlike here, some places don’t have recycle centers that take plastic.Love ya!!

  3. Good Morning Sis…My boys came home while in grammar school and told me about those plastic riungs they’d learned about in school and the 6 pk. of soda’s with the plastic holders..to cut those so poor birds wouldn’t get them on their necks and so on. I ever forgot that. They used to tell kids things in school. Maybe they are agan, about recycling. Our new as of 2 mo. ago program, accepts it all..plastic too in a single stream. They sort. You just use the 55 gal container they provide.

  4. I saw bits and pieces of this show, but didn’t see this pic of the turtle. Wow. I’ve been trying to help by using canvas shopping bags and recycling all of the plastic bags we get. I was surprised when we visited S on the Nimitz that they recycle almost everything that is in the trash—they have guys that actually do it all—sort through all of it and recycle or incincerate everything! Good job, US Navy!

  5. That is SOO wrong!! That poor turtle!! There are so many people who don’t realize what they are throwing away or where??

  6. Remember when we were kids how we had "do not litter" drilled into our heads? Too bad there’s so many other social issues today that this message is overlooked. We do all the recycling thing, both here and at home. It’s so easy and it’s so important. I’m having a very hard time looking at that poor turtle.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

