FOR DAD…

Standard
 img218/9585/bloemenlijn19ec.gif
Today would have been my Dad’s 90th birthday! We lost Dad some 15 years ago on a cold, snowy, January 1st. Things here have sure changed in the past 15 years. Mom was forced into being the head of the house.That was pretty shocking to her, since they had been married 50 years and he had always handled just about everything there was about our life. Mom had no idea what she was in for..it took many people to set her straight as to just what all DAD handled.
 
Dad drove..Mom didn’t.. she was “old fashioned” I guess..so now she depended on others to get her around.He handled the car repairs and the bill paying..in cash always..if he could.. DAD did all the repairs, handled all the household chores that were too big for her..like painting the house and snowblowing and grass mowing. It is typical of the “Southern Way” Mom said. The MAN handles everything and the woman raises the children and tends to the cooking and household duties.
Mom and Dad both were raised in Tennessee.  They moved to Michgan to find work when they married and she was 19 and he was 25. Dad worked hard in many jobs until he started at the
job he held for over 45 years. It was very hot, dirty and long hours. He would climb up a large tower every day, many times a day to help set molds and mix sand for molds for hot iron to be molded into car parts. He took us kids on a tour one time to show us where he worked and how the iron was poured. I was shocked at how dark and hot and dirty it really was. I had more admiration for his stamina after that visit than I had ever had before. I learned to be on time and not miss any days of work from my Dad’s example, I also learned to finish the job and not let it just be someone else’s responsibity. Dad taught me to paint houses ..his way..the right way…oil base and lots of it!
He also taught me to respect other people and that your word is
your bond and to treat others like you would like to be treated.
These things I carry with me…everyday….
I see a faraway look in my mothers eyes these days since she has been ill.
I know she misses him more than I do. I find comfort in knowing that someday
they both will be together. I just hope it is not too soon.
 

 There are so many little things you miss when a parent leaves you for a better place…too many to list…

HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAD …WE MISS YOU EVERY DAY !!!
 
img218/9585/bloemenlijn19ec.gif
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

3 responses »

  1. Your dad sounds like he was one of those quintessential fathers who were so important in building this country to what it is today. I’m familiar with his job too, since I spent one summer in the foundry. It seemed like the iron-pourers always had it tough. It was hot work, dangerous too (long-time iron pourers always had burn scars), and very dirty.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

