NEWS AND VIEWS

Standard
I sure am thinking and praying for those 30,000 people
in Santa Barbara fire zones. The thought of taking
that many people and possibly more and evacuating them
away  so quickly is just incredible. More and more shelters
are popping up according to the news this morning.
I was happy to hear that some of our Spaces family are
okay after violent storms over night too. Hope we all stay
that way.
 
Mom had a nice birthday with cake, albeit not the one
she is used to. She did not get the sugar sweet icing she
likes so much. Strawberries went on sale here from Ca. for
1.99 and that is pretty cheap for us.
 
She had strawberry
shortcake with whip topping. It was delicious! She thought it was
funny that since it was less sweet maybe she could have two pieces
instead of one! Wink She got them but they were small! Open-mouthed
We got several calls during the day and she was happy to talk to
friends and relatives. Towards nightfall the weather turned not so
nice and we thought we were in for it. Turned out it wasn’t that bad.
Big relief, most of it went south of us. Sorry ’bout that Carole.Sad
All day long my mind would come back to the fact that we had lost AL
and how fleeting life is these days. Things change in an instant, never to take things
for granted. Today it’s rainy and very windy and we can only hope it
doesn’t turn very violent. The city tests their weather sirens today and
hearing those tornado sirens might get scary if we hadn’t been warned
ahead of time.
GAS went from 1.99 to 2.16 then 2.25!! It is hard to keep up with it. Buy when
it’s low is what people seem to be doing here or at least out of town where
it is cheaper.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
 
Well not much more from here…
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT SATURDAY!!
 

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

10 responses »

  1. The cake does look good. I’m so glad she had a nice day and had several phone calls. I bet she did enjoy that. The couds don’t look so good though. We had storms here last night but was too dark to see the clouds. Hope it’s the end of it for awhile.Have a great day.Hugs

  2. Beautiful cake. I bet it was really good. I am glad your mother had such a nice day!The weather missed us entirely yesterday. Hooray for that.Hugs to you and mom.

  3. That cake looks yummy…bet she really enjoyed it. That reminds me that I should bake a cake for hubby’s birthday, which is in a few weeks—I always make a nice carrot cake (his favorite) with cream cheese frosting. Hope those storms don’t get you–I can see how that sky would make you nervous. They said the firestorm in SB was 100 yards from State Street! Can you believe that??? Glad I don’t live there now…I wonder if Santa Barbara Music is still there???

  4. Between the fires and the storms it’s been quite a week for many in the United States hasn’t it? I love that cake! I think I would have been just fine with a cake like that! Our gas has taken a jump too and I have to admit that I dread the though of it going right back to the the prices we were looking at before…there’s just no reason for it that I can see. Well, it’s a bright and sunny morning here so far so I’m thankful for that, have a great weekend!

  5. Oh what a great looking cake. How nice for her to receive so many calls. That cloud is a nasty looking thing. Have a nice weekend.

  6. Very yummy and pretty cake! I’m so glad she had a good birthday and was reminded of all that love her with those phone calls. I went to Al’s site, and because I didn’t have him I was only able to see the comments he left on other’s pages. What a thoughtful and sweet man. Our comments left behind is very telling of who we are. I wished I had known him.

  7. The cake looks delish! Wish I could have a piece right now. Gas prices around here have taken the same jumps. I didn’t know if it was just because of the weekend or if it was going up everywhere. This morning it was $2.18. Yes, I’m still shocked about Al’s passng. I guess you got to live everyday like it’s your last. Got the race on, sure hope Kyle stays right where he is right now.

  8. Sorry to hear about Al.. Happy Mother’s Day to your Mom… Your cake looks wonderful. I love the colors of your site. hugs, lottemae

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

