TOOTHPICK THERAPY???

Standard
TOOTHPICK THERAPY?
 HOLY COW would you ever think of putting a toothpick into your skin as
a way to relieve PAIN??
I saw this article and just sat there with my mouth open.
NO NEEDLES.. That is GREAT!
“In the simulated acupuncture group, practitioners mimicked needle acupuncture
 by using a toothpick in a needle guide tube — poking at traditional pressure points
without breaking the skin.
Participants received 10 treatments over seven weeks, at the end of which
dysfunction and symptom scores improved equally among the three treatment
arms.”But the real surprise was that acupuncture was effective even when
the treatment didn’t break the skin. “It’s not necessary to penetrate
the skin. There’s no advantage to tailoring and no advantage to
using a needle. Why?” Cherkin said. “It throws open the question of how does this work.”
There are no answers to that question yet, but some theories persist.
It’s possible that the “superficial” acupuncture still kicks off a cascade
of physiological processes that result in relief, the authors wrote.
Or the benefit may come from “nonspecific effects such as therapist conviction [or]
patient enthusiasm” WHO KNEW you could get relief from pain without
puncturing the skin with a needle. I would try it!
 
I put this here on my space because I myself have used ACCUPRESSURE for
years. I took classes at the local community college in Ca. when I lived
there. The woman sold us a book that went with the classes. She taught us
how to use our fingers, rubber balls, and items like pencil erasers and
such to use for pain relief.  T H E Y   W O R K  !!  As long as you are putting
the correct pressure on the correct pressure point then you will get relief most all
the time. I use a rubber ball a lot. I have two. They have just the right
amount of give to not be painful. I paid 79 cents way back when…
if I lost them I would go out and buy them again if I could find them. They
work wonderfully. I highly recommend using accupressure for just about everything
that gives you pain and discomfort. Easy to do and it works too.. can’t ask for
better than that. NO needle acupuncture well that is something I wouldn’t mind
looking in to. Toothpicks are really cheap and I could learn to do it
myself. It may sound wierd, but I bet it works.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
 (Now back to our regular blog format..Smile)  LOL
Yes indeed the gas station was busy, the store ws busy. the post office
was busy. you would’ve thought there was a run on everything
Tuesday. Some days are just like that I guess. I know a big storm front is coming and
lots of people lay in their staple supplies before one hits. Never hurts to be
ready, I say. Didn’t get much done in the garage yesterday, after mowing
I was too tired to move stuff around. I did manage to trim our quince bush
some. That 8 inches of snow we had fell right into the middle of the tree
or bush and now it is low to the ground and fuller than it was in the winter
time. Limbs were so low I could hardly mow under it. Very unusual. It is nearly
in full bloom . The frost  YES I SAID FROST .. we had for two nights
in a row doesn’t look like it did too much damage to it. The peony bushes, however,
are drooping some. Time will tell if they even bloom this year at all.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
 
Well nothing much more from here..
 


glitter-graphics.com

 
 
 
One response »

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

