TRAFFIC NIGHTMARE

Standard
PICTURE THIS.. ( photos by me)
The first time in a long time you get to go to the big city in
great weather and everything is fine and THEN this happens..
the MAJOR FREEWAY is SHUT DOWN IN BOTH DIRECTIONS.
ACKkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk  Surprised  Surprised
Not to mention that this is near 5 o’clock and traffic is heavy. Semi’s everywhere.
Major chaos. All you want to do is GET out of THERE! ConfusedEvery which way you go is
completely congested or un-passable. Re-routing through the side streets of the city.
A whole mile long section closed. State and local police have their hands full as this
has JUST OCCURED and no one is HAPPY! Baring teeth  People were  stranded on side streets
unable to back up or turn around.
All the major shopping centers are located
RIGHT AT THIS mile long stretch. The MALL is at this closed section.
YOU WONDER what in the HECK could cause all this??
Construction work was being done and somehow due to sandy soil or some such
thing a major bridge SHIFTED!!  How does this happen? I mean YIKES!
NOT GOOD! So everyone is scrambling to close down the freeway and re route the whole
freeway through TOWN. Yours truly was stuck in the middle of it. EXCITING! Smile 
Not for Sis who was driving.Sad Can you call sitting still or 2 miles an hour driving??
Sis drives so I can take pictures …LOL  so you would think the camera would be clicking
away. Well some came out and others just glare, glare off the windshield.
It took us some time sitting in the Mall parking lot trying to figure out HOW
to get on the back streets to get out of town. WE dont’ know the city that well
and so we were like the other I-94 drivers just trying to GET someplace, any place!
 At least 45 minutes later we are on our way out of the city. GNARLED is a great word
for what it was. All knotted up! Gas was 2.35 a gallon, or more in some places,
and people were just barely moving burning it up!! Talk about tense.
ANYWAY that was my afternoon yesterday. Authorites are saying it could be
as short as 4 days and as long  5 weeks to FIX the problem. People in that
CITY are praying it is 4 days but not holding their breath!  SO SO glad I dont
live there and I sure am staying away from that mess.

HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY….mine will be far from
this place!!!!
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

13 responses »

  1. That is horrible! I so feel for you two and all the other poor drivers out there. Knowing me, I probably would have taken a pencil and paper and polled them all about wwhere they placed their hands on the steering wheel when they drove,Funeral arrangements for me would have to pend as my next of kin would have to be notifed. 🙂

  2. Yikes is right! I’m glad you made it out and back safe. It’s things like that which make me thankful to live in good ‘ol Montana. All the comforts of home yet it’s not big enough to suffer through that however things are expanding because people often migrate thinking they’re sick of the big city too then guess what? We end up with a big city too LOL…what can ya do?

  3. What a mess! Reminds me so much of the dailey traffic crunch in Dallas – morning and afternoon! One of the many reasons we left the big city. Traffic jams are unheard of here and that’s the way I like it. LOL at Rambling’s comment. Bet alot of those folks are waving to each other – if ya know what I mean. Road rage would definitely rear its ugly head in this!

  4. Where’s spell check when ya need it! dailey = daily, but you know that! 😉 And those folks doing all the waving don’t have their hands at 9 and 3!

  5. Eeek what a mess.! Aw heck what else did you have to do today lol. Glad you got home safe and sound though.HugsSherry

  6. Holy Cow! That really is a mess. Nice you finally got home all right. I’d stay away from that town too. Yuck.Hugs

  7. Oh my Carol, I am glad you are home safely after that nightmare. So glad it wasn’t in 90F weather. That would have been much worse, I’m thinking. Have an awesome weekend and love to both you and Mom.God bless……………..Rusty ((HUGS))

  8. OMG what a mess…nothing worse than being stuck in a traffic nightmare like this one…my nerves would be shot!Glad you are home safe and sound!

  9. I know how that feels………….been in a couple myself ………and nothing would move so i just dozed off to sleep…….ofcourse someone else was driving.

  10. That doesn’t sound like fun at all! It’s unusual to see traffic stopped in both directions like you had yesterday. Brings back memories of last summer when there was all that flooding around us and they closed the interstate. UGH! Thanks for the memory…NOT!

  11. What a mess! Glad you made it home eventually. Bet you won’t go that way for a while. Just be glad you won’t have to deal with our 100+ temps expected here this weekend! Whew! All that rain we had will have been for naught with all the heat we’ll be getting Sat and Sun.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

