TUESDAY NEWS

Standard
Here I sit avoiding the work that needs to be done.
I will get to it… eventually. It is pretty overwhelming
sometimes to go through so much and do it all alone.
How I wish my mother had the energy to help me decide
on certain things. She has no desire now. I knew I should
have done this several years back. Our basement is old
dark and gloomy.  Dad poured the cement basement floor
back in the 50’s, but the walls are rocks and mortar, and now
crumbling.  Yep….. not good!!
NO way they are up to today’s standards. Kids would NOT
love to play down there that is for sure. We hated it when
we were young. Back then there were something called
centipedes that used to be down there. I shudder when I think
of them.  They used to scare me to pieces.
 
I have memories
of DAD down there with a cedar chest he was working on.
He got the kit in Tennesee for several and built them himself.
Hours of sanding and varnishing them. I have the picture in my
mind. Mom says there is a picture of him working on them somewhere
here. I am on a hunt to find it. I haven’t found any "critters" down
there which is good for me. Helps me be able to  work and not be
skiddis that something will jump out on me.


glitter-graphics.com

Right now the biggest problem is the 12 paint cans down there in all
sorts of shape. Some have little and some are full. Dad left them and
now we have no place to take them to recycle. Before you start..
I know… put sand in the remaining and then dump them in the garbage.
I don’t have the sand right now.. I dont have cat litter.  Don’t want to
buy any either. SO .. what you think I should do with them????
So old they are not good for real use either. I guess I should have
gotten rid of them when we DID have curb side city clean up day.
Too late now! Sad….
Well enough of that must get crackng on the day.. Wil take some
pics if I fnd anything exciting.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Dancing With The Stars finale tonight.. I predict GILLES will take it.
I haven’t seen a whole lot but he has been consistent since the
beginning. He DESERVES IT!
 
IT’S SPRING SO GO OUT AND ……
 


glitter-graphics.com

 

 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

11 responses »

  1. Good for you to even tackle the basement cleanup. Think of it like "how do you eat an elephant? — one bite at a time." You’ll get it done in little spurts of energy in no time at all.

  2. You will get it finished Carol. Don’t let it get you down. I am in the same fix as you with the paint cans. I was told to take the lids off and let them dry out then you can safely put them in the garbage pickup. I hope that is so cause that is what I am doing.Hugs to you and mom.

  3. Hey Carol: Wish I lived handy then I could pop by and lend a hand cleaning but not with decisions, that would be your forte. How well I remember the centipedes when I was a kid, oh how I hated those things and would always get out of their way because I always felt they were coming after me. I still do the same thing if I spot one but I haven’t seen one in years. There is no hurry and it isn’t going anywhere so one bit at a time and before you know it, you will see bottom.Have a good day hun. God bless……………….Rusty ((HUGS))

  4. That does sound like a daunting set of tasks for you. We have some paint but it’s not that old yet so it’s not a pressing need to deal with it. I’m an avid hater of centipedes too. The ones we have here are relatively small but when we lived abroad they could grow quite large and their bite was dangerous…ugh!

  5. I agree with what Beth Marie said. That is, If you can get the lids off. I remember basements just like yours. Ours wasn’t much better, but we had spiders. I don’t ever remember seeing centipedes…thank goodness. Good luck and don’t think you have to finish it all in one day. I agree that Gilles will probably take home the mirrored ball, even though I’d rather see Melissa win. Too bad she did so badly last night. I didn’t like their dance at all. Cheryl and Gilles was waaaaaay better.

  6. Youre basment must be a lot like ours. Not fun going down there that’s for sure. I hope you find that pic of your dad. I like Shaun but they are all so good so I really don’t care who wins.Have a good day and do over do it.HugsSherry

  7. Sometimes this day to day thing is such an ordeal for homeowners. It is good to have spaces to just put stuff out there.

  8. Sounds like a busy day for you. I’ll be doing all sorts of cleaning this weekend if I’m up to it. I’m glad Papa takes care of the home owner stuff… it would be exhausting on my own.

  9. Some basements are really scary. You just never know what you’re going to bump into! Don’t have a clue what to do with old paint cans. Don’t work too hard,

  10. Hi Carol, basements are definitely one of my favorite places., rather gloomy id say. but the bright side you areth inking of getting it cleaned up it will get done eventually have a nice day……….and god bless

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

