CHOP CHOP CHOP

Standard
 It has been months of cold weather here, so the hairdo has
been longer than most years. I decided that since we may
hit 80 here today it was time to CHOP IT OFF! Open-mouthed  LoL
"Shearing the sheep" is something that comes to mind.
I like it short and boy it will feel good after a cold
long winter.
 
 I do remember the first time I got my long straight
hair cut off. SUE came to visit me from Illinois where she lived then,
and she had cut off her long blonde beautiful hair!! I was SHOCKED
but I liked the look. SO  she told me to take the plunge and
cut it off.. "it will grow back if you don’t like it."
So I made an appt with a place downtown. When we got there
A MAN was in there and he was the one who was going to
cut it.  A  M A N !! Surprised  Up until then a M A N  had never cut or
permed or did anything to my head!!
 
He proceded to wash it and then  R A Z O R cut it. I ALMOST
FAINTED.. hearing that razor CHOP away at my head.. jerking
it around. I  HATED that!!!   I liked the short hair just hated
the   R A Z O R !!!    UGHHH I shudder to think about it. Not
many people use that method that I have seen since then.
I have never had one since do it. I have had many many
stylists tell me NOT TO have anyone do that, as it really
hurts the hair somehow.  If anyone out there knows if that
is so true let me know. All I know is it was something I remember
to this day. 
Sue and I both have short hair ever since then. Easy to take
care of and a breeze to style if I want to. Living in Ca. with the
heat they have even in February and March, it was the best
thing I could have ever done. Funny the things that come to mind
sometimes.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
I was surprised to see that SHAWN JOHNSON won on DWTS.
I think they both were very surprised seeing their reactions!
Why should she be surprised.. she is a gold medal champion?!
Not predicting the outcome of American Idol.. I was so wrong
with DWTS.. I am keeping IDOL to myself! Wink
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
 
 
HOPE YOU ALL
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

15 responses »

  1. I have never had a razor cut. I have kept my hair short since my daughter was a baby. It was long when she was born but she was so fussy I didn’t have time to care for long hair.Hugs to you and mom.

  2. Well, I’m off on my LA adventure. Wish me luck and I’ll be back later Saturday, so there should be a Sunday or Monday post! Tah, tah!

  3. I wanted Gilles to win and I was glad they said (for once) that the vote was so close as to be almost a draw. 1% difference I think they said. Girl..you go with that haircut and strut that stuff!!! Razoring IS bad for the hair..glad the stylists usually don’t do that any more.Have a great day you two and here’s a hug! (((HUG)))

  4. Short hair is certainly much easier to take care of. Have had it for years and years. Little long right now but planning a chop job soon. Was a little surprised with the DWTS win but I like Shawn too. Had Gilles done better on the ‘free style’ it may have been a different story considering how close it was. They both deserved it but only one mirror ball award.

  5. Good luck with the hair cut. I know we love to be freshened up after the long dreary days of winter. About the razor cut. I always have it done. The reason I have a lot of fine hair. Sounds oxy-moronish. And it’s poker straight. If they cut too much with the scissors then I get the "feather look" going (see 80’s and 90’s haircuts). I’ve been told as long as the razor is clean and sharp there are no worries. It does take some getting used to for sure but it’s a way to take the bulk and help us to get the chunky styles of today. Take are and I do wish we could see a before and after photo. I know you wont but I do wish! (maybe just have sis take a photo of the back of your head?) ttfn

  6. I like my hair short too….wash and go! The best haircut I’ve ever had was by a male cross dresser!!!!! Wishing you and your mom a great day. Hope the day is to your likin’!

  7. I prefer short hair too. So after it’s done go out and dazzle the world. I was glad with the results of DWTS but it sure was close. What in the world will we watch now that DH is over, DWTS and AI is done???Gosh I might have to clean or something terrible like that.

  8. I’ve had short hair and now I have long hair. I like the ease of use for the short hair but it’s just way to high maintenance for me. I’d need to be at the stylist every 3 weeks to keep it the way I liked it. So, back to long hair and that’s where I’ve kept it for now. If I’m hot, I throw it up in a pony tail or my version of a little bun. I don’t know if I look as good with longer hair, but my pocket book likes it. To get highlights and a cut here in Houston costs about $150. That’s a lot of money by any standard.

  9. I prefer short hair too….wash and go like JoAnn. My fav since day 1 was Melissa but I have to admit I was shocked when Shaun, not taling away from her performance because she was good at the end but I was so sure Gilles would take it as he seemed to be the crowd favorite.Gee a lot of the shows are over now for the season, what to watch is getting harder. I must admit I am looking forward to Americas Got Talent coming on next month. Anyway hun, you have a great day. Hugs to you and Mom.God bless……………Rusty ((HUGS))

  10. ive had mine cut short for a really long time now. easy to clean no need to comb…………..just fingers do the thing…………….its good to have short straight hair……………….Its been a while since ive been to the city for a haircut………………so i have this electric trimmer I used to trim the earlocks…………..and a bit of the back…………….bad job but definitely beats having ear locks like winston churchill……………

  11. I’ve never had mine long but then my stylist is my wife so that keeps things nice and simple LOL! I always think to myself that the only difference between a good haircut and a bad one is a few days..more if it’s really bad…and a good hair cut.

  12. I remember my first "significant" hair cut. It was after my first child was born and at the prompting of my mother and I went to her male hairdresser. OMG!!! I looked like "Twiggy" from the 60s!!! Hairdresser. Fred, try to tell me I look loke Sandy Duncan…ya right. I had to host my Jennie’s Christening with this new cut. But yes, mother nature lent a hand as I let it grow back. Since I turned 50 ten yesrs ago my mother has been on the campaign called let the grey come in. (Let’s keep in mind tht she did not show her own grey whic is abeautufil white intil she was 80) I gave into her a couple of times but I was just not comfortable with what the grey did something evil to my complection. Maybe if I am blessed and see the white I will give it another try.

  13. Ever since menapause I have had short hair!!! LOL. I get so hot and with this thick head of hair I have it had to go!!! Been short now for a looooooong time! Easy to take care of and not HOT!!! Enjoy your new do. Love Ya, Hugs, Pat

  14. Good for you! Isn’t it liberating? I chopped my own I’m going to go have it cut and possibly highlighted. For the last 2 yrs my hair has darkened and is getting wavy like when I was little. So I really don’t know what to do with it. So this time I’m going to let the professionals handle it. Thay can’t do any worse than I did! haha!

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

