HAPPY MEMORIAL/ REMEMBRANCE DAY

Standard
Mom asked me why the veterans sell Poppies for Memorial day.
I really didn’t have a definite answer for her so I told her I would
look it up and tell her tomorrow.
Here we see a lot of the Orange poppies. The poppies that they
sell are red with a black center.
 (google images)
So here is why they use them… Taken from the link below

In 1915, inspired by the poem "In Flanders Fields," Moina Michael replied with her own poem:

We cherish too, the Poppy red
That grows on fields where valor led,
It seems to signal to the skies
That blood of heroes never dies.
She then conceived of an idea to wear red poppies on Memorial day in honor of those who died serving the nation during war. She was the first to wear one, and sold poppies to her friends and co-workers with the money going to benefit servicemen in need. Later a Madam Guerin from France was visiting the United States and learned of this new custom started by Ms.Michael and when she returned to France, made artificial red poppies to raise money for war orphaned children and widowed women. This tradition spread to other countries. In 1921, the Franco-American Children’s League sold poppies nationally to benefit war orphans of France and Belgium. The League disbanded a year later and Madam Guerin approached the VFW for help. Shortly before Memorial Day in 1922 the VFW became the first veterans’ organization to nationally sell poppies. Two years later their "Buddy" Poppy program was selling artificial poppies made by disabled veterans. In 1948 the US Post Office honored Ms Michael for her role in founding the National Poppy movement by issuing a red 3 cent postage stamp with her likeness on it."
 
I sure didn’t know all that, as old as I am, and  I should have. I buy the poppies all the time and never thought to ask exactly
why they are the symbol of Memorial day.  So now you all know. Hope your day is a good one.
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A SAFE AND..


glitter-graphics.com

 
 

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

14 responses »

  1. Hi Carol: This is another space I have devoted to the veterans who gave all and who continue to serve their country be they American or Canadian. A little more enlightenment about the poppy. I hope you enjoy it as it has been a labor of love for me.http://imagequeen23.spaces.live.com/ Take care my friend………………….Rusty ((HUGS))

  2. I have not heard that about poppies and appreciate that knowledge. Our veterans are such an amazing blessing to us all. They all deserve honor and I appreciate what you did on your space today, thank you.

  3. Thank you for bringing a little bit of history upfront for those of us that did not know about poppies. Happy Memorial Day.

  4. I never knew that…very interesting. I always buy them too. It’s a nice stamp too. Hope they get the race in today. I know I’ll be able to stay awake for it today…glad it wasn’t last night.

  5. Thank you for the info, I never knew all of those things, just bits and pieces. I hope you and mom have a great day.Hugs to you both.

  6. Great blog and I enjoyed learning about this tradition. Red poppies are beautiful but now I will look on them in a new light.Hugs

  7. I didn’t know about all of this either. Glad your mom asked and that you looked it up.Thanks for postingthis.HugsSherry

  8. Thanks for the "rest of the story"! Promises to be hot here today—but the "fuzz" from our poplar trees is blowing in the wind, so I probably won’t go outside much. That stuff really makes me sneeze. It’ll all be over in a day or so—it never lasts more than 2 weeks in the spring. Thanks goodness for that. Have a great Memorial Day!

  9. I have bought poppies for years and did not know that. Thanks for the info and a restful Memorial Day to you.

  10. thanks for the story of the poppies, I have one set growing in the corner of my yard and it had 5 pods in it and guess what today they all bloomed. Hope you had a good Memorial Day. Hugs, Pat

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

