SPECIAL PLACES

Standard
We all have them. A special place we love to visit or go to just chill out and
relax. Mine is anything water-related. When I lived in Ca. for all those years,
the place to go was Carmel or Monterey. I enjoyed Lake Tahoe area, but my
heart was always on the beach by the ocean. ANY CITY would do. When Sue
moved to Santa Barbara I was so jealous. She was RIGHT THERE on the
coast. It was easily available to her at any given time. ME.. I had to drive
hours to get to the ocean. I didn’t know how lucky driving those hours was.
When I moved back to Michigan, I still had the water, but it was not the roar
of the ocean waves. Their power is just so awesome. We have waves here
on our shores of Michigan. Sometimes they are pretty powerful too.
They just don’t compare to the PACIFIC OCEAN though.
 
(google images)
To be able to go there when you wanted to, well that was a treat.  When someone
was going, I was always happy to join in. Carmel was a quaint town, small
and very busy in the summertime. Small it is  a great tourist attraction,located in
Monterey county along with Monterey, the city.
This is where MONTEREY-JACK cheese got it’s start.
 
I RAMBLE.Embarrassed  I could talk a lot about my visits there over my 20 years time.
Some of my favorite memories in that area were driving down the whole
17 mile drive where the famous golf courses is.. PEBBLE BEACH. Trying to take pictures
and not fall into the ocean!! The look on my sister’s face when she saw the ocean for the
first time in her adult life. PRICELESS!  She proceded to lay on the beach and get as
red as a lobster! Went home to Michigan from her trip, running a fever and smelling
of cream that she had slathered all over her. ME. nahhhh won’t catch me sitting
in the sun..I was a lot smarter than that!! Wink She under-estimated the power
of the California sun!!
What brought this place to mind was seeing the news of deep
discounts in fares and prices for just about everything under the sun in HAWAII
now. Tourism is way down there and they are doing some crazy things
to get people to come and spend time in paradise.
I think I would love to see the PACIFIC from the other side on Hawaii
since I have seen much of it from the Ca. side. Maybe one day
when I get rich and win the lottery.Thinking I can dream!!  When that day happens
I hope to make a great SPACES reunion there and we can all
explore it together.  Smile
DO YOU HAVE A SPECIAL PLACE THAT YOU LOVE TO GO MORE
THAN ANY OTHER???
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
 


glitter-graphics.com

 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

12 responses »

  1. I’m with you…the ocean will always be in my heart and will always be my special place. It has been two years since I moved away from Virginia Beach…I was 8 blocks from the ocean and lived there since I was 5 years old…now I’m in the North Country and although it is beautiful and rural, the ocean always calls to me.I spent 2 weeks in Santa Barbara years ago and LOVED IT. Nothing like sitting on the beach looking at the ocean and turning around and seeing the mountains behind you…I hope to go back someday!Great blog!

  2. My place of peace is Ft. Walton Beach, florida. I go every year at least once, this year it’s twice. Sugar white, sugar fine sands, warm air and the gulf just pounding away… it’s amazing!

  3. I grew up in the mountains of north central Alabama and spent my teenage years on the beaches of Gulf Shores and Panama City. After I was married – it was San Diego’s Mission Beach. As an adult, the beachs just don’t do anything for me now but I love the mountains. The first time I saw this part of Texas my heart sank and I wanted to cry! This is the flatest land I’ve ever seen. Gimme the mountains!

  4. I’m with you, any where the ocean is I”m ready to go. I hope you get to go to Hawaii someday!!! It’s my favorite place in the whole world. The story of your sister reminded me of my sister when she first saw the ocean. While in Ca. visiting friends and family I kept saying we have to go to the ocean and she kept saying why, it’s just water. Well she was speechless when she saw it and realized why I insisted. However I do love the mountains too. I’ll never forget our first trip to Wyoming and the first time I saw the Rockies. They are mind blowing for sure. Ok, you brought back lots of memories for me and I could go on and on. Not only that it makes me want to go somewhere even more lol. I might have to check those deals out you mentioned.HugsSherry

  5. I spent my teenage years on the beaches of fla so now i prefer the tenn mountains for a change. JoAnn my kids love to go to Gulf Shores and if they have thier choice of vacation spots that is what they choose they end up in fla just because they have family to visit during thier time off school and work.

  6. Since we live near the ocean, I actually long for Paradise, MI, on the Lake Superior shores! Yes, I spent many years of my youth on those beaches and loved being there. It IS very different from the ocean, but it holds fond memories of carefree days of youth. No stress, no TV and the smell of birch and wild wintergreen takes me back to those simpler days.

  7. I don’t know. I absolutely love Nashville. I love the glitz of it but it has changed so much since the first time I visited there. Water doesn’t lure me but I do love the hills in WV. I was born in the hills so I think they are in my blood.Hugs to you and mom.

  8. I’m not a beach person since I am a paper white skinned natural redhead. I have suffered greatly up till I finally got a clue and quit the personal BBQ I was doing while out in the sun.

  9. I’m a different animal I guess. My favorite place to chill out and relax is right here at home. Love seeing those other places but am a homebody for sure.

  10. I haven’t been to the coast for quite some time. I think for me I still love the Oregon coast best…I know it’s colder but more pristine. Right now we’ve got perfect weather but no waves…I guess I’ll enjoy the pefect weather and look at your picture…best of both worlds!

  11. I guess I’m a homebody like Terry. Those other places are nice and, I do like to visit them. But, my favorite of all places to wind-down, chill-out, and relax is home. This is a great post, I loved reading every word.Have a lovely weekend. See you next week.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

