SPECIAL CAR..

Standard
I finally found the picture I was looking for.. MY FIRST
CAR!!  Here is the story….
 
I was back

from a year in Ca. away from family and was home to get some
wheeels! Yep I was tired of being in Ca. and not having a car. In
California you drive everywhere and  I sure needed it.
 
Used cars were a lot cheaper here in Michigan than in Ca. for sure.
My dad had lots of connections and he knew  a good car when he saw one.
Lets face it.. I knew NOTHING.. so we went looking for a car.
Dad intended for us to drive the car back to Ca. so it had to be a
good one with not a lot of miles on it. He picked a white one with
four doors. It was a CHEVY.. I immediately  DID NOT like it!
Something about it.. I could not quite figure out what it was, but I knew
it was not MINE! 
 
   img79/1110/chevy3qn3.jpg
This car WAS.. a  2 door..’73 chevy chevelle malibu hardtop
and boy did she run! Dad didn’t like it. I DID!! I liked the color,
I liked the style and the hard top. It was a bear to take care
of in the Ca. sun.. but I did not care!!
We got the car and drove it all
the way to Ca. She last over a 110,000 miles and
had to be towed out of the driveway when I sold her
to a dealer. I cried!!  I admit I was so attached by then.
WHY am I talking cars?  Well we all have one we really are
or were attached to. One that holds a special place in our
hearts and or memories.
DO YOU HAVE A FAVORITE CAR THAT HOLDS A SPECIAL PLACE
IN YOUR MEMORY??
 
We all remember our first set of wheels and how it felt to own
something that was “really ours”. What freedom!!
That old Chevy and I shared a lot together and our adventures
included a trip to Santa Barbara to see Sue.
That story is for later. Driving across the USA.. now that
was an adventure!!!   Stay TUNED!!
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT SATURDAY!!
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

4 responses »

  1. I hear ya.. mine was on it’s last legs and had to be towed away. The lady that got it eventually after they over-hauled it only drove it awhile before it really was done for good. Special car Chevy’s I still miss it! : )

  2. Hey
    I had a BlueVW..1969. Bought it with my own money…Drove it for 20 years. the bottom was coming out. Painted it bright yellow and put fancy spoke wheels on it..they got stolen though. I drove it to Mackinaw City…for a vacation. I drove it for four years to work in Indianapolis.On I-70 I twirlded it in the middle of winter, and survived almost getting hit by a semi truck…heee hah. I drove it to Kentucky, to the horse races and back to Indianpolis.
    After high school, I followed a young man I loved around in this car hoping to get his attentions…I drove it back and forth to school in NWM college for 2 years…400 miles round trips. I wish I had this car back again…but I have the memories…the winter driving was cold. I had to scape the windshield on the inside of the car and the ouside. Being heated by the engine, the heating pipes were along the outside bottom frame …they were the first to rust out and then the flooring. I could see the highway pavement…riding down the road…to be in love and carefree…..I miss these days…your friend rt

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

