SICK TOMATOES???

Standard
I can’t believe my luck. I planted two tomato plants
in the ground and one in a planter. The one in the planter
had all good planting soil with Miracle grow. The two
smaller plants that are yellow grape size ones are in the
ground. I used about 1/2 the potting soil to 1/2 of the regular
dirt. The one in the planter is going great. Growing like crazy.
The ones in the ground.. NOT SO GOOD.
There seems to be something on them. There is no sign of
a bug or a worm but the leaves look terrible.
All you spaces gardeners out there take a look
 (CLICK THIS)
 
at the leaves and tell me.. IS THIS NORMAL?? I know I have to
expect some to die off or whatever but this looks like it has been
invaded or something. ALL the lower leaves have it. I sure hope
the rest are not going to. Let me know what you think.
BIG THANKS from this NOVICE tomato grower!! Red heart
I went out and got some miracle grow special for tomato plants.
I gave them a dose today so hope to see some results soon.
##########################################################
While we were out on the freeway going shopping a DOE jumped
right in front of the car as we came around the exit ramp. SCARED THE
LIFE out of me! I screamed so loud! (I know silly.. but my Friends and Family
know how I am) Thank GOD I wasn’t driving or I would have wrecked the
car. SIS laughed at me! Open-mouthedOn the way home another DOE but this time farther away!
It was not sunset but broad daylight. WARM DAY here.. must have been time
for them to get out and about. YES I had my camera but being so startled, no way
I could get a picture. RATS!!  It’s always that way for me it seems.Confused
 
Any hoooo—————–
 
In the BIG W**MT store I noticed a lot of clerks putting up stock and
changing prices. Things that used to be on the shelves there no longer
are. GREAT VALUE brands are a lot less featured in our store and more
of the brand named items are. I went up and down the aisles and sure
enough several things I was expecting to see were gone. Crackers,
cereal, popcorn, detergent, etc. You could NOT
BUY a large can of disinfecting spray for less than $5 –ALL brand names.
 I left those in
the store. Sarcastic  MAXWELL DECAF COFFEE was 10$ where as regular Maxwell
coffee all kinds was only $6.00. BIG difference there. WATERMELONS were on sale
for 3 DOLLARS! I was amazed at the price so early before the JULY
holiday.  Some things are high
and others aren’t, I guess it all depends on what you are shopping for.
GAS prices were all over the place from 2.89 to 2.99, NO stations
selling for $3.00 yet.. just wait another week or so maybe.   Confused
Well that’s all from here hope you all………………
#####################################################################
 


glitter-graphics.com

 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

12 responses »

  1. hey carol…………………some kind of leaf rot i guess………….maybe you could discard the lower leaves……………so that it doesnt spread………….but hey ive never grown tomatoes so you shouldnt be takin my advise…………….LOL……………..human nature to give some though………….hahahah………Have a nice day carol…………….

  2. It looks like blite. Ya, pinch off bottom stems as it can be coming from the dirt. I would probably scream if someone in the van did. We saw the same thing! I mean W^^mart doesn’t sell the printer ink we always buy there. Matter of fact now they don’t sell the printer either! Needed another gallon of paint…no more Dutch Boy paint! It was there two days ago! They had allot. Made us upset to say the least. Gas is 2.89 and holding here. I tend to fill up tomorrow. Have a great weekend!

  3. I had not noticed the changes in WalMart. I will see soon I guess. I was there yesterday but only in the garden center and to get bird seed. I wonder why they did those changes?? I buy some of the GV brands. To pay 3.59 for a box of graham crackers..Nabisco or Keebler brand? I don;t think so. I pay 1.35 for GV. There IS a difference in fat content and taste to where GV brands have more in almost every case, but not enough to make me spend 2 dollars more. 1.29 are saltine cracker prices..twice that and more for name brand. Not for me.I have a black thumb but it sure sounds like Toodie has the right idea.

  4. Sorry, can’t help ya on the tomato plants – I’m a novice at growing’em too! I have noticed certain items no longer available at my supercenter! It gives me a headache! Gas 2.39 here – as of yesterday. Wishing you and your mom a great weekend.

  5. Hey, our Kale looks that way this year! My hubby thinks it is the earwigs eating it. He put some weird white chemical on the leaves that will take care of the pesky things—they seem to be everywhere this year. Hope you figure it out. They love a lot of moisture. Glad you just SAW that deer and didn’t HIT it. Yeah, WalMart is getting stinky about raising their prices because so many people shop there—I’m beginning to stray away from them for that. I’d rather support our local stores, anyway.

  6. I envy anyone getting anthing but rain these days…ugh! We have a real threat with deer and antelope around here so it’s always on our mind when we drive especially at twilight when it seems everything is sort of hard to see. I don’t blame you for screaming LOL! Our gas is jumping so much every single day that I wonder how long it will be before the jump to three bucks too. We’re fortunate in that our plants aren’t suffering with the aphids they did last year. I’m not sure what happened with the tomoatoes my friend…it really does look like something is going after those plants but I don’t know what. Our Walmart has been lacking many items and the prices haven’t been that great here either. Well, another grey and rainy cool day for us my friend. I hope it’s nice for you there blessings to you my friend.

  7. Wish I could help you with the tomato’s but I don’t have a clue. Gas is $2.75 here and that’s high enough if you ask me.It’s cloudy and chilly here darn. I hate dark chilly days. Have a great day!

  8. Oh Yeah!! Buy some anti-fungus spray!!! Looks like two kinds!! Ortho makes a good one!! Be sure to spray top and bottom of the leaves!!Bonnie likes you!! Very rare!! LOL!! She likes being called cute!! Buzz is nervous about posting because of his big paws but I’m sure he will. Gas is $2,84 here, up from $2.67 last week. I give up!!Wishing you a GREAT weekend!!!!!!

  9. They are sick and that is why growing things in a planter is better. I just learned that this year. On the groupd they are much more vulnerable. I also noticed there are fewer store brands available. I don’t know why that is. I go to Wally World every week and there is less and less variety now available. I once hit a deer and after i got out of my truck to look he jumped up and ran straight for me. He droipped dead after he hit the truck a second time.

  10. The tomato branches closest to the soil seem to get that way. Just pinch (don’t cut) them off and see what happens. Jim always took care of the major problems in our garaden. If necessary spray the plants with soapy water. Won’t hurt the plant and the insects don’t like it.I don’t shop at Walmart for groceries because they are higher on prices in my big city than Meijer is. Gas here is $2.89 right now.Hugs to you and mom.

  11. Hmmm, don’t have a clue what’s wrong with that, but it doesn’t look good. I think you still have time to replant.

  12. Remove the bottom branches. Do not allow any branches to touch the ground. Pluck/remove the first buds and then if you see no improvement go ahead and use chemicals.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

