COVERED BRIDGES

Standard
I chose my background this week from Google images.
"Covered bridges in Spring"
I love to look at the various covered bridges . They are not
only rustic looking but they are also unique. In doing
some research because..(YES SIS I am curious Wink)..
There are so many different ways in which they can be
built is was amazing. I wondered why they all were covered
in the first place? Simple answer.. covering them made them
last longer. Most of the covered bridges made then were made of
wood and when covered they could last as long as 80 years!!
 
Makes sense to me! I loved that movie" Bridges of Madison
County." but was surprised to find out that there was a sequel
book written in 2002 about what happened afteward to the two
characters of the book. I then tried to find out if that book
was also made into a movie. I don’t think it was. That was a
surprise because of the popularity of the original movie.
Here is the bridge from the movie.. THE ROSAMUNDE
BRIDGE. In the movie his ashes were strewn at the foot
of the bridge after his death. Her children had to decide,
after the mother’s death, whether to place hers there too
or bury her with their father. They find a 3 volume diary
written by their mother of an affair that she had while
they were all off to the county fair for four days.
I loved this movie!

Guess I heard about the sequel book back in 2002 but I swear
I really don’t remember it. The sequel was called
A Thousand Country Roads  by Robert James Waller.
According to my research..
In the sequel they never get back together, only would think of
each other occasionally. It is mostly about his journeys
so I guess it would have had to be re-written to satisfy us
lovers of the original movie.
DID ANYONE READ THAT BOOK??? IF SO…
WHAT DID YOU THINK OF IT?
#####################################################
Well enough of the bridges….
Weather was nice here today..no rain.. it’s coming tomorrow..
more violent stuff across the USA Wednesday night.
Prayers to keep all those Spacers safe as they pass
through. You know who you are!  Red heart
#####################################################
ONE MORE DAY before the TV ANTENNA SWITCH..
 
"THE END IS NEAR"…  …
Mom has repeated that several times the last few days.
I would be alarmed if I didnt know she was talking about
the TV SWITCH to DIGITAL..
She says the government is taking over our minds by
switching things around and NOW THEY HAVE THE POWER
over all of us. Maybe they do..maybe they don’t.
They don’t have the power to MAKE YOU WATCH! and
they don’t have the power to MAKE YOU BELIEVE ANYTHING.
I grew up never thinking in my wildest dreams that
the whole nation would have to pay at least something
to watch TV. You have to pay to get a box and then
if that box doesn’t work well you have to pay to get
an antenna. I didn’t think you would have to pay for
AIR at a gas station either but I was WRONG! Now you have to
pay to get the machine to air up your tires!!!
What is this world coming to? Progress I guess.
Soon we will be making cars that run on the SUN.
What will be next WHO KNOWS??? Thinking
YES I did have trouble again with HOTMAIL
today. Hope this is not going to be a daily thing! Sad
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!
 
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

10 responses »

  1. I think I saw that movie. It just started to rain now. Mowing maybe called off tomorrow.Have a great day tomorrow.

  2. hey there………………..good morning……..pleasantly sunny my part of the world. should have been raining by now . although the day time temperatures have cooled down no sign of the rain………………………….

  3. The movie with Clint and Meryl speaks to most of us in a reflective way I think.I agree with you mom at least a bit, but I suppress the thought of big brother control so I can soldier on.Interesting…Hugs from Alaska

  4. I loved that movie and now I have not read the second book, in fact I didn’t even know until I read your blog, but I will look for it.Raining here too Carol, wish it would stop for a while, today we are suppose to get heavy downfalls and thunderstorms!!! I think Saturday is the only day we will see the sun!!!! So tired of it all. You take care and stay dry. Hugs, Pat

  5. I saw that movie a long time ago. I wanted it to have a different ending. The same way with Gone With The Wind. I keep rereading it hoping it will have a happy ending and it never does.Raining here too, killing my plans of going to the big city. :-(Hugs to you and mom.

  6. Covered bridges is a neat topic. They rattle when you drive through one. Yes, I loved the movie too. Guess it’s a fantasy that most people never experience (some wouldn’t want to).

  7. I love covered bridges and the history that surrounds them! Stormed all night here and into this morning. We lost power for over 3 hours.

  8. You can NEVER have enough of Covered Bridges!!! You know me, though—lighthouses and covered bridges: my favs! Lots of CBs in Michigan and the East coast. Hardly any out here in CA—most of them in Oregon now. But don’t get me started on them. Hmm. Maybe I should post that old article I wrote for "Old Times" years ago about Covered Bridges….

  9. Bridges like that are really a taste of the classic don’t you think? We have nothing like that here and even the old bridge we used to have when I was young boy is long since changed into something that can handle four lanes of traffic. We’ve been on cable as long as I can remember so the big switch to digital didn’t seem like anything new at all. It didn’t cost nor did we need new equipment. The biggest change we had with the TV was getting a flat screen LCD and now we watch what we can on the HD channels…now that makes a big difference. I hear you on the bad weather. What has tranlated to bad weather for many has been a nasty and cold drizzle for days here. Only now is it warming up and clearing off.

  10. That is my all time favorite movie…the scene when he is leaving and they are behind him and her hand is on the door handle…God it kills me everytime! I never knew there was a sequel either…can’t possibly be as good as the first, huh?Hugs

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

