CROCKPOT TO THE RESCUE

Standard
Adding to the heat is the kitchen and trying to make some
dinner I happen to think of the CROCKPOT today! YES!!
That was a relief. Throw in the chicken and rice and
soup and wahhh lahhh hours later.. dinner is served.
It was a relief as the temps soared here to upper 90’s
and the humidity.. well lets just say the birdbath had
non-stop action, including the squirrels.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
I decided to go to do my errands early in the day thinking
maybe just maybe it would be cooler. NO such luck. By
9:30 AM it was already near 90!! YIKES! Sun I made three
trips to the pharmacy and picking up meds took me
1 1/2 hours… to go 1 mile!!! They were not ready and then
they were and I picked them up and brought them home
and THEN I NOTICED that the price was way too high.
My fault I should have checked.. I think the heat got to me!
 
So back I went again only this time .. I FORGOT the
darn reciept.Sad Back I went to the house.. it was comical
in nature but didn’t seem so at the time. The final time
the young clerk (who must be new!) said.." I don’t understand
the problem." I said.. THESE drugs are supposed to be
4$ on the new plan not 12$.. seemed simple enough to
me! GOD BLESS that nation-wide plan of 4$ for some meds.
THE list includes about 300 or so meds that most people buy
and they are all 4$ each. Places like Wmart and KMrT and
some grocery outlets are all going along with the plan.
SAVES big $$$$ I tell you! I signed mom up recently to
save money and we have,  but we sure have a hard time
getting things straight. It is worth looking into if you haven’t
already done so. YOU DON’T have to sign up or anything
just take in your bottles and they do the rest.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
I noted that gas at the time I went to the store the first time
was 2.60  but by the time I got back from the last trip
it had went up to 2.69!! YEP they are getting ready to
raise it next week big-time. Be smart and buy early.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
I made a swing by the river to see if it was over the banks
like last year. and happy to report it is high but not over
the banks!
As I drove by I noted this home that was in pretty bad repair but
it had the most beauiful large rose bush.
  
Now if I tried my hardest I could not get one to grow that lovely.Thinking
Unattended and left to grow it really thrived there. SAD in a way.. there are so many
homes here that have been left to the elements and time like that one. SO many
homeless and so many homes sitting empty. It is just a real shame. Disappointed
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE  A  GREAT DAY!!!
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

8 responses »

  1. I need to get my crockpot out too, I think I will do that over the weekend and fix some pork ribs, Then I can portion them out for the freezer. Thank you for reminding me I have one.The rosebush is lovely. I have never been able to grow a rose. They all die on me immediately.I hope you and mom have a great day. Hugs to you both.

  2. Crockpot dinner. Great idea in this heat. I think I will follow your lead. Oil just dropped $2 a barrel and they want to raise prices again? I think it’s the oil companies that are the main problem the economy is in. Those roses are just beautiful. It is sad to see homeless people and empty houses. I say let them move in and if they improve the place it’s theirs. Homesteading so to speak. Well have a good day. Keep cool.Hugs

  3. Crockpot is an excellant idea. The only thing that beats that is to go out and let someone else do the cooking lol. I get my meds at shopko for that price as well. All I had to do was ask for walmart prices and they match them. It’s a great deal and shopko is closer to me then walmart is.Ok keep cool today and take it easy.Hugssherry

  4. The crockpot is the only way to go in this heat! Beautiful rose bush. Don’t know what gas is here now – haven’t been out in 3 days! Stay in and stay cooll.

  5. Crock Pots are life savers! Sorry I was laughing at your prescription/store adventures back and forth…I was laughing with you though right? I’ll be getting somethings together that we "talked". One quick question… do you have a bread machine? Take care ttfn

  6. Yes, that reminds me of a great beef recipe that I can use this week with S home in my crockpot! What a timesaver it is! I agree with you about the homeless wandering around and so many empty homes—doesn’t make sense at all!

  7. I use my slow cooker all year long too, although in the summer I put it in the breezeway to keep the heat out of the house. You really have to wonder why the towns don’t let the homeless live in those abandoned homes.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

