SATURDAY NOTES

Standard
Could not even check my mail last night. What’s up with that? We get the ALERTS BACK
and then it’s something else.. Sad We got rain finally.. not enough I am afraid. Some areas
had a nice soaking. NOT here. It is very humid, getting an early start before the heat sets
in.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
I just have to say that hearing of a scam involving RESELLING CEMETARY
plots is just about the MOST shocking and digusting thing I have ever heard.
So sad and so horrible. The four people they arrested, well prison will  really
only be temporary– they will be judged by their maker when the time comes.
Prayers go out to the thousands of people there who don’t now know where their
loved ones are resting. Is nothing sacred anymore?Sad
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
I saw that posting at BOB’S  about   SUMMER IS…  and thought it was great. Today
 I got to thinking about what  SUMMER IS.. to me.. so here goes

S U M M E R   I S …..

The sound of sprinklers and lawn mowers running on a summer day.
The sound of DOVES calling to each other.
Wind chimes tinkling in the summer breeze.
The smell of flowers in the garden.
BBQ’s cooking in the neighbors yard.
Kids playing in the swimming pool.
Squirrels chasing each other up and down tree branches.
Children yelling at a baseball game.
The smell of a fresh cut watermelon or cantalope.

Fresh corn on the cob and vine ripe tomatoes
Neighbors sitting on the porch talking
to their neighbors.
Boom Boxes loudly broadcasting music
all over the neighborhood.
Lightening bugs on a hot humid night.
Kadydids calling all night long.
Fresh cut grass.
Kids playing baseball.
Corn fields as far as the eye can see.
Skunks! Sick
Fresh peach or blackberry cobbler.
Smell of suntan lotion and wet bathing suits.
Birds bathing in the bird bath.
Air conditioners humming in the heat of the night.
Straw hats and big sunglasses.
Weed Whacking! Sad
Flip flops , beach towels and umbrellas.
Sandals,sunscreen and lip balm.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Tag this photo below - ThumbSnap Free Photo Hosting

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

12 responses »

  1. Reselling the cemetery plots is beyond despicable! I love your summer is, and with your permission I am going to tell what summer is to me in my post today.Hugs to you and mom.

  2. People can really be despicable and greedy but reselling cemetery plots is a new low. Love the summer is. You covered so many things. Wishing you and mom well.Hugs

  3. I saw that story about the cemetery debacle. That really is tragic. People really entrust places like that and to betray that on such a monstrous level is beyond shocking. I love you list by the way, I couldn’t have done it better myself!

  4. oh yes the good days where when your bike is like a plane and your flying around the block that was far as me and my cuz was aloud now days i would not let my littles go that far with out me seeing them i remember the sound of the ice cream truck playing pop goes the wissle and g ma would give us kids money even though there was plenty of ice cream in the frezzer my g ma and g pa would have a bowl everynite while watching good old matlock and nite programs i sure miss those days

  5. Childhood memories of summer are wonderful ones for me and I enjoyed your post. That cemetary scandal is like something out of a bad novel! Hope you have a peaceful Sunday. Hugs, Deb

  6. The reselling of cemetery plots is absolutely disgusting! Not really surprising though – some people will go to any lengths for a dollar! You summer memories are great! Can remember them all! Some rememberances weren’t so great in my eyes! My mother had a perpetual "to do" list! I’d do my chores then sit on the front porch waiting for friends to come by and give me a Calgon moment – ya know, take me away! My dad used to gather us kids up, give us all a quart pail and we’d go blackberry pickin’ – couldn’t stop until that pail was full! Looking back, it wasn’t too bad at all! Even as adults, we’d go back home for a visit and my mother would bring out her "to do" list! lol She was a firm believer in idle hands being the devil’s workshop! Have a great Sunday, Carol.

  7. You forgot one—weeding in the garden. I used to HATE that as a kid. Now, my hubby is the weeder and I just get to harvest from the garden and find inventive ways to prepare the produce! There are also a lot of garden type of summer memories: shelling peas on the porch, swatting at mosquitoes, shucking corn, picking raspberries and strawberries, the taste of carrots picked from the ground and washed off with the garden hose…etc…Enjoy your rain!

  8. The one I absolutely relate to as a summertime thing is suntan lotion. Like the smell of coppertone. I love that smell…oh and chlorine too. They both bring back those great summer days spent at the swimming pool. One that’s missing is the sound of motorcycles. Hope you’re having a great weekend. Sis in Wis

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

