MEMORIES OF CRONKITE….

Standard

I have vivid memories of WALTER CRONKITE during the time that I was young. My father watched him and we had to pay attention and be quiet when he was doing his news broadcast. I know now that I really didn’t understand how important it was to know what was going on in the world until one fateful day. Then it became vital that I be informed in worldly events.

That horrible day in the 60’s when the word came at our school that the PRESIDENT .. OUR PRESIDENT.. had been shot. Our principal told us all to gather our things and go home.  I lived close by and went straight home. I got there and the TV was on.

I remember seeing Walter Cronkite in white shirt sleeves rolled up. I had never seen him like that. It seemed so odd. He looked so stressed. WE all hung on his every word. For days after that his voice was the one we listened to. I remember him reporting at the Viet Nam war, the Martin Luther King assasination, the BOBBY Kennedy assasination. Every single major point of my youth was measured in some way by his broadcasts. YOU  ARE THERE was one I will always remember as my guide to many historic events. I loved it. I’m sad to know that  kids will never know the type of journalistic integrity on a daily basis, nationally, that I grew up with. In 1969  when the USA sent men to the MOON. I remember seeing Walter sitting there in disbelief and joy. It was history in the making and he made it easy to understand.  

He won’t ge nearly the pomp and the hype that recent deaths have gotten.. even though he deserves it  much more. FOREVER in our minds those words  will ring true and we will always remember him them the minute we hear them.

WALTER CRONKITE.. man of integrity and most trusted journalist and reporter in our history.

“AND THAT’S THE WAY IT IS”

Died at the age of 92 ..but will live on forever in our hearts!  

 “That’s The Way It Was: Remembering Walter Cronkite” to Air Sunday at 7 p.m. ET/PT on CBS stations.


 

About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

One response »

  1. We were Huntley-Brinkley fans in our house. It seems like I saw plenty of Cronkite at school in those old reel-style documentaries they would show on those old film projectors. He narrated a lot of those “You Are There” features as well as those having to do with the space program. That’s what I seem to recall anyway.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

