TRAMATIC SATURDAY..

Standard
Well the GOOD NEWS IS.. we are all okay!!
The bad news is THE CAR IS DINGED UP!
Oh it can be fixed okay but it was pretty tramatic
for my mother.
We decided to go back to the city and buy up
some more fruit on sale. We went to a few places
first and then parked the car in the handicap spot at Krgr..
MOM was inside the car waiting. THEN…………
 
             >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
(SHE IS CROOKED IN THE SPACE)
Along comes an 80+year old woman in a large
van and she could not maneuver it very well.
This woman pulled into her space forward and
tried to take out the passenger side of our car.
Mom yelling and screaming…hysterically! To say
she was tramatized is saying it lightly. Crying
 
(THIS WAS AFTER SHE TRIED TO STRAIGHTEN UP
This crunch she managed

took part of the trim off her van door and a big ding
in our fender. )
 
Sis and I were both in the store and did not see
this happen. When we came out, mom is crying
and all upset because the WOMAN did not even
know she did any damage.
The woman could not WALK INTO
THE STORE. She had some employee come get her
in an electric cart and take her inside the store!
She never said anything about hitting any car to the
person who brought the cart to her. The people in the
store KNOW her. She is a regular customer and
the manager told us..very fussy and demanding, and needs
a whole lot of help. THEN WHY IS SHE DRIVING???
 
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
 (IF SIS HAD PARKED INSIDE THE MARKS
IT WOULD HAVE BEEN REALLY BAD)
Forget about calling the police… in a parking lot
well that is not in the public street so they won’t come.
With the handicap sign in front of our car we could not
back up our car she was so crooked. WE waited about
45 minutes and then SIS( fed up) decided to hunt her down
in the store to get insurance info and get her to MOVE IT.
GOOD GRIEF… she acted like she had done nothing.
The asst manager of the store came outside with the
security guard to see what was going on. {ME…
OH YEAH  I took about 25 pictures.. from every single
angle.} The manager and the guard were shocked at
how the van looked in it’s space.
 
He moved the car and we left finally with her info.
Mom was exhausted. Her mind went to a bad place
thinking that the whole bumper of our car was ripped off
or something, but it wasn’t. We were very lucky!!
 She can’t stand for long and
did not get out of the car.
The good thing was… IT COULD HAVE BEEN WORSE!
The bad thing was..how long had this woman been driving like
that?? The van was not small and if she could do that, what other
kind of damage could she do? Scary!!
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
When my father became ill and could not drive any more, he took
every opportunity to drive he could without our knowing it.
It became a game for him to try to get away with things. Many times neighbors
or friends would call and tell us they saw him driving or how awful it
was to see him all over the roads. Friends would come and drive
with him on country roads just to please that urge he had.
We finally
had to get rid of the truck he drove to keep him from under the wheel
of it. I do know how hard it

is to want to drive and you can’t. I have been there myself on many
occasions and it really is difficult to deal with. Giving up that independence is
just so very hard.
 

 I don’t know what the laws are here in Michigan, but I will find out. I think anyone

over 80 should have to take written and driving tests before getting
their license EVERY YEAR! Maybe that sounds extreme, but at that age things
change so quickly that they need to be watched carefully!
This woman
came right beside our car and within INCHES of seriously
injuring my mother. I feel so sorry for those others out there who
will be in danger with her under the wheel!
You had bettter believe calls will be made the the DMV about
this,I just have to know some things and you all know how I am
when I am curious and HAVE TO FIND OUT!! Wink
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Let’s hope Monday is less exciting around here!
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

One response »

  1. Oh my gosh this is just awful Carol! Your poor Mom, I feel so bad for her. I certainly hope you follow up with the DMV and I would think the insurance companies too would be involved. Let me know what you find out.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

