RAIN RAIN RAIN

Standard
We need the rain .. I am not complaining.. I just hate when the grass seems to
grow 3 or 4 inches overnight. I am mowing sometimes twice a week now 
just to keep up. Hell House is beginning to look
like a forest again..no one bothers with it until they are
forced into mowing it. Seems no one mows in this block either
until ONE person starts and then a trigger goes off and then
the whole neighborhood is a buzz. Yesterday I went first
I only did one portion..but that didn’t matter.. 3 others followed
my lead.{ Guess SHE KNOWS something we don’t maybe.}
YEAH I know the rain is coming again and that makes it
grow faster. I can only mow when it is less HUMID out.. that is
my trigger. When it is reallllllly humid.. well it sits and waits for
me. I have a problem with breathing and it is kinda IMPORTANT. Open-mouthed
Yeserday the air was just right.. I enjoyed it.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Still going through things here I found this picture taken in 1979.
My Grandmother was showing my mom how to fry
OKRA in an iron skillet. She cut it and breaded it
in cornmeal and fried it. Simple as that. Okra grew in
her garden and WE had to buy ours in the store.
Mom had not cooked it in years. I lived in Ca. then and
we had it all the time. There was nothing like okra fried
in a black iron skillet.. especially when it was a little bit
overdone and Grandma made it. I haven’t had it but
vey few times since I left Ca. Funny how one picture makes
memories flood back in your mind.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Well enough of going down memory lane.. the day is
wasting away.. chores await me..
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

11 responses »

  1. You almost never even see okra in the stores. I had never heard of quinoa (pronounced Keen-wah) either until I ran across it at CostCo. Now we are growing it enmasse! It is really high in protein and kind of like a crunchy rice in texture. Great to add to meatloafs and soups. Never heard of fried okra—but if it’s deep-fried, I have to avoid it. Sounds good, though. You should try to make it for your Mom as a surprise!

  2. Got to say I don’t like okra. I tried it a few times and it just wasn’t my thing. Of course, it may have been how it was prepared.I am having my yard mowed this summer and I am kind of enjoying letting someone else do it. We are supposed to have rain here todaty.Hugs to you and mom.

  3. Now ypu’re talking my kinda language – okra! I love it! We had rain all last week and everything grew in leaps and bounds. This is our hotest month and temps are climbing again. Enjoy your day.

  4. Dear Carol, On Sunday the lawn was mowed here too and it was a fine day. Today is a bit cool and damp with rain on the way. A neighbor gave me two huge zucchini plants that will be breaded and pan fried this evening and topped with the fresh tomato sauce I made on Sunday.As ever be well

  5. Used to be that folks didn’t mow or make a lot of noise on Sunday. Guess that’s been forgotten now and Sunday is just another day, rather than the sabbath. Too bad.Neat photo of your grandmother.

  6. I bet you could mow circles around me at this point my friend. We have the total opposite end of the spectrum for weather I think. We did finally get some heavy rain yesterday but generally it hasn’t been that hot nor humid. Fried okra is one of my favorite things but I’ve rarely gotten it fried like that…oh, I could handle that! You have a great day too.

  7. We had rain, not much and our ground is so dry and grass browning.I always keep up the grass when neighbors mow an when I mow firstthey git right out there to keep things even lol! Makes it look so nice.

  8. Hubby is mowing as we speak. It’s suppose to get humid this afternoon so it’s a good to get it done early. You know, I don’t think I’ve ever eaten okra. Will have to give it a try sometime.Have a great day you guyshugsSherry

  9. Jist about everything that comes ou tof a cast iron skillet and is made by grama is teh best… I agree. There are a few things that only gramma’s can do…Keep on trucking…

  10. Brother-in-law hopped on his green machine and did his, ours and Jodi’s Sat. What a nice fella he is. Haven’t had okra either, but then Sherry and I did grow up in the same house.

  11. Hmmm, I have never ate fried Okra before but I bet it would be good. I have eaten pickled okra though and I liked it. I know what you mean about a picture sparking your memories. Every once in awhile I get the photo albums out and go over them for that very purpose. We get our lawn mowed and matter of fact it was done today because it was calling for rain but I am still waiting to see the rain. We could use it really, everything is dry. Have a great day tomorrow……………Rusty ((HUGS))Regards to your Mom.

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

