DIET DANGER???

Standard

 

IF someone told you that you could NOT drink
any kind of a diet drink anymore.. what would you do?
Would you continue to drink it anyway? The other day I was
looking into some recipes for some chicken dishes. I ran across
one that goes in a crock pot and they used lemon lime soda
in it. They URGED NOT to use DIET SODA in it that contains
any ASPARTAME.They said NOT to leave any canned
soda or drink in your car where it could get heated up.
Makes a person think again about using those cans that
were just sitting in your garage waiting for you to open them.
The article referred to this answer from
ASK.COM..
 
"The following facts shown by recent scientific research:
Aspartame (nutrasweet) breaks down into methanol (wood alcohol).
Methanol quickly converts to formadehyde in the body.
Formaldehyde causes gradual and eventually severe damage to the neurological system, immune system and causes permanent genetic damage at extremely low doses.
Methanol from alcoholic beverages and from fruit and juices does not convert to formaldehyde and cause damage because there are protective chemicals in these traditionally ingested beverages.

The most recent independent research in Europe demonstrates that ingestion of small amounts of aspartame leads to the accumulation of significant levels of formaldehyde (bound to protein) in organs (liver, kidneys, brain) and tissues.

Excitotoxic amino acids such as the one which is immediately released from aspartame likely increases the damage caused by the formaldehyde.

Readers are urged to followup by printing and reading the extensive and heavily-referenced discussion related to aspartame and methanol/formaldehyde poisoning (suitable for scientists and laypersons) at: http://www.holisticmed.com/aspartame/abuse/. This document details the research showing formaldehyde toxicity from aspartame and demonstrates the techniques the manufacturer used to help hide these facts. Finally, an updated discussion of formaldehyde dosage from aspartame has been added to answer questions raised by what appears to be a manufacturer public relations campaign. Please read this document only after reading the first methanol/formaldehyde document linked to above."

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

YEOW.. Surprised I stopped drinking diet colas pretty much but switched to diet tea. That  ASPARTAME stuff is
found in so many things it is not funny. I checked SNOPES on this and YES indeed when it gets heated to 86 degrees it’s compostition changes.
Anything left to sit and get hot or heated is dangerous.  I am hear to tell you I drank hot diet tea with this in it and I am
not sick that I know of. NO SIDE EFFECTS here. I am NOT GIVING UP my tea just yet and I am not giving in to the reports
that using this stuff can cause you great harm. Back in the old days, they beat the fact that Saccharine was bad for us too.
It has been around over 100 years and WE ARE FINE.. still here and thriving. So much for that survey.. up to the individual
to believe it or not.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Here is a picture of the fried okra . It is cut into little pieces and rolled into cornmeal. NO deep frying at
all and just fried until crispy and brown. Gramma used to get it pretty dark, she said it
gave it a better taste. I have seen it in the stores here fresh and it is very expensive because it is
imported in from the southern states. This is not a "slimy" dish it is a crispy crunchy one.
This picture was from google and I would say they just started frying it because it
is still pretty green. I surely am going to look for some at the local markets or the
store soon and see what they have. All I have seen here is frozen with a heavy batter
on them. We really prefer them the old-fashioned way.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
 
 HAVE A GREAT SUMMER DAY!!!
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

10 responses »

  1. I remember a time when they said that red M&Ms would cause cancer…same went for too many cranberries if I remember right. Some of these reports of course ended up being found false but who knows the real dangers out there for sure? I figure do our best to be careful and wise with our eating. That okra looks awesome! I love the stuff and that looks good enough to eat right up! Bless you my friend.

  2. Yeah right, and research without scientific proof leads to the fear merchants getting rich at the expense of the unwary.Like how many people have died from this versus those who don’t drink diet drinks, exactly, or better yet those who don’t drink it but are obese researchers who live off of grant money, huh? How much does it up your risk of death versus untreated heart disease, the number one liller in America?I want to know LOL not really I couldn’t care less as long as I can stay ahead of these liberal fools.Hugs from Alaska

  3. If you think about it, alot of what we put in our mouths is dangerous in some way – all the preservatives they add to food to maintain shelf life! That okra looks so good. It’s hard to imagine that there are people who’ve never tasted this awesome veggie. I even like it boiled – you just have to get passed the slimy part! lol It’s sold in the grocery stores here – hot, pickled – in jars! Yum Have a great day.

  4. Good morning Sis!!! Okra is wonderful. But as Jo Ann says, you have to get past that slimy part. That looks so good! Been a while since I had any okra and I am delighted to know you guys like it too. I, as with most folks have become increasingly aware of what I eat. I don;t jump at every piece in the press or TV that this or that’ s good for you. Wait 10 minutes and whatever it was, good or bad, becomes the opposite. They need news to fill in the time. BUT…fact are fact (research yourself) and the last thing you need is formaldehyde.(((HUGS)))

  5. I drink my tea hot with honey or plain. I may drink a diet pepsi once or twice a week and that is the extent of my artificial sweetener use. I am still waiting to taste some okra that has been prepared to my taste. lolHugs to you and mom.

  6. I’m mostly a tea drinker during the summer, but I still have a Diet Coke once in a while or a Diet A&W float. Haven’t bought any okra in the stores, but then, don’t think I’ve ever had it fried either…

  7. You know… before I had these stomach problems, I would have said No Way Jose… but now… If it makes me feel better, I’m willing to do it. I’m considering going as organic as I can. My nephew has ADHD, He goes to my moms house, she puts him on no sugar all organic and he doesn’t need his ADHD pills anymore. I think all these chemicals is what’s causing cancer. It’s scary. OK, that Okra looks so good, If I could put more than just soup down my stomach, then I’d be all over that like hungry on an ape!

  8. I’m going to pretend I never read this, cuz there’s no way I’m giving up my diet soda. I remember reading years ago that aspertame becomes bitter if you use it in baking or other cooking.

  9. Well I have no need to worry as I am not much of a soda drinker, maybe a regular Sprite once in a great while on a hot day right out of the fridge. I mostly drink water, good old Adam’s Ale I like to call it. Or a beer which wets the whistle too.I know my daughters can’t drink it because of the Aspartame as it gives them migraine headaches.Oh my gosh, that Okra looks so good even if it does look green yet. I like most any green vegetable, I had some fresh green beans yesterday with some salmon and potato for supper, it was super yummy. Hope you and Mom are both doing good. Take care and God bless…………….Rusty ((HUGS))

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

