SWINE FLU COSTS MORE WAYS THAN ONE…

Standard
 
I heard tonight that people will have to have up to 2 of
the swine flu shots to keep them protected. TWO PLUS
the REGULAR flu shot. WHO THE HECK IS PAYING FOR
ALL THESE SHOTS??? I can just bet that they are not
going to be FREE!  I am one who HAS TO HAVE the shots.
As an asthmatic all my lire and a caregiver I have to
be somewhat protected by taking the shots. One was fine
but now they are talking THREE. I personally paid
28$ for one flu shot last year as I do not have coverage to
pay for them. GOOD GRIEF Confused now they are asking citizens
to pay for three shots and I would bet the cost will be
substantial. What do the people do? People in Mi
are hard up being unemployed and some really struggling
to make ends meet. Along comes the thought of 3 shots
there will be a lot of people NOT TAKING THEM. Some
people NEVER take the flu shots, so they are not affected
by the choices. Some private physicians practices charge
for an office call to even get the shots. There are so many
people who get them elsewhere now that this whole thing
will be very confusing. I heard that in some cases the grade or
high schools will administer shots with a signed permission slip
from the parent. I hope that is true. NO charge would be wonderful for
those families with multiple children and family members.
Clinics and other facilities have a hard enough time getting the regular
flu vaccine, add two more doses of another one to the list for
patieints and boy what a mess!! I still keep the antibiotic wipes in my purse,
 and in the car handy when I go out. In my case.. even a simple cold, for mom,
can be very dangerous. It led to pnuemonia and congestive heart
failure in a matter of days, took two months of hard work on her
part to get over it. Maybe, just maybe, if this whole thing is nipped
in the schools with the children then maybe it won’t be so bad this
winter. The CDC seems to be making new guidelines for children and
teachers this new school year. I hope it works as school is starting for
so many soon.
A 54 year old man from a town nearby DIED of swine flu a few days
ago. In Michigan that makes a total of 10 so far. Not a lot, but someone’s family
lost a loved one from the FLU. In this day and age… that is so sad and
very preventable in most cases.  I hope we get a handle o it soon.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
RAINY here and very hot coming soon.. ahhh it is AUGUST in Michigan!!
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!!
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

8 responses »

  1. I just heard on the news today about this. In Illinois we have had over 3400 confirmed cases of swine flu and 17 deaths. I will get the shots as medicare and or my supplemental insurance will pay for them all. I am one of the lucky ones. My heart goes out to you. I am lucky in another in that my little town is the county seat and the health dept is located here just a few blocks from me so it won’t be any hardship for me to get them. You are so right, many people that need to get these shots will not be able to afford them.Hugs,Beth

  2. It’s a terrible thing to think of the outrageous cost of all this for sure. I happen to have three children and hope that there won’t be a huge expense in that. Well, you have a great day too my friend.

  3. That’s allot of shots, but I guess it’s needed. Seniors here pay reduced prices and kids get them free with free school exams and then they get free school supplies. We the people here chip in and donate to help this cause. I have two cases of notebooks to deliver..heh. I best check though, as maybe it’s changed now eh?

  4. You don’t even want to know just what is going on in nursing homes. We are living through scary times.I pary that you and your mother stay well.Eileen

  5. wonder if a town’s health Dept. will give the shots free? As they do kids for their school shots?If the poor beleagured personnel at the schools try to keep an eye on sick looking kids and make the parents leave work and come get them, it may help a little. People use the schools as a baby sitting service many times so they can work..regardless that the child is sick.

  6. Eeeeek, three needles, hopefully not on the same day. Our benifits cover them for us so that is a good thing. We will need to get them, hubby because of his age and me because I am his main caretaker. He would be lost if I got sick but would manage if he had to as long as I was there to tell him about his pills. If I didn’t fill his dosettes I know he would have the pills all mixed up and maybe overdose himself because some of his pills look the same. Usually if I have to go somewhere for a few days I fill them up for him. God bless him, sometimes I think he is color blind, because he will up one pill bottle swearing it is another one.It is raining here today finally, because we need it for the lawn and trees. All this weekend it is going to be hot and humid, UGH!, just what we need………humidity…..NOT!!!! So it is looking like we are in for the same thing. Oh well misery likes company. Haha!! I grew up in Nova Scotia and since moving here 21 years ago that is the one thing I have never gotten used to….the unbearable heat and humidity together. My first year here I thought I was going to have a heat stroke, I was younger and more of a wimp then, over the years I have just learned to stay inside when it is like that.You and Mom take care and stay cool……………..Rusty ((HUGS))

  7. I would hope the cost would be minimal for these shots—what with so many needing them, but you never know. S just emailed me from the ship and told me he had just had a small pox shot and it stays an open wound for several days afterwards—never heard of this! Says they just passed by Hawaii but didn’t stop. Bummer. Maybe with so many getting this shot, the flu will not spread as much as they think it will. We can hope.

  8. I spent three weeks in Mexico, and went to a Super WalMart no less, and didn’t get it. All of the Mexicans wore masks but the Americans didn’t. I’m not that concerned, but I do worry about your mom.Those roadwork guys a lazy bums!! I want their job…. moving dirt back and forth!Hope you’re having a nice weekend!Bob~

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

