MONDAY AFTER THE STORMS

Standard
The cable here was off 12 hours and we were the lucky ones.
Power is still off for many and won’t be restored until Wednesday at the earliest.
We had some strong storms last week and so the ground was saturated.
Many trees could not stand the wind and just fell over roots and all.
 
( Brenda from Sparta Mi took this picture)
 I have some  water in my basement, but we are lucky. Our house is undamaged.
In a town up north of us called KENT CITY not one yard is without some
kind of tree damages. Many homes are damaged and one tree limb fell
and hit a man inside his car. He died and his wife and child survived.
So sad.. 5 people were sent to the hospital when they left a generator
running in their CLOSED garage.  BIG NO NO!!  Don’t know why in the
world they thought that would be safe!  Some of the wind was at least
70 mph in some places and people in the campgrounds along the lakeshore
had many damaged tents and trailers. It was over 90 on Sunday so there
were so many people who took advantage of the beaches. Most had NO
idea that storms were THAT bad until they were so close it was hard to
run for cover fast enough. The tv was urging people to call people they knew
and tell them to get off the beach fast.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
As I said.. the two rounds of storms we had we weathered pretty well.
I was extremely grateful as the humidity was so bad it was hard to
breathe. It reminded me of summer storms in Tennessee when I was
a child. You would pray for a cool breeze after the storm but there
would be none. The smell of the rain on the hay and corn fields
was like nothing we had in the city.  Something we have NOT heard
here are the KATYDIDS this summer so far. It has been very quiet
around here other than the occasional crickets calling to each other.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Today I harvested more tomatoes, and happy to say there are more
yellow pear tomatoes coming in. They are, hands down, so much better
than the red grape ones I have grown this year. The skins are thinner
and they are so much sweeter. I found so many on the ground
in the thick grass around the plants. I tied the plants up good but
the wind was pretty fierce.  I am seeing less and less of the black
spots on them and that makes me happy too. This intense heat has made
them ripen  almost overnight.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
 
Well that was Monday here in my neck of the woods…. Hope you all had a good one too…
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY TODAY!!
 
 
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

9 responses »

  1. Exciting times in that area it looks like. Isn’t that sad when the old trees in particular get damaged like that? I haven’t seen damage like that since we had our last ice storm. A huge branch fell off our tree and damaged our deck and eventually died from the damage it suffered. Today it felt like summer again and no storms at all for us. It’s been cooler and just plain strange all season long, I hope this doesn’t mean for a bitterly cold winter to break records too. Have a great yourself!

  2. Oh man, Sis. You had horrible scary weather. I wonder if there were straight line winds too, to do so much tree damage. Sounds just like home here. Thank goodness all is well and I am grateful you kept your power! Those are sure not the exciting times we hope for! ;-)Have a better day and evening, girl friend.

  3. I guess that old house of yours has seen a lot of storms, huh?! Thanks goodness you didn’t have any trees collapse on it. So glad you made it through without losing power too—you are lucky! How did R’s new house up north fare?

  4. HI CAROL, WE HAD A FEW OF THOSE STORMS LAST MONTH. GOSH THOSE TOMTOES SOUND DELICIOUS. YOU CAN SEND ME ANYTIME. I DONT HAVE A GREEN THUMB AND DO NOT, I REPEAT NOT GARDEN. LOL HAVE A GREAT WEEK

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

