ARE YOU ADDICTED???

Standard
A few days ago Nanci asked the question are you
addicted to your computer or the internet?? Got me to thinking
that I used to be really into my on line time.
In the begining I went to the library for ONE hour a day.
I left there with a headache most days because I was trying to
learn so much or type too fast to get everything in.
Later when I got my own computer I used to be
on line at least 6 hrs a day, most of that in chat rooms
or learning things in the evenings. I found it fun to talk to people and learn
how the computer works and just what things it could really do.
In 2004 I was into establishing friends and making a yahoo group
and it still is together even now. Five years after that I am now down to
using the e mail .. doing my blog and visiting some, leaving a twitter
or two. Way less hours on line.
 
AN ADDICTION is defined as ..
"being abnormally tolerant to and dependent on something that
 is psychologically or physically habit-forming."   HmmmThinking
Well I do have the habit of going on line and liking it a lot.. but
COULD I GIVE IT UP??? ahhhhhh it would be soooo hard.Sad
I think in this case..  YEP  I agree the addiction to being on the computer
each day is pretty over powering. I limit my time now to about 2-3 hours
a day. The computer is turned off or unplugged the rest of the time.
I am okay with it now that I am used to it.  I guess it just takes willpower and
getting into the routine.  I know one thing.. I sure am addicted to my
friends here at SPACES.. we are a great big happy blog family!! I am
proud to be a part of it.  Red heart Giving that up would break Broken heart my heart.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Friday is here and boy it came fast. Gas here is 2.58 and north of us it is
2.28  wow.. still can’t figure that out yet?? Milk went on sale this week for 1.88
because no one would buy it at 2.99 each. Guess they are getting smarter maybe.
Tomatoes, and zuchini and yellow squash are still 99 cents a pound. Guess next
year I will try to plant those too. Hoping to find a cheaper price on the ZUKES..
I feel like some ZUKE bread is called for, only made it once this whole summer.
Summer is really flying by and soon the gardens will be ending their season.
I feel like it is all leaving too quickly. 
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT DAY!! 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

11 responses »

  1. Ya I’d say I’m addicted although I’m not on nearly as much as I was at first. Like you I use to go into chat rooms too and enjoyed it for the most part but haven’t gone to a chat room for years now. And also like you I am addicted to all the wonderful friends like you I’ve met on line. There’s no way I could this up…no way.

  2. I am pretty much addicted to my computer. I have never gone in to chat rooms but I do talk on IM to a few people that are space friends. IM is really great. I was talking to a friend the other night and boom, boom, boom, he was able to send me pictures of his new grandbaby while we were talking. It was great. Things have really changed since I bought my first pc 11 years ago. It is friends like you Carol, that would make it very hard for me to give my computer up.

  3. I really enjoy the computer and the things it provides I have to admit. Having a blog and friends such as yourself make it more enjoyable yet. The truth is though I have had situations come up where I’m not as able to use the computer and that doesn’t seem to cause me to go into withdrawals LOL! I don’t addicted? Maybe I am but at least it doesn’t rule my whole life. We have a heat wave coming in just as we’re leaving to Europe so I guess for the most part we will be uneffected. By the time we get back I don’t think there will be any heat like that and fall should be in full swing…where did the summer go?

  4. I’m more or less addicted. When I am gone from here and I will be in an hour..I am fine without checking in. But that’s because I have too much to do while I am gone, or I would. 🙂 See you Sunday Sis. Do any and everything I can’t do. 🙂 (((HUGS)))

  5. I’m totally addicted. I admit it. Between work, where I need to google reference stuff several times a day, to home where I’m googling stuff I need to find out about. I really try to stay off the internet on the weekends. Not the computer, tho, as I’ll play computer games while I’m watching TV. It keeps my brain active and engaged. I like it. Gas is the same here in Houston. Go figure.

  6. Yeah, me too. I love this Spaces family and feel like all you guys are my friends. I really love this computer for the help it gives me on my writing, though. I remember how hard it used to be to edit using a red pencil and a typewriter. Boy, do we have it easy these days. Would be hard to go back to the way it used to be…

  7. Yes, I’m addicted; but not like at the beginning. I try to keep everything in balance. Of course sometimes that doesn’t work. LOL

  8. Anyone that reads and comments to this is addicted! LOL But…I use it for so many different things that it’s like having the whole library or just about anything I’d want or need at the tips of my fingers. Recipes, music, how-to information, news, sports, tv…it’s all there and I love it and would suffer from withdrawals if I didn’t have it.I’m making Mr Foods Zucchini Squares today. I hope it’s like he says…Oooo, it’s so good!

  9. Oh yeah I am addicted big time but I have to admit not as bad as I used to be and I am getting faster at typing so maybe that helps too. LOL I do love my computer because all my friends live in it. Haha!! What I mean are all my space friends. You know I think Cindy says it best, it is like having a whole library at your finger tips.Hugs to you hun……………..Rusty ((HUGS))

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

