BRRRR!!! IS THAT WINTER???

Standard
This morning we woke to 54 degrees!!! WOW what a shock!
I like it and the breeze is refreshing. Mom had the oven on
this morning making cookies. I expect before dark we will
have quite a few baked goods here in the house for next
week. Bake while the weather is cool is what we do.
Next week we will be back in the 80’s but today we are
enjoying it.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
Taking more items to that store I was talking about.
Getting rid of good stuff that people can use. We thought
about selling some of the christmas stuff we had but
for what we could make on it in a sale around here it is
not worth it. People just have no money for the extras
here, what with school starting soon. School starts here
after Labor Day. The Governor passed a law on it.
Most of the stores are buzzing with all the supplies and
clothing. It costs way more this year than last, I just don’t see
how families do it with many children. Sure is hard on them, especially
with so many out of work now.
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
So happy to hear on the news that there are no side effects so
far on those who have already had the swine flu shots.
No mention of how we all will be able to get a shot or
how much they will cost us that I have heard. I wish the
government would put some money into trying to help
keep it’s citizens safe from a complete dsaster by just
giving to those who want them FREE and have people
go to their local schools or armories and get vaccinated.
THE use of the word EXPLOSION yesterday by the World
Health Organization was a bit unnerving. Eye-rolling 
WELL off to the day..
 
HOPE YOU ALL HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND!!!
 
 
 
About CAROL

I was a caregiver for the elderly on and off for over 30 years.I am now retired and enjoying a new life. I love blogging and have kept a personal journal for 40 years. I enjoy the freedom of being creative and interacting with the millions of other bloggers in the world.I love learning the new things that the computer world has to offer. I have made friends that will last a lifetime blogging, something I never ever thought would happen. I hope you enjoy my blog,and will continue to visit me in the future.

8 responses »

  1. You are too young to remember this Carol but when the vaccine for polio first came out we were all given a sugar cube with the vaccine in it and it was free of charge to everyone. I love the cooler weather too. It has been below 70 all day.Hugs to you and mom.

  2. Don’t you dare say a bad word about this weather. I’m lovin’ it! Today was as perfect as you could get and those cool evening temps make for some fine sleeping.Beth mentioned the polio vaccine, which I don’t remember, but I do remember standing in line with my whole family waiting to get a TB vaccine and it was probably free too.

  3. @BethM.. Yes I stood in line and got the sugar cube at our local armory. I remember it vividly because how cool it was to eat a sugar cube instead of getting a SHOT. Wish we could do that now with all vaccines.. I think that is wishful thinking though.

  4. The weather is nice here too. Low 70’s during the day, about 58 at night. Fog in the morning until noon. Nice!!!That is such a beautiful sunrise photo!! Reminds me of Mexico.Gasoline is up to $3.10/gal here!!!! Also, I’m hearing that the ‘Cash for Clunkers’ thing might backfire. When it’s over there might be a huge drop in new cars sales. I guess we will see.Have a GREAT Sunday sweetie!!Bob~

  5. They SHOULD distribute the shot to everyone free, but if it’s a chance to make money, there will be a charge. I suspect some folks will be able to get it free, depending on ability to pay. Yes, it’s cool here too in the mornings. I do my real baking in the mornings on the weekends when it’s cooler. Just made some Chocolate Zucchini Bars yesterday—they came out more like a moist chocolate cake, but so good! Have a nice, cool weekend!

  6. Sugar cube with the polio vacine, now how lucky were you two, Beth and Carol. Down in Nova Scotia where I come from we had to get the three needles ie: for polio, measles, and a booster shot plus the test for TB. All that fun stuff but I guess it was a good thing.I will never forget when I got my vacination shot, I think I was about four and a half and I got weak and almost passed out, then I got puked. Not so nice. Haha!! They were done at our school by health nurses.Hope you are enjoying your day. Take care…………..Rusty ((HUGS))

  7. I remember we go all out vaccines free too. My kids all got theirs during their regular doctor visits. I think the weather is just about perfect. It can stay like this all year long as far as I’m concerned.Hugs

I welcome and appreciate your comments. Spam will promptly be deleted.

